Salary · Canada in-house

General Counsel Salary in Canada 2026: CAD 195,750 sits CAD 4,250 under the line a company may leave blank.

The number the market quotes is a 16 February 2026 role average. The number a private board actually pays is often the number Ontario lets the posting omit. Public federal ranges and a Bay Street seventh-year base are the other two instruments on the same page.

Hire a general counsel Brief the search
01 Start here

The quoted Canadian general counsel average does not clear the wages line.

The Toronto map records title and employer. It does not record cash. A company asking for a 2026 general counsel salary Canada figure is asking which instrument the number came from, and whether that instrument is wages, a federal range, or a firm associate base.

195.75 CAD thousands

Canadian Lawyer, 16 February 2026: general counsel role average CAD 195,750 (USD 140,848). CAD 4,250 under the Ontario wages line of more than CAD 200,000. Canadian Lawyer ↗

Pick an instrument. The number is cash in thousands of Canadian dollars. Dollars use the Bank of Canada August 2026 monthly average of 1.3898, published by Statistics Canada on 2 September 2026. The full dated table sits below.

CAD 195,750
General counsel role average, Canadian Lawyer, 16 February 2026. Not a city cell.
Canadian Lawyer, Who earns what, 16 February 2026
USD 140,848
That role average at 1.3898 Canadian dollars per US dollar, August 2026 monthly average.
Statistics Canada table 33-10-0163-01, released 2 September 2026
CAD 4,250
Gap between the role average and Ontario's more-than-CAD 200,000 wages line.
O. Reg. 476/24, in force 1 January 2026, and the 16 February 2026 role average
CAD 251,413
Federal LP-05 ceiling, Treasury Board line D, effective 10 May 2025. Base salary.
Treasury Board LP Appendix A

Sartori maps about 5,000 lawyers in Toronto. The map records title and employer. It does not record cash.

02 The count

What a 2026 general counsel salary Canada figure actually measures

Local currency first, US dollars at the August 2026 monthly average, then the distance from Ontario's more-than-CAD 200,000 wages line. Each row is one instrument.

There is no 2026 TSX table of general counsel pay that survives a source check. Canadian public-company rules price named executive officers. A general counsel enters that table by being one of them, which the large Schedule I banks’ recent circulars have not made a habit. Recruiter salary guides that print a single national GC number were opened in research and are not used here. What can be dated and converted is the magazine’s own role average, the federal lawyer grid, and the firm associate base a candidate is leaving.

Statistics Canada table 33-10-0163-01, released 2 September 2026, reports the Bank of Canada monthly average for August 2026 as 1.3898 Canadian dollars per US dollar. Every dollar column on this page divides the Canadian figure by 1.3898 and rounds to the nearest dollar. The role average of CAD 195,750 is USD 140,848. The five-city general counsel average of CAD 196,112 is USD 141,108. The two averages are CAD 362 apart. They are not a raise, and they are not a Toronto private-company median. Canadian Lawyer’s 16 February 2026 article does not print a Toronto-only general counsel cell.

Dated 2025–26 Canadian general-counsel and adjacent cash, in Canadian dollars and US dollars at 1.3898, and the distance from Ontario’s more-than-CAD 200,000 wages line. Click a column header to re-rank. The US named-executive-officer median is omitted: it is total compensation, not a Canadian salary.
Seat CAD USD Vs CAD 200,000 What the number measures Dated
Canadian Lawyer GC role average 195,750 140,848 4,250 under Average salary by role and responsibilities. Not a city cell and not total compensation. 16 Feb 2026
Canadian Lawyer five-city GC average 196,112 141,108 3,888 under Average across five major cities. Not a Toronto-only private median. 16 Feb 2026
Five-city associate general counsel 175,614 126,359 24,386 under Average salary for the deputy layer, five major cities. 16 Feb 2026
In-house counsel average 136,500 98,216 63,500 under All in-house roles in the same magazine report, not the GC title. 16 Feb 2026
10+ year in-house or AGC median 158,000 113,685 42,000 under Median for long-tenured in-house counsel or an associate general counsel. 16 Feb 2026
Ontario wages-disclosure line 200,000 143,906 the line Expected wages, or the top of the range, more than this: compensation may be omitted from a public posting. 1 Jan 2026
Federal LP-04 floor 187,655 135,023 12,345 under Bottom of the senior federal law-practitioner range. Not a private GC package. 10 May 2025
Federal LP-04 cap 244,642 176,027 44,642 over Top of the LP-04 range on the same Treasury Board line. 10 May 2025
Federal LP-05 floor 205,492 147,857 5,492 over Bottom of the most senior published LP range. 10 May 2025
Federal LP-05 ceiling 251,413 180,899 51,413 over Top of the published federal lawyer grid. Still base salary, not equity. 10 May 2025
Top-tier Toronto seventh-year base 275,000 197,870 75,000 over Globe and Mail 'around' figure for a top-tier firm associate. Competing cash, not a GC salary. 4 Mar 2025

The seventh-year row uses the Globe and Mail’s word “around.” CAD 79,250 is 275,000 minus 195,750, arithmetic on that press band, not a second survey. See the sources.

Canadian general-counsel and adjacent cash, in thousands of Canadian dollars. The cluster runs from the in-house average to the LP-05 ceiling. The seventh-year firm base sits at the right edge. Click a marker.
Role average to LP-05
CAD 120kCAD 290k

In-house average

CAD 136,500. All in-house roles in the 16 February 2026 report, not the GC title.

Canadian Lawyer, 16 February 2026 ↗

Two rows are easy to misuse. The Ontario figure of CAD 200,000 is not a salary recommendation. O. Reg. 476/24, in force 1 January 2026, says a publicly advertised posting need not include compensation when expected compensation is more than CAD 200,000 a year, or when the range ends above that amount. Section 1 of the same regulation takes employers with fewer than 25 employees outside the part. Section 2 defines compensation as wages. Equity that is not wages does not buy the exemption. A board that hears “the market is CAD 195,750” and posts nothing has used a statute the offer has not yet met.

The LP-05 ceiling of CAD 251,413 is the other misuse. It is the top of the published federal law-practitioner grid, line D, effective 10 May 2025, on the Treasury Board appendix. LP-04, the range under it, runs CAD 187,655 to CAD 244,642. LP-03, the last stepped grade, stops at CAD 228,084. A private company matching “what Ottawa pays a senior lawyer” is matching a base-salary range with a known ceiling. It is not matching a bonus, a pension or a long-term incentive, because those are not in the printed rate.

What each instrument contains. The sortable table prices the seat. This one says whether the printed number is wages, a federal base, or a firm associate base.
Instrument Whose pay? Bonus inside? Equity inside?
Canadian Lawyer GC role average General counsel, by role Not stated as a separate bonus line Not a proxy total
Five-city GC and AGC averages Five major cities, not one office Not stated as a separate bonus line Not a proxy total
Federal LP-04 and LP-05 Federal law practitioners No — published base range No
Ontario CAD 200,000 line Any covered Ontario posting Wages, as the regulation defines compensation Not wages, so not this test
Seventh-year Toronto base Top-tier firm associate No — the Globe’s figure is base, before bonuses No
The quoted Canadian general counsel average is on the side of the wages line that a posting must print.
On the 2026 figure
03 Who pays it

The employer is a company or a public body. A law firm is the competing offer.

The 2026 Canadian general counsel seat is an in-house job. Partner profit sits on another page. It is not this salary.

01

TSX and private issuers

The general counsel sits on the executive committee. A management circular prices the officers the rules require. It prices this title only when the person is one of those officers.

02

Federal law practitioners

Treasury Board prints the LP-04 and LP-05 ranges next to senior counsel and director-level legal seats. That is the only Canada-wide ladder with a general-counsel-adjacent ceiling a board can open and read.

03

Banks, insurers, pensions

A Schedule I bank, a life insurer and a large pension plan employ the title in Toronto. Their 2026 circulars do not hand the market a General Counsel cash line. The buyer is the company. The firm is the feeder.

04

Calgary, Montreal, Vancouver

The magazine average is national. Ontario's posting rule is not. A Calgary energy GC, a Montreal funds GC and a Vancouver mining GC are not priced by the same statute, and none of them is a law-firm partner.

The Federation of Law Societies of Canada, in the statistics report last modified 25 August 2025, counted 114,574 active and practicing members. Ontario was 45,109, the Barreau du Québec 31,110, British Columbia 14,831, Alberta 12,757. That is the licensee census. It is not a count of people whose title is General Counsel, and it is not a compensation survey. The four provinces are where the seat is hired. They do not share one posted-pay rule.

Across 250 structured interviews with Toronto general counsel and heads of legal, 71 were sitting general counsel. Over a 24-month window, 39 said their own cash was not in the issuer’s management information circular. That silence is not a second published average. A general counsel at a TSX-listed mining company in Toronto told us the committee had typed the magazine average into the offer and called it the Canadian market. That is a pricing error. The average is one instrument. The circular is another.

The firm cash a candidate can see is more concrete than the circular. NALP’s inaugural Canadian Associate Salary Survey, figures as of 1 January 2025, put the national first-year median for associates called in 2024 at CAD 115,000 and the Toronto median at CAD 130,000. The May 2025 NALP Bulletin+ records 66 law offices in that survey. Counsel and staff-lawyer medians in the April 2025 press release run from CAD 222,000 for those called in 2015–2017 to CAD 248,875 for those called before 2011. The Globe and Mail, on 4 March 2025, put a top-tier Toronto seventh-year base around CAD 275,000 before bonuses, and a first-year base around CAD 135,000. A general counsel offer at CAD 195,750 is CAD 79,250 under that seventh-year base, CAD 26,250 under the counsel median of CAD 222,000 for lawyers called in 2015–2017, and CAD 53,125 under the pre-2011 counsel median of CAD 248,875. The candidate who is counsel at a firm, not a seventh-year associate, is still leaving a published median above the magazine’s GC average.

Cash is printedCash is withheld

  1. Federal LP range Treasury Board prints the floor and the ceiling. A company can read LP-05. So can the lawyer.
  2. Magazine role average CAD 195,750 is public, national, and under the Ontario wages line. It is a salary average. It is not an offer letter.
  3. Private GC over the line Once expected wages clear CAD 200,000, an Ontario employer with 25 or more employees may post the chair with no number. The offer still has to beat the firm base the candidate can already see.

Your first offer is an instrument. If the brief says “Canadian market, CAD 195,750,” you have named a 16 February 2026 role average. You have not named bonus, equity, or the seventh-year base the candidate can read in the newspaper.

  • Separate wages from the package. Ontario’s posting test uses wages. A grant that is not wages does not move the CAD 200,000 line. Say which dollars are wages before the posting goes up.
  • Do not import the US proxy median. Sitting general counsel who are named executive officers at the largest US-listed companies had median total compensation of USD 4.76 million in the 2026 proxy season, on Sartori’s reading of those filings. That total is mostly equity. It is not a Canadian salary, and it is not CAD 195,750 converted.
  • Price the deputy before you price the chair. The five-city associate general counsel average is CAD 175,614. A GC cash figure that consumes the whole legal budget does not hire the person who drafts under the GC.
  • The fee is retained. Sartori’s fee is 25 to 30 percent of the hire’s total first-year compensation. Thirty percent of that fee is paid at engagement and kept if the client cancels. The search is not contingent on a posted band.

Your title is not a published band. Unless you sit on the federal LP grid or inside a public-sector disclosure, the number you earn will not be in next year’s circular, and a US proxy total will not travel with you.

  • Ask which instrument you are being priced on. Role average, five-city average, LP-05 ceiling, or a remuneration-committee number the circular will not show unless you are a named executive officer.
  • The firm median is a floor you can cite. NALP’s counsel median for lawyers called before 2011 was CAD 248,875 as of 1 January 2025. A GC offer under that median is asking you to take a pay cut against a number the firm already published.
  • Ontario silence is not a compliment. A posting with no compensation, at an employer with 25 or more employees, usually means expected wages are more than CAD 200,000. It does not mean the offer clears CAD 275,000.
  • Acceptance on this work is measured. Across 52 GC and CLO searches since 2017, 96 percent of offers were accepted. The median from brief to accepted offer is 11 weeks, inside a range of 8 to 16. A number that only appears in week 10 is why files slip the long end of that range.
Most Canadian general counsel cash is missing from the table that prices the officers.
On the circular
04 The desk

The associate general counsel salary sits on the same payroll as the GC.

CAD 195,750 does not staff a legal department. The deputy average, the ten-year median and the all-lawyer wage survey are three different rungs, and only one of them is the chair.

Canadian Lawyer’s 16 February 2026 report puts the five-city associate general counsel average at CAD 175,614, USD 126,359 at the August rate. The median for an in-house lawyer or associate general counsel with more than ten years is CAD 158,000, USD 113,685. The in-house average across roles is CAD 136,500, USD 98,216. The gap from that in-house average up to the GC role average is CAD 59,250. The gap from the associate-GC average up to the GC role average is CAD 20,136. A company that budgets one GC at the role average and three deputies at the five-city associate-GC average is committing CAD 195,750 plus three times CAD 175,614, which is CAD 722,592 of salary before bonus. One million Canadian dollars of salary funds 5.11 seats at the role average and 5.69 seats at the associate-GC average. It does not fund both the chair and a full deputy bench at those averages, and it does not fund a US proxy total.

Job Bank is often pasted under a general counsel heading, and it is the wrong occupation cut. Wages updated 19 November 2025, from the 2023–24 Labour Force Survey, put NOC 41101 — lawyers and Quebec notaries, employed, all sectors — at a Canada-wide low of CAD 30.22 an hour, a median of CAD 59.76 and a high of CAD 107.14. Annualized at 40 hours times 52 weeks, the median is CAD 124,301 (USD 89,438) and the high is CAD 222,851 (USD 160,348). The high lands next to NALP’s counsel median for the 2015–2017 call year, CAD 222,000, not next to a general counsel package. Using the Job Bank median as a GC salary understates the chair by CAD 71,449 against the role average of CAD 195,750.

Salary averages from Canadian Lawyer, 16 February 2026. The GC role average is the top bar. It is not a total-compensation figure, and it is not a Toronto-only cell.

Canadian Lawyer, Who earns what, 16 February 2026.

The federal grid is the public rung above those averages and still below the seventh-year firm base. LP-04 starts at CAD 187,655, which is under the Ontario wages line, and ends at CAD 244,642, which is over it. LP-05 starts at CAD 205,492, already over the line, and ends at CAD 251,413. A private GC whose wages match the LP-05 ceiling is CAD 51,413 over the posting exemption and still CAD 23,587 under a seventh-year base of around CAD 275,000. The candidate who has both numbers will use the higher one. The company that has only the magazine average will not see the objection until the counter-offer.

Partner cash is a different product and a different page. Profits per equity partner at the two Canada-headquartered firms that still print a public cell are residual profit, not a wage, and they are not repeated here. A company matching “a partner” into a general counsel seat is matching the wrong instrument. The wage instruments are the ones in the table above. The partner cell is on the law firm partner salary Canada page.

Federal LP ranges, effective 10 May 2025, against the Ontario wages line at CAD 200,000 and the Globe's seventh-year base. Values are the top of each range except the wages line and the firm base.

Treasury Board LP Appendix A, line D; O. Reg. 476/24; The Globe and Mail, 4 March 2025.

05 The 2026 line

Ontario can hide the number. The rest of the country still has to pay it.

The CAD 200,000 test is an Ontario posting rule. It is not a national cap, and it is not a Calgary, Montreal or Vancouver statute. The salary underneath it is.

Must print wagesMay omit wages

  1. Under CAD 200,000 Role average, five-city average, associate-GC average, in-house average, ten-year median. An Ontario employer with 25 or more employees prints the number or a range no wider than CAD 50,000.
  2. The line itself More than CAD 200,000 of expected wages, or a range that ends above it. The posting may go silent. CAD 195,750 does not qualify.
  3. Federal ceiling LP-05 at CAD 251,413 is over the line and still public, because Treasury Board publishes it whether or not Ontario would have required a private employer to.
  4. Outside Ontario The regulation does not travel. A Montreal, Calgary or Vancouver board that copies the silence without copying a wages figure above CAD 200,000 has copied a formatting trick, not a market.

Of 52 Ontario private-company general counsel in the same Toronto interview cohort, over an 18-month window, 33 said the company posted the chair with no compensation figure because expected wages were above CAD 200,000. That is a format choice inside one province. It is not evidence that the paid number was the role average. A chief financial officer at a privately held industrial company in Toronto told us the only Canadian legal-chief figure the board would put in the minutes was the federal LP-05 ceiling, because the magazine average had already lost two candidates.

The licensee counts say where the argument travels and where it does not. Ontario’s 45,109 practicing lawyers are the largest single book in the Federation’s 114,574. Quebec’s Barreau, at 31,110, is the second. British Columbia and Alberta together are 27,588. A national role average of CAD 195,750 smooths those four markets into one sentence. A company hiring in one of them still has to clear the local firm alternative: NALP’s Toronto first-year median of CAD 130,000 is not a Calgary first-year median, and the Globe’s seventh-year figure is a Toronto press band. Importing CAD 275,000 into a Halifax or Winnipeg offer is the same category error as importing USD 4.76 million into Toronto.

USD 4.76 million is the 2026 proxy-season median total for sitting US general counsel who are named executive officers, from Sartori’s reading of those filings. At 1.3898 that total is about CAD 6.62 million. It is equity-heavy compensation for a named officer at a large US-listed company. Dividing it into the Canadian role average produces a ratio, 4,760,000 US dollars against 140,848 US dollars, of about 34 to 1. The ratio describes two instruments. It does not describe what a Canadian board should bid. A Canadian issuer that is not putting its general counsel in the named-executive-officer table has no public total to set beside the US median. No Canadian total is invented to fill that gap.

06 Closing the hire

Name the instrument, then run the search on the GC clock.

Firm-wide, a GC or CLO search since 2017 reaches a shortlist in 24 days and an accepted offer in a median of 11 weeks. The Toronto in-house line, which holds the Canada general-counsel files, is slower because it includes counsel seats as well as the chair.

Of 17 closed Toronto in-house searches over three years, 4 were general counsel or chief legal officer seats. The other 13 were legal counsel, senior counsel or public-sector in-house files, the same split as on the Toronto in-house page. Counter-offer incidence on the Toronto in-house line is 26 percent. Inside the four general-counsel files, 2 drew a counter-offer. Completion on the line is 94 percent. One of those four general-counsel files is the file that did not complete: the board would not move off CAD 195,750, and the candidate returned to a firm counsel seat.

The file that did close cleanly was a first general counsel seat at a TSX-listed mining company in Toronto. The shortlist was out in 22 days. The accepted offer landed in 14 weeks, inside the firm-wide GC range of 8 to 16 weeks and faster than the 4 to 7 months typical for the whole in-house line. The offer was wages of 265,000, above both the role average and the LP-05 ceiling, with a separate bonus the posting never showed. Median working days from offer to signature on the Toronto in-house line are 14. That mining file signed inside the same window. The desk has worked Toronto in-house searches for 8 years.

Two clocks, not one. Since 2017 Sartori has completed 52 general counsel and chief legal officer placements. The shortlist median on that set is 24 days. The median to an accepted offer is 11 weeks. Acceptance is 96 percent. Retention of placed in-house leaders is 97 percent at 12 months and 91 percent at 24 months. The replacement guarantee on a retained GC, CLO or CCO search is 12 months. Those are firm facts. They are not a promise that a board which opens at CAD 195,750 will finish inside 11 weeks. The Toronto file that stalled is the evidence.

More than 1,480,000 lawyers are mapped globally. Quarterly surveys of this market have run since 2019. What they do not give Canada is a TSX general-counsel cash distribution. When a Canadian board asks for one, the honest answer is the table in section 02, the wages line in section 05, and a search that fails if the first offer is a magazine average the candidate can already beat at a firm.

BriefSignature

  1. Name the instrument Role average, five-city average, LP-05 ceiling, or a remuneration-committee number. If the brief cannot name it, the brief is not finished.
  2. Name the wages Ontario’s test is wages. Say the wages figure before anyone argues about a grant. CAD 200,000 is the posting threshold, not the offer.
  3. Name the firm alternative Seventh-year base around CAD 275,000, or counsel median CAD 248,875. The offer has to clear the one the candidate actually holds.

The company that wants the chair inside the 11-week median takes three decisions before a shortlist circulates. First, whether the seat is a general counsel, a combined legal-and-governance chief, or a deputy under a sitting GC: those three jobs do not share the CAD 195,750 average. Second, whether the wages will be above CAD 200,000, and therefore whether an Ontario posting will show a number. Third, whether the deputies are being hired this year at the CAD 175,614 associate-GC average or bought from a firm. A brief that cannot answer those three spends the first month discovering them, and the counter-offer arrives against a number that was never the number.

If you are the company putting this lawyer on the payroll, the next conversation is a search brief. Sartori’s general counsel search practice runs that brief on a retained fee of 25 to 30 percent of first-year total compensation. First-GC mandates sit on first general counsel. Replacement of a sitting GC sits on GC succession. The method is on the methodology page. Start with a conversation or a hiring brief.

General counsel salary in Canada: common questions

What is a general counsel salary Canada figure in 2026?

Canadian Lawyer’s 16 February 2026 report put the general counsel role average at CAD 195,750 (USD 140,848 at the Bank of Canada August 2026 average of 1.3898) and the five-city average at CAD 196,112 (USD 141,108). Both sit under Ontario’s more-than-CAD 200,000 wages line. The federal LP-05 ceiling, effective 10 May 2025, is CAD 251,413 (USD 180,899). None of those figures is a TSX named-executive-officer total.

Why can an Ontario company post a general counsel job with no pay?

O. Reg. 476/24, in force 1 January 2026, requires expected compensation on a public posting for an employer with 25 or more employees, and caps a posted range at CAD 50,000 wide. The compensation line is not required when expected wages, or the top of the range, are more than CAD 200,000 a year. Compensation in that regulation means wages. A role average of CAD 195,750 does not clear the exemption. A private offer at the LP-05 ceiling of CAD 251,413 does.

How does federal lawyer pay compare with a private general counsel salary?

The last published Treasury Board LP line, effective 10 May 2025, runs LP-04 from CAD 187,655 to CAD 244,642 and LP-05 from CAD 205,492 to CAD 251,413. In US dollars at the August 2026 monthly average that is USD 135,023 to USD 176,027, and USD 147,857 to USD 180,899. Those are base-salary ranges for federal law practitioners. They are not bonus, pension or equity, and they are not a Bay Street seventh-year base.

What does a Canadian associate general counsel earn next to the GC?

The same 16 February 2026 Canadian Lawyer report puts the five-city associate general counsel average at CAD 175,614 (USD 126,359) and the median for in-house counsel or an associate general counsel with more than ten years at CAD 158,000 (USD 113,685). The all-in-house average in that report is CAD 136,500. The GC role average of CAD 195,750 does not staff that layer.

Is the Job Bank lawyer wage a general counsel salary?

No. Job Bank, wages updated 19 November 2025 from the 2023–24 Labour Force Survey, prints NOC 41101 for all lawyers and Quebec notaries: Canada low CAD 30.22, median CAD 59.76, high CAD 107.14 an hour. At 40 hours times 52 weeks that median is CAD 124,301 and the high is CAD 222,851. The cell mixes private practice, government and in-house. It is not a general counsel distribution.

How long does a general counsel search in Canada take to close?

Sartori’s firm-wide GC and CLO clock, across 52 GC and CLO searches since 2017, is a 24-day shortlist and an 11-week median to an accepted offer, with a range of 8 to 16 weeks and a 96 percent acceptance rate. On the Toronto in-house line the typical close is 4 to 7 months, with a median of 14 working days from offer to signature. Of 17 closed Toronto in-house searches over three years, 4 were general counsel or chief legal officer seats. A TSX-listed mining company in Toronto hired its general counsel in 14 weeks.

07 Sources

A magazine average, a federal grid, and a posting rule.

Role averages come from Canadian Lawyer's 16 February 2026 report. Federal ranges come from the Treasury Board LP appendix. The wages line comes from O. Reg. 476/24. US dollars use the August 2026 Bank of Canada monthly average.

Disclosures, the regulation and the research program

11 references
  1. Sartori & Partners — Toronto Legal Talent Research Programme (250 structured interviews; ~5000 lawyers mapped; quarterly surveys since 2019; mandate telemetry) sartoriglobal.com ↗
  2. Who earns what: Average salary for lawyers in Canada canadianlawyermag.com ↗
  3. Monthly average foreign exchange rates in Canadian dollars, Bank of Canada www150.statcan.gc.ca ↗
  4. Law Practitioner (LP) collective agreement — Appendix A canada.ca ↗
  5. O. Reg. 476/24: Rules and Exemptions re Job Postings ontario.ca ↗
  6. Wages for Lawyers and Quebec notaries (NOC 41101) jobbank.gc.ca ↗
  7. NALP Unveils Inaugural Salary Report for Canadian Law Firms nalp.org ↗
  8. New NALP Research on Lawyer Compensation in Canada nalp.org ↗
  9. Bay Street law firms raise salaries for associates even as hiring slows theglobeandmail.com ↗
  10. Federation Statistics Report 2024 flsc.ca ↗
  11. Sartori & Partners — General Counsel Pay at the Largest US-Listed Companies (2026 proxy season) sartoriglobal.com ↗

Each external figure measures a named instrument: a role average, a five-city average, a federal base range, an hourly wage, a firm associate median, or a posting threshold. Recruiter salary guides are not used. US proxy totals are labeled as US totals.

Brief a Canada GC search

Price the wages before you post the chair.

Whether you are hiring a first general counsel or replacing one, we price the offer against the 16 February 2026 role average, the federal LP ceiling and the firm base the candidate can already see.