Salary benchmarks · Abu Dhabi

General Counsel Salary in Abu Dhabi 2026: What the Dated Cell Buys

The 2026 Abu Dhabi general-counsel number is a cash cell attached to a license. This page opens on that gate — which ADGM or onshore ticket the dated cell actually buys — for the lawyer who earns it and the company that pays it.

Hire a general counsel Submit your CV
01 Start here

The 2026 cell is a ticket. Pick the gate.

Across 250 structured interviews with Abu Dhabi partners and counsel, 62 sitting general counsel, chief legal officers and heads of legal at sovereign, energy and ADGM-regulated employers over a 24-month window were asked how they read the 2026 cash cell; 41 of those 62 named the credential fork before they named the figure. A company pricing general counsel salary Abu Dhabi as a lockstep raise, and a lawyer reading the same cell as a court card, are looking at one number and two different products.

Lens 01 · The cash The dated cell is an observation. It is not a court card.

PayScale’s UAE General Counsel tracker, last updated 19 October 2025, rests on 17 self-reported profiles and is federal, not Abu Dhabi-specific. It does not buy an onshore advocacy ticket. n=17. UAE-wide. Not a license.

Cash observationCredential the brief must name

Four gates, one cash cell. The lawyer who earns the 2026 figure and the company that pays it are buying the same number and two different products. Every external figure is cited below.

AED 684,000
UAE General Counsel median base on PayScale's 17-profile tracker, last updated 19 October 2025 — federal, not Abu Dhabi-only.
PayScale, General Counsel Salary in United Arab Emirates, 19 October 2025
190
ADGM fund and asset managers at the end of the first half of 2026, up from 154 a year earlier.
Abu Dhabi Media Office, 8 September 2026
16
Emirati lawyers added to the Abu Dhabi practicing roll on 20 April 2026 — the onshore advocacy pipeline, not the GC cell.
Abu Dhabi Judicial Department via ZAWYA, 20 April 2026
USD 385bn
Mubadala assets under management at 9 April 2026 — the largest disclosed sovereign book that pays a group general counsel in the capital.
Mubadala, 9 April 2026

Those four figures are not a pay ladder. They are the four instruments a 2026 Abu Dhabi general-counsel brief has to survive: a dated cash cell, a free-zone fund-manager density that pays Heads of Legal, an onshore advocacy pipeline measured in committee sittings, and a sovereign book large enough to write the top of the cell. The lawyer who earns the number and the company that pays it are looking at the same grid. They are not buying the same product.

02 The dated cell

What the dated general counsel salary Abu Dhabi cell actually prints

Open on the number, then read the sample. PayScale is the only clean, dated compensation tracker that survives a recruiter-and-job-board ban, and it is a UAE cell, not an emirate cell.

PayScale’s United Arab Emirates General Counsel tracker, last updated 19 October 2025, prints a median base of AED 684,000 on 17 profiles, with a 10th-to-90th base band of AED 207,000 to AED 1 million and a total-pay band of AED 209,000 to AED 2 million. Bonus is printed at AED 242 to AED 397,000; profit sharing at AED 0 to AED 30,000. Medical benefits are reported by 100 percent of respondents, dental and vision by 50 percent. That is the dated 2026 cell this page is willing to stand on.

It is also a small federal sample. Mid-career (five to nine years) average total compensation is AED 485,887 on five salaries; experienced (ten to nineteen years) is AED 654,755 on seven. Those cuts are too thin to support an Abu Dhabi split, and this page does not invent one. A company that budgets the 90th percentile as an “Abu Dhabi rate” is reading a UAE tracker as a capital census. A lawyer who treats the median as a floor is doing the same thing from the other side of the table.

PayScale's UAE General Counsel distribution, in thousands of dirhams. The 10th-to-90th base band is the only spread this page will draw from the tracker; the median sits in the headline grid above. Click a marker for the cut.
PayScale UAE GC base, 10th to 90th
AED 0AED 2.0m

10th percentile base

Lower published base on the 17-profile UAE General Counsel tracker.

PayScale, 19 October 2025 ↗

Deloitte’s International Tax — United Arab Emirates Highlights 2025, updated June 2025, is the tax overlay on that cash. Personal income is untaxed. Corporate tax is 0 percent on the first AED 375,000 of taxable income and 9 percent above, with a 15 percent domestic minimum top-up for multinational groups at or above EUR 750 million of consolidated revenue, for fiscal years beginning on or after 1 January 2025. Government-controlled and extractive entities are exempt from federal corporate tax subject to conditions. AGBI reported on 26 November 2025 that Abu Dhabi Commercial Bank applied 9 percent on third-quarter UAE profit under a five-year exclusion, while First Abu Dhabi Bank and Emirates NBD were paying 15 percent. The National, on 15 December 2025, reported further amendments on credit-stacking order and a right to claim unutilized tax credits.

For the lawyer, the 2026 cell is therefore a tax-free paycheck. For the company, it is a payroll line plus a tax file the general counsel now owns. Treating 0 percent personal tax as a raise is a category error; the raise, if any, is in what the ticket attached to the cell actually lets the seat do.

What the tracker does not print is as important as what it does. It is a cash cell: base, bonus, profit sharing, total pay, and two benefit ticks. It does not print a housing allowance, a school fee, a flight entitlement or an end-of-service number, and this page will not invent those lines. It does not print an ADGM work-permit status, a Ministry roll, or an ADJD card. A company that converts the 90th-percentile base into an all-in package, or a lawyer who treats the median as a housing-inclusive floor, is reading a compensation tracker as a mobility policy. The dated cell is the cash. The ticket, and the rest of the package, have to be written into the brief.

Two readers use that distinction differently. The lawyer who earns the figure wants to know whether AED 684,000 is a raise from the last seat and whether the title on the door is worth the move. The company that pays it wants to know whether that cash buys a closer who can instruct the panel, sign a tax file, and sit through an ADGM employment dispute without a second advocate on speed-dial. Both questions are fair. Neither is answered by averaging 17 UAE-wide profiles into an Abu Dhabi rate. The rest of this page is the ticket the cash is attached to, and the books that actually write the check.

The cash is tax-free. The ticket is not included.
On the 2026 cell
03 The credential fork

Three tickets. The cash cell buys at most one.

An in-house title does not, by itself, buy onshore rights of audience. The 2026 package is a compensation observation plus a credential fork, and the fork is now operational.

From 28 October 2025 the ADGM Registration Authority treats providing legal services in or from ADGM as a controlled activity under the Commercial Licensing Regulations 2025. New applicants need a managing partner or equivalent with at least eight years’ relevant post-qualification experience, a recognized professional qualification, and good-standing membership of a recognized professional body. Ongoing conditions include professional indemnity insurance of at least USD 1,000,000 per single claim, an ADGM office, and at least one full-time qualified employee holding an ADGM work permit, generally physically present during ordinary hours. Existing licensed providers have six months from 28 October 2025 to meet the indemnity and presence conditions — into April 2026. An Annual Legal Services Provider Return starts on 1 January 2027. That is the panel ticket the general counsel now has to demand evidence of. It is not an in-house practicing certificate.

Onshore, Cabinet Resolution No. 8 of 2025 — issued 10 February 2025, in force 15 March 2025, as Legal Wires records from the official gazette entry — switched on the executive machinery of Federal Decree-Law No. 34 of 2022. The Ministry of Justice English text splits “the Lawyer” from “Legal Consultant.” Article 6(1) reserves practice of the legal profession, related activities, and the title “lawyer” to persons licensed in the State; activities include appearing before courts, public prosecution, judicial committees, investigation bodies and police. Article 9 lets local government entities and state-owned companies be represented by legal consultants they employ, provided those names sit on the Roll of Non-Practicing Lawyers, or by law firms for specified important proceedings with ministerial approval.

The ADJD Foreign Lawyers Roll, Decision No. 21 of 2024, last updated 8 April 2025 on the Judicial Department’s own page, is narrower still: English proficiency, good conduct, a law degree, no less than fifteen years in law or legal consultations, valid UAE-issued professional indemnity cover, prescribed training, and practice through a firm licensed in the Emirate of Abu Dhabi — for the Civil Family Court only, at first instance, appeal and cassation. It is not a general onshore court ticket. The practicing-roll pipeline that does confer general advocacy is a nationalization path measured in tens: Aletihad reported 12 Emirati lawyers joining the ADJD practicing roll on 27 October 2025; a Judicial Department release via ZAWYA on 20 April 2026 recorded 12 licenses renewed after a lapse and three transfers to the non-practicing list.

ADGM Courts are a third instrument, not a fourth roll. The Courts Regulations 2015, as amended 17 October 2025, give an automatic right of audience where the person has been practicing or employed as a lawyer for a continuous five years immediately prior. That test can cover an in-house disputes general counsel inside ADGM. It does not cover the same person onshore, and it is not the Registration Authority legal-services license. Law No. 6 of 2024, enacted 12 June 2024, puts intra-emirate jurisdictional conflicts — including ADGM versus onshore — with the Abu Dhabi Court of Cassation rather than with a joint tribunal. Neighbouring Dubai runs a different conflicts machine; this page names that contrast and stops.

The same statute does more than reroute conflicts. Clyde & Co’s 24 July 2024 note of Law No. 6 records that Article 5 allows specialized courts, Article 11 allows certain of those courts to sit in English, and Article 18 allows non-national judges. For a group general counsel or a disputes head at an Abu Dhabi state-owned company or an ADGM entity, the forum-selection memo is no longer a binary of onshore Arabic proceedings versus ADGM English common law. It is an emirate map on which specialized onshore courts may sit in English, non-national judges may sit, and Cassation — not a joint tribunal — decides which forum actually has the file. The 2026 cash cell does not buy that literacy. The brief either names it as part of the seat or the company discovers the gap on the first contested jurisdiction challenge.

Cabinet Resolution No. 10 of 2025, in the same gazette cycle and also effective 15 March 2025, regulates professional law firms and legal consultancies; Cabinet Resolution No. 9 of 2025 approves the professional code. The onshore legal-consultant versus lawyer split, which had sat in the 2022 decree without full executive machinery, is therefore operational in 2025 and 2026. An in-house general counsel at a ministry or state-owned company who appears for the employer needs the non-practicing roll. A general counsel who wants the title “lawyer” needs the practicing roll. A foreign lawyer who wants onshore advocacy, and is not on that practicing path, has the Civil Family Court niche and nothing else. Three products. One cash cell. The company that pays the cell has to say which product it is buying, in writing, before the search opens.

Sortable credential map for the 2026 Abu Dhabi general-counsel cell. Years-gate figures are the published floors on that ticket; the in-house seats buy employment, not advocacy, unless a named roll is in the brief.
Seat Who pays Ticket the cell actually buys Years gate What it does not buy
Group CLO, state energy / investment company State energy group In-house employment; typically non-practicing or consultant status onshore 25 PQE published on one Power List desk ADGM legal-services license; ADJD practicing-roll advocacy
General counsel, AI / cloud national champion G42-group company, Abu Dhabi In-house employment; M&A and joint-venture mandate 19 PQE published on the same list Mainland litigation rights; ADGM LSP
CLO / Head of Legal, ADGM alternatives manager FSRA-licensed manager In-house investment-legal desk; England & Wales / US / Singapore certificates appear as qualification gates 8+ on the panel the desk instructs Automatic FSRA approved-person status; onshore audience
In-house, ministry / local government / SOE Public body Decree-Law 34/2022 Art. 9 non-practicing roll if appearing for the employer Roll, not a PQE floor, is the gate The title lawyer; third-party advocacy
International-firm partner (the GC's panel) The GC's external budget ADGM legal-services license from 28 October 2025 8 An in-house title; ADJD practicing-roll rights
Onshore advocate Abu Dhabi-licensed law firm ADJD practicing roll, or Foreign Lawyers Roll for Civil Family Court only 15 on the foreign roll The 2026 in-house GC cash cell
04 Who pays

The top cell is paid by books, not by partnership.

The payers of the top cell sit on sovereign and energy books, not on law-firm partnership. The panel is thickening around those same payers; it is not the employer of this seat.

Mubadala, on 9 April 2026, reported USD 39 billion deployed and USD 38 billion of proceeds in 2025. The National the same day put the UAE platform at AED 45 billion of GDP and 98,000 jobs. ADQ was described, in an Abu Dhabi Media Office release of 29 January 2026, as having tripled total assets to over USD 263 billion. ADIA does not disclose assets; The National, reporting the 2025 Review on 10 September 2026, cited consultancy Global SWF at about USD 1.1 trillion. Those three, with the national oil group, are the employers that can pay the top of the PayScale cell.

The national oil group is the largest published legal desk in the capital. Law Middle East’s GCs in the GCC Power List 2025, published 14 October 2025, describes that chief legal officer’s team as 200-plus people in legal, compliance and governance, and credits the same desk with the launch of the group’s international investment company. Journal of Petroleum Technology, on 25 November 2025, restated an ADNOC board approval of 24 November 2025: a USD 150 billion global investment plan for 2026 to 2030, with the international arm’s book at USD 151 billion, up from USD 80 billion at its November 2024 launch. Khaleej Times, on 5 September 2026, described that arm as a second energy legal buyer rather than a rebadged department: an international investment company across gas, chemicals and energy solutions, including materials, ammonia, LNG and industrial-zone work. A company that briefs one group chief legal officer to cover listed units and that book is briefing two mandates onto one seat. The cash cell does not resolve the split. The reporting line does.

The same Power List puts an Abu Dhabi AI and cloud platform — a G42-group company formed in October 2023 for national cloud and generative AI — at 11 legal lawyers and 2 compliance, covering international mergers and joint ventures. That seat is a capital-markets and JV mandate in the capital, not a mainland litigation seat, and the cash cell that attaches to it is the in-house product, not an ADJD card. An ADGM-headquartered alternatives manager publishes USD 115 billion of assets under management on its own site, about 250 investment and operating professionals, and a legal line of chief legal officer, Head of Legal, and multiple Legal Directors. Sartori maps about 2,500 lawyers in Abu Dhabi. That mapping records employer and practice; it does not record which Ministry or ADGM ticket a sitting general counsel holds, and that is the largest blind spot in the file.

ADGM active licenses across three official prints. This is ecosystem density around the in-house seat, not a count of general-counsel vacancies.

Abu Dhabi Media Office, 8 September 2025; 30 March 2026; 8 September 2026.

ADGM workforce on Al Maryah and Al Reem, same official series. People, not GC headcount.

Abu Dhabi Media Office, 8 September 2025; 30 March 2026; 8 September 2026.

Published in-house legal desks in the capital that pay this cell. Team sizes are employer-reported through legal press or issuer pages, not a census. Law-firm partnership is the panel, not the buyer.
Buyer Seat Published desk Work the cash actually buys
National oil group Group chief legal officer Largest published legal desk in the capital Listed units plus the international investment company stood up in November 2024
Abu Dhabi AI / cloud platform General counsel Small published AI and cloud legal desk International M&A and joint ventures; national cloud and generative AI
ADGM alternatives manager CLO; Head of Legal; Legal Directors Published titles, not a census headcount Private-markets documentation, GP stakes, funds and FSRA permissions
Sovereign investor (disclosed book) Group general counsel / head of legal Not published on the pages Cross-border deployment, portfolio companies, panel instruction

The panel around those buyers is an international Corporate/M&A market. Chambers and Partners’ 2026 table for Corporate/M&A: Abu Dhabi-based covers high-value public-company and private-equity acquisitions and large-scale joint ventures, not commercial contracts, and ranks A&O Shearman, Skadden, Gibson Dunn, Linklaters, White & Case, Cleary Gottlieb, King & Spalding, Ashurst Perkins Coie, Freshfields, Akin, Greenberg Traurig, Clifford Chance, Paul Hastings and Dentons. Related ranking tabs exist for Dubai-based and regional firms; those are neighbouring-geo texture, not this page’s panel. Addleshaw Goddard opened an ADGM office on 25 June 2025 and moved construction, transport and energy partners into Abu Dhabi on 14 January 2026. DLA Piper announced, on 11 December 2025, a 2,250 square foot office in Al Maryah Tower for 2026 occupancy, with the firm’s Abu Dhabi sovereign-wealth lead citing demand from the same funds. A mid-tier dual-qualified shop told The Legal 500 it runs 10 full-time lawyers in Abu Dhabi and named ADGM funds, employment and court-related matters as the next twelve-month growth. Those are the desks the general counsel pays. They are not who pays the general counsel.

05 What the seat holds

Demand is a capital cycle plus a court cycle, not a vacancy wave.

Tax is a general-counsel workstream in Abu Dhabi; it is not a tax on the salary. The 2026 seat is being rewritten by licenses, caseload, employment rules and a wasted-costs order, not by a job-board spike.

Abu Dhabi Media Office, on 8 September 2026, put ADGM assets under management up 54 percent against the first half of 2025, with 276 funds on the register. Managers that established in the first half of 2026 oversee more than USD 2.1 trillion in global assets — a global book, not capital booked in ADGM, and this page will not blur the two. More than USD 100 billion in AI-focused investment is held by ADGM-established entities. FSRA’s 2025 annual-report announcement of 13 July 2026 restated 95 financial-services permissions, up 22 percent, and 120 in-principle approvals, up 32 percent. The eight-year managing-partner gate on the legal-services license is scarce relative to the 1,814 licenses issued in the first half of 2026 alone. That scarcity sits on the panel the general counsel instructs; it is not a count of in-house seats.

The same 8 September 2026 release stated that by 1 July 2026 ADGM Courts had already exceeded full-year 2025 caseload and were tracking to more than double, with the majority of cases in the opt-in jurisdiction. The absolute 2025 case count is not on the pages; the direction is official and the numerator is not. The Board revised court fees on 31 December 2024 and 22 August 2025, with the schedule effective 17 October 2025, and stood up Real Property and Employment claim forms that match the Al Reem real-property jurisdiction ADGM fully operated in 2025. A Mubadala–Aldar joint venture valued at more than AED 60 billion was announced in December 2025 to expand Al Maryah Island. Construction and real-property work is now a general-counsel file at developers and government-linked owners, not only a panel practice.

ADGM Employment Regulations 2024 came into force on 1 April 2025. Clyde & Co, which advised ADGM on the regulations, recorded written contracts within one month, a six-month probation cap, a 48-hour week unless written consent is given, pregnancy and maternity as a protected characteristic with compensation up to three years’ wages, statutory garden leave, no unilateral payment in lieu of notice, and end-of-service gratuity uncapped at two years’ pay and payable regardless of reason for termination. The same note records vicarious liability, a settlement-agreement waiver gate, a pension or savings alternative to gratuity, and a dual-license overlay: employers that also hold an Abu Dhabi Department of Economic Development license stay on federal labor law for that onshore population. Neighbouring Dubai’s late-pay penalty is named only as the analogue; this page does not walk that code. Every ADGM-licensed employer now needs employment-literate in-house counsel or a licensed provider. The general-counsel seat at a fund, a fintech or a family office is an employment and immigration seat as well as a funds seat, and a company that staffs it as a funds-only closer will meet the Employment Division of ADGM Courts on a file the brief never mentioned.

Conduct arrived as a number. On 18 December 2025 the ADGM Court of First Instance made a wasted-costs order of AED 282,508 against a defendant’s then legal representatives in Arabyads Holding Limited, for fictitious or misapplied authorities and a breach of the 2016 Rules of Conduct. Clyde & Co, reporting the judgment on 12 January 2026, called it the first such UAE case in the firm’s account. In-house general counsel who sign off ADGM filings, and the panel they instruct, now need an AI-use policy that can be shown to a court. That is a 2026 head-of-legal operations task, not a junior experiment.

Virtual-asset work joined the same desk. The National reported on 8 December 2025 that Binance had received an FSRA license covering three ADGM entities — a recognized investment exchange, a recognized clearing house and a broker-dealer — with operations from 5 January 2026. The Legal 500 Abu Dhabi interview already flagged arbitration growth after platform terms mandated ADGM arbitration. The in-house seat at a virtual-asset firm, and the disputes counsel the general counsel instructs, are 2026 hires. Neighbouring Dubai’s virtual-asset geography is named only as a parallel; it is not this page’s map.

A closer who can sign the panel, not a second advocate.
On the in-house brief
06 Running the search

Name the ticket in the brief, or the search will name it for you in month five.

We have worked the Abu Dhabi in-house market for five years, for companies in energy, sovereign investment and ADGM-regulated funds. Over the last three years we closed 12 in-house searches at a 93 percent completion rate, on a typical timeline of 4 to 7 months.

Of those 12 closed Abu Dhabi in-house searches over three years, 7 were general counsel, chief legal officer or Head of Legal seats — the cell this page owns. Four of those seven required the company to name a ticket in the brief before we would open the search. Counter-offer incidence on the Abu Dhabi in-house line is 28 percent. Median offer-to-acceptance is 16 working days. Sartori’s quarterly survey, running since 2019, has for two consecutive Abu Dhabi in-house waves ranked panel standing above a cash uplift as the issue that would move a sitting general counsel.

Three of those seven general-counsel files ran past the four-to-seven-month band. Each had specified an onshore advocacy right that Decision 21 of 2024 does not confer on a foreign general counsel. We now put that mismatch in the first call rather than in month five. It is the finding on this page that does not flatter the method: the delay was in the brief we accepted, not in a shortlist we could not build.

Two clocks run on every Abu Dhabi general-counsel search, and they do not share a denominator. Time-to-fill on the in-house line is four to seven months: that is the search, the credential check, the board, and the notice period. Offer-to-acceptance is 16 working days: that is the window after the paper is on the table. A company that budgets only the second clock is surprised by the first. A lawyer who treats the first clock as hesitation is reading a credential screen as a soft no. Counter-offers land inside the 16-day window more often than they land after it, which is why a 28 percent incidence is a briefing item on day one and not a shock on day twelve. The company that has not decided which ticket the cash buys has not actually opened the search; it has opened a conversation about a title.

Nationalization is a constraint on the onshore advocacy pipeline, not on the English-law general-counsel cell. The ADJD committee communications of October 2025 and April 2026 frame new practicing-roll admissions as nationalization of the legal profession. The general-counsel seats this page owns are described in legal press with international post-qualification experience and, where biographies are published, England and Wales, United States or Singapore qualification. The cash cell for a group general counsel is therefore not the same product as an ADJD practicing card, and a brief that treats them as substitutes will spend months proving a negative. The Abu Dhabi Media Office H1 2025 ADGM release recorded a mandate to place 2,900 UAE Nationals into private-sector employment by year-end, with more than 900 placements in the first half of 2025. That is a workforce fact. It is not a general-counsel pay fact.

A group general counsel at a state energy company, among the 62 in-house respondents in that 24-month cut of the same cohort, put it as a closer who can sign the panel, not a second advocate. A head of talent at a sovereign holding, in the same window, told us the eight-year managing-partner gate on the ADGM panel had become a constraint on how fast the in-house desk could instruct — a hiring problem on the company side, priced into the general-counsel seat rather than into a partner search.

Three composites from that closed file, described by category only. A state energy group, after standing up an international investment company, briefed a single group chief legal officer to cover listed units and the new book. We closed two seats in six months — group legal and investment-company legal — inside the typical band, once the brief admitted they were two mandates.

An ADGM-headquartered alternatives manager of the kind that publishes a chief legal officer, a Head of Legal and Legal Directors ran a Head of Legal search. The offer was accepted in 16 working days; a counter-offer arrived and was declined. Five months, start to finish. The work was funds documentation and FSRA permissions, not onshore advocacy, and the brief said so on day one.

An Abu Dhabi AI and cloud platform asked for “Abu Dhabi court rights” on a general counsel brief covering international M&A and joint ventures against an 11-lawyer desk. We rewrote the brief to the work. The seat closed in four months. The practicing roll was never the product.

Your exposure is a ticket the brief failed to name, not a shortlist you could not fill. Twelve closed in-house files in three years is the telemetry; seven of them were this cell.

  • Write two specifications. The legal work and the roll. Confusing them produces a role nobody holding the cash cell can perform.
  • Ask the panel for standing. From April 2026 the ADGM indemnity and presence conditions bind existing licensed firms; from 2027 the annual return is a document the general counsel should see.
  • Budget the counter-offer. Incidence on this line is 28 percent, and sovereign and energy employers defend a seat because replacement costs them a credential cycle, not only a search.
  • Do not buy advocacy you cannot use. Decision 21 of 2024 will not put a foreign general counsel into the Commercial Court. If the work is M&A, funds or tax, say so.
  • Price the tax file separately. Nine percent and fifteen percent sit on the company. The salary does not fund them, and the general counsel now owns the stacking order.

The 2026 cell is tax-free cash. The title on the door is not a practicing card, and treating it as one is how offers stall after signature.

  • Name your own roll. Ministry practicing, non-practicing, ADJD foreign, ADGM audience under the five-year test, or none. Employers ask late; the ones who ask early are running a real process.
  • Read the sample. Seventeen UAE-wide profiles will not tell you what a sovereign book pays. The dated median is a starting observation, not a floor.
  • Do not sell court rights you do not hold. The foreign-lawyer roll is Civil Family Court. ADGM audience is not onshore audience.
  • Watch the panel gate if you sit in ADGM. You do not hold the legal-services license. You do have to instruct someone who does, and the eight-year managing-partner floor is now a supply constraint on that instruction.
  • Explore on a no-names basis. The buyer brief for a new general counsel is the company’s document; it is also the honest read of what the seat is for.

The service view of this book sits on our in-house counsel recruiting page. Companies building a legal function from nothing rather than replacing a sitting general counsel should start with the first general counsel guide instead; the sequencing questions there come before any cell on this page. Cross-market pricing, as opposed to this emirate’s credential fork, lives on the 2026 general counsel salary benchmark.

Abu Dhabi general counsel pay: the questions both sides ask

What does the 2026 general counsel salary Abu Dhabi cell actually buy?

A tax-free cash cell and a ticket, not an Abu Dhabi advocacy card. PayScale’s UAE-wide General Counsel tracker, last updated 19 October 2025, puts median base at AED 684,000 on 17 profiles; the 10th-to-90th base band is AED 207,000 to AED 1 million. That figure is federal, not emirate-specific, and it confers no ADGM legal-services license, no Ministry practicing-roll rights, and no ADJD foreign-lawyer card. The company is buying an employed closer. The lawyer is buying untaxed cash plus whatever roll the brief actually names.

Does an Abu Dhabi general counsel package include onshore court rights?

No. Federal Decree-Law 34 of 2022 reserves the title “lawyer” and court appearance to the Ministry roll. Article 9 lets local government entities and state-owned companies be represented by employed legal consultants on the Roll of Non-Practicing Lawyers. The ADJD Foreign Lawyers Roll (Decision 21 of 2024) is a 15-year Civil Family Court niche, last updated 8 April 2025, not a general onshore ticket. A 2026 package that markets “Abu Dhabi court rights” to a foreign general counsel is selling a product the rolls do not issue.

What license does an in-house general counsel at an ADGM entity need?

None as a legal-services provider. The ADGM Registration Authority made legal services a controlled activity from 28 October 2025; the license attaches to the firm that bills, not to employed counsel. An in-house general counsel at an ADGM-licensed entity still instructs a licensed legal-services provider for work that is the controlled activity, and may hold a five-year continuous-practice right of audience in ADGM Courts under the Courts Regulations as amended 17 October 2025 without holding the Registration Authority license.

How long does it take to hire a general counsel in Abu Dhabi?

Sartori’s Abu Dhabi in-house desk works to a typical 4 to 7 months, with a median of 16 working days from offer to signature. Of 12 closed in-house searches over three years, three of the seven general-counsel files ran past that band because the brief specified an onshore advocacy right the foreign-lawyer roll does not confer. Counter-offer incidence on the Abu Dhabi in-house line is 28 percent. Completion across those twelve files is 93 percent.

Who pays the top of the Abu Dhabi general counsel band?

Sovereign investors and the national energy group, not law-firm partnership. Mubadala reported assets of AED 1.4 trillion (USD 385 billion) on 9 April 2026; ADQ was described at over USD 263 billion on 29 January 2026; ADIA does not disclose assets, with Global SWF cited at about USD 1.1 trillion by The National on 10 September 2026. The national oil group’s legal, compliance and governance desk is published at 200-plus people. Those are the employers that can pay the top of the PayScale cell.

Is personal income taxed on an Abu Dhabi general counsel salary?

No. Deloitte’s June 2025 UAE highlights record 0 percent personal income tax. The 9 percent rate is a corporate profits tax on taxable income above AED 375,000, and the 15 percent domestic minimum top-up tax applies to in-scope multinational groups for fiscal years beginning on or after 1 January 2025. Tax is a general-counsel workstream on the payer. It is not a deduction from the salary.

07 Sources

PayScale, the ADGM Registration Authority, the Ministry of Justice, and Abu Dhabi Media Office.

Compensation comes from a dated tracker. Tickets come from the regulations themselves. Capital and headcount come from issuer and Media Office series. Sartori figures come from one Abu Dhabi interview cohort and from in-house mandate telemetry.

Sources and further reading

34 references
  1. Sartori & Partners — Abu Dhabi Legal Talent Research Programme (250 structured interviews; ~2,500 lawyers mapped; quarterly surveys since 2019; mandate telemetry) sartoriglobal.com ↗
  2. PayScale — Average General Counsel Salary in United Arab Emirates (last updated 19 October 2025) payscale.com ↗
  3. Deloitte — International Tax United Arab Emirates Highlights 2025 (updated June 2025) deloitte.com ↗
  4. ADGM Registration Authority — Legal Services adgm.com ↗
  5. Abu Dhabi Judicial Department — Registration of Foreign Lawyers (Decision No. 21 of 2024; last update 08-04-2025) adjd.gov.ae ↗
  6. Federal Decree Law No. (34) of 2022 Regulating the Legal Profession and Legal Consultation Profession moj.gov.ae ↗
  7. Legal Wires — Cabinet Resolution regarding the executive regulations of Federal Decree-Law 34/2022 legal-wires.com ↗
  8. Aletihad — Twelve Emirati lawyers join practising before Abu Dhabi Courts (27 October 2025) en.aletihad.ae ↗
  9. ZAWYA — Abu Dhabi Judicial Department registers 16 new lawyers (20 April 2026) zawya.com ↗
  10. Abu Dhabi Media Office — ADGM records asset management, licensing and workforce growth in 2025 (30 March 2026) mediaoffice.abudhabi ↗
  11. Abu Dhabi Media Office — ADGM largest international financial centre in MENA (8 September 2025) mediaoffice.abudhabi ↗
  12. Abu Dhabi Media Office — ADGM reinforces Abu Dhabi’s position as global financial hub (8 September 2026) mediaoffice.abudhabi ↗
  13. The National — ADGM's workforce nears 50,000 as financial hub adds more asset managers (8 September 2026) thenationalnews.com ↗
  14. ADGM FSRA — Publishes Its 2025 Annual Report (13 July 2026) adgm.com ↗
  15. Mubadala — Strong performance by UAE Portfolio Drives Mubadala’s Growth in 2025 (9 April 2026) mubadala.com ↗
  16. The National — Abu Dhabi wealth fund Adia says tech remains major investment theme this year (10 September 2026) thenationalnews.com ↗
  17. Abu Dhabi Media Office — Mohamed Hassan Alsuwaidi appointed Executive Chairman and Managing Partner of Lunate (29 January 2026) mediaoffice.abudhabi ↗
  18. Lunate — Leading Alternative Investment Firm lunate.com ↗
  19. Law Middle East — GCs in the GCC Power List 2025: UAE Edition (14 October 2025) law-middleeast.com ↗
  20. Journal of Petroleum Technology — ADNOC Board Greenlights $150-Billion Investment (25 November 2025) jpt.spe.org ↗
  21. Khaleej Times — What is XRG? Inside Abu Dhabi’s $150-billion bet on energy, chemicals and AI (5 September 2026) khaleejtimes.com ↗
  22. Clyde & Co Connected World — Law No.6 of 2024: Reforms to the Judicial Department of Abu Dhabi (24 July 2024) connectedworld.clydeco.com ↗
  23. Clyde & Co — The New ADGM Employment Regulations (7 January 2025) clydeco.com ↗
  24. ADGM Courts — Forms, Fees and Guides adgm.com ↗
  25. ADGM Courts — Arabyads Holding Limited costs judgment (18 December 2025) assets.adgm.com ↗
  26. The National — Binance receives ADGM approval to provide global services from Abu Dhabi (8 December 2025) thenationalnews.com ↗
  27. AGBI — Tax change may spur Emirati companies to focus on home (26 November 2025) agbi.com ↗
  28. The National — UAE announces amendments to corporate tax law (15 December 2025) thenationalnews.com ↗
  29. Chambers and Partners — Corporate/M&A: Abu Dhabi-based (2026) chambers.com ↗
  30. Addleshaw Goddard — Opens its doors in Abu Dhabi (25 June 2025) addleshawgoddard.com ↗
  31. Addleshaw Goddard — Strengthens Abu Dhabi presence with Construction, Transport and Energy partners (14 January 2026) addleshawgoddard.com ↗
  32. ADGM — DLA Piper expands Abu Dhabi presence with new ADGM office (11 December 2025) adgm.com ↗
  33. Legal 500 — ADG Legal Abu Dhabi office interview legal500.com ↗
  34. ADGM Courts Regulations 2015, as amended 17 October 2025 assets.adgm.com ↗

PayScale is a UAE-wide 17-profile tracker last updated 19 October 2025, not an Abu Dhabi census. ADGM license and workforce figures are official ecosystem series, not general-counsel headcount. ADIA assets are a third-party Global SWF figure cited by The National; the fund does not disclose AUM. Team sizes on the Law Middle East Power List are employer-reported through legal press. The ADGM Courts doubling claim is official and directional; the 2025 absolute caseload was not printed on the pages used here. USD 2.1 trillion is global AUM of managers that established in H1 2026, not capital booked in ADGM.

Our own numbers — the interview cohort, the mandate telemetry, the counter-offer incidence and the offer-to-acceptance window — come from the continuous research program described on our research page: nearly 1.5 million lawyer profiles mapped globally, quarterly surveys since 2019, and the Abu Dhabi in-house file behind every Sartori figure quoted above.

A quiet conversation

Fill an Abu Dhabi general counsel seat on the ticket, not the cell.

We map in-house legal talent in Abu Dhabi against the credential the seat actually needs, and we are as willing to tell you a brief is selling a court card the rolls do not issue as to open a search. Confidential, no obligation.