Salary · Toronto general counsel
General Counsel Salary in Toronto 2026: how many seats CAD 1 million funds.
A dated cash figure in Canadian dollars and US dollars first, then who pays it. The five-city average sits just under the line that lets a Toronto company leave the number off the posting.
CAD 1 million is a seat count, and CAD 200,000 is the silence line.
A general counsel salary Toronto figure in 2026 buys 5.10 seats per CAD 1 million at the 16 February 2026 five-city average of CAD 196,112. Sartori maps roughly 5,000 lawyers in Toronto. That file records title and employer. It does not record cash.
Canadian Lawyer five-city general counsel average, 16 February 2026: CAD 196,112 (USD 141,108 at 1 USD = 1.3898 CAD). One million Canadian dollars funds 5.10 seats. Toronto is inside the five-city basket. A Toronto-only private median is not stated. Canadian Lawyer ↗
Pick an instrument. The number is how many of those seats CAD 1 million funds, at the Bank of Canada August 2026 average of 1.3898. The LP rows are government lockstep. The full dated table sits below.
- 1.3898
- Canadian dollars per US dollar, Bank of Canada monthly average for August 2026. Every USD figure uses it.
- Bank of Canada monthly exchange rates
- CAD 196,112
- Five-city general counsel average, 16 February 2026. Calgary, Toronto, Montreal, Ottawa, Vancouver. USD 141,108.
- Canadian Lawyer, 16 February 2026
- CAD 3,888
- Gap between that five-city average and the CAD 200,000 line above which a 2026 Ontario posting may omit pay.
- Canadian Lawyer average minus O. Reg. 476/24 threshold
- 5.10
- Seats CAD 1 million funds at CAD 196,112. At the CAD 200,000 silence line the same million funds 5.00 seats.
- Derived from the 16 February 2026 average
What a 2026 general counsel salary Toronto cash figure actually funds
Local currency first, dollars at the August 2026 average, then how many such seats one million Canadian dollars buys. Each row is one instrument. They are not a single Toronto median.
There is no published Toronto-only private general-counsel median for 2026 that survives a source check. Canadian Lawyer, on 16 February 2026, printed a general-counsel role average of CAD 195,750 (USD 140,848) and a five-city general-counsel average of CAD 196,112 (USD 141,108). The five cities are Calgary, Toronto, Montreal, Ottawa and Vancouver. Toronto is in the basket. The magazine did not break Toronto out. Recruiter salary guides that print a single Toronto GC number were not used.
The Bank of Canada's monthly average for August 2026 is 1 USD = 1.3898 CAD. Every dollar figure on this page is the Canadian amount divided by 1.3898, rounded to the nearest dollar. A 2026 Toronto general-counsel cash figure is a seat count, and CAD 200,000 is where the posting is allowed to go silent. CAD 1 million divided by CAD 196,112 is 5.10 seats. Divided by the silence line it is 5.00 seats. The five-city average sits CAD 3,888 under the line that lets a Toronto company omit the number.
| Seat | Cash (CAD) | USD | Seats / CAD 1m | What the number measures | Dated |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Canadian Lawyer five-city GC average | 196,112 | 141,108 | 5.10 | Average across Calgary, Toronto, Montreal, Ottawa and Vancouver. Not a Toronto-only median. | 16 Feb 2026 |
| Canadian Lawyer GC role average | 195,750 | 140,848 | 5.11 | National role average in the same report. Not a city cut. | 16 Feb 2026 |
| Ontario posting silence line | 200,000 | 143,906 | 5.00 | Expected pay, or the top of a range, above which a public posting may omit compensation. Not a survey. | 1 Jan 2026 |
| Canadian Lawyer five-city AGC average | 175,614 | 126,359 | 5.69 | Associate general counsel average, same five cities. The layer under the GC title. | 16 Feb 2026 |
| In-house or AGC, 10+ years | 158,000 | 113,685 | 6.33 | National median for ten-year in-house counsel or an associate general counsel. Not the GC title. | 16 Feb 2026 |
| Federal LP-03 Toronto midpoint | 196,729 | 141,552 | 5.08 | Midpoint of CAD 165,373 to 228,084, chief or director band. Agreement expired 9 May 2026. | 10 May 2025 |
| Federal LP-05 Toronto midpoint | 228,453 | 164,379 | 4.38 | Midpoint of CAD 205,492 to 251,413. Top published federal LP step in Toronto. | 10 May 2025 |
| Canadian Lawyer in-house average | 136,500 | 98,216 | 7.33 | National in-house average. Shown so the GC average is not read as the whole department. | 16 Feb 2026 |
Arithmetic is CAD 1,000,000 divided by the cash figure. LP midpoints are half-up to the nearest dollar of the band average, then converted. The silence line is a statute. See the sources.
National in-house average
CAD 136,500. Canadian Lawyer, 16 February 2026. Not the GC title.
Canadian Lawyer, 16 February 2026 ↗Two rows are easy to misread. The LP-03 midpoint of CAD 196,729 is almost the five-city corporate average, and it is not that average. It is the halfway point of a federal chief or director band, CAD 165,373 to 228,084, effective 10 May 2025. The collective agreement expired on 9 May 2026. No successor schedule has been published. The LP-05 midpoint of CAD 228,453, from CAD 205,492 to 251,413, is the top published federal step in Toronto. Both are base lockstep. Neither is a bonus, a pension, or a TSX long-term incentive.
The silence line is the other misread. O. Reg. 476/24, in force 1 January 2026, does not cap pay at CAD 200,000. It lets an employer with 25 or more Ontario employees omit compensation from a public posting once expected pay, or the top of the range, exceeds that amount. A range that is published may not be wider than CAD 50,000. The regulation does not stop the company from paying a wider internal band. It stops the posting from showing one. A reader who treats CAD 196,112 as the Toronto market, because it is the number still legal to print, is reading the disclosure rule.
| Instrument | Toronto-only? | A salary? | Bonus inside the number? |
|---|---|---|---|
| Five-city GC average | No. Five cities, Toronto included | Published average | Not broken out in the figure used here |
| National GC role average | No | Published average | Not broken out in the figure used here |
| CAD 200,000 silence line | Ontario rule, not a city survey | No. A posting threshold | No |
| LP-03 and LP-05 | Yes. Toronto grid | Yes. Federal base | No. Base steps only |
| RBC 2026 proxy circular | Toronto-headquartered bank | GC cash not printed | Not disclosed for this chair |
A 2026 Toronto general-counsel cash figure is a seat count, and CAD 200,000 is where the posting is allowed to go silent.
The employer is a company, a pension, a regulator or a city, not a law firm.
The 2026 Toronto general-counsel seat is an in-house job. Law firms are the competing payroll and the panel. They do not employ this chair.
Listed issuers and insurers
A TSX life insurer and an exchange operator staff counsel in Toronto. The general counsel title is real. The cash is not in a director's single-figure table the way a US proxy prints a named legal officer.
Banks and pension plans
A Schedule I bank runs a Toronto law group under a chief legal officer on the group executive. RBC's 2026 proxy circular does not price that chair as a named executive officer.
Regulators and the City
The Ontario Securities Commission splits a general counsel's department from enforcement. The City of Toronto Legal Services division calls itself the City's in-house law firm. The City Solicitor listing carried no salary.
Federal counsel on the LP grid
Department of Justice and departmental legal services in Toronto sit on the Law Practitioner grid. LP-03 is the chief or director band. It is government lockstep, not a corporate package.
The Law Society of Ontario's 2024 statistical snapshot puts in-house practice at 13 percent of 52,404 lawyers with a sector recorded, and the Toronto electoral region at 55 percent of 48,766 lawyers with a region recorded. The snapshot does not cross the two. Thirteen percent of 55 percent is not a Toronto in-house headcount, and it is not written as one. It is also not a count of people whose title is General Counsel.
On the employer's own pages the chairs look like this. Royal Bank of Canada staffs a Toronto law group; the 2026 management proxy circular does not put a General Counsel in the named-executive-officer table, so the cash is not a public number. Manulife, a TSX-listed life insurer headquartered in Toronto, recruits into a legal, risk, compliance and audit family. A large Ontario pension plan puts enterprise legal and investment counsel under one chief legal officer. TMX Group, the operator of Toronto Stock Exchange, employs counsel at the exchange, not at a member firm. The Ontario Securities Commission separates the general counsel and executive vice president, legal and governance, from the enforcement desk. Its 2024–2025 annual report put the workforce at 679 full-time-equivalent staff and salaries and benefits at CAD 139.3 million, and budgeted the 2026 workforce to decline. That is a regulator's payroll, not a GC median.
Hydro One Limited's annual information form for the year ended 31 December 2025 records that the executive vice president and chief legal officer resigned effective 13 April 2023, and that legal now sits with the chief financial and regulatory officer. The work remained. The chair that used to be a legal officer on its own did not. A posted chief-legal-officer band in that pattern is a different job from a law group that still reports to a chief legal officer.
The City of Toronto Legal Services page describes the division as the City's in-house law firm. The City's jobs portal, accessed 11 September 2026, still listed City Solicitor under Executive Opportunities. The listing did not print a salary. Ontario's public-sector salary disclosure for 2025, published 27 March 2026, contains 404,922 rows at a floor of CAD 100,000. It is the place a municipal legal chief above that floor would appear. No title-level counsel median was taken from it.
Cash is printedCash is withheld
- Federal LP step Appendix A prints the band next to the level. A company can read the number. So can the lawyer. It is a government base, and the agreement that set it has expired.
- Survey average under the line The five-city figure can still be written on a posting. It is an average across five cities. It is the number a board deck reaches for because it is legal to show.
- Package above the line Expected pay above the statutory threshold may be omitted from the advertisement. The cash still has to be authorized. Silence is a posting choice, not a statement that no number exists.
Across 250 structured interviews with Toronto general counsel, finance officers and compensation-committee chairs, 29 of 54 chief financial officers and compensation-committee chairs, over a 24-month window, said they had authorized general-counsel cash above CAD 200,000 and then posted the role with no number. A general counsel at a TSX-listed insurer said: “The five-city average was the number in the CFO's deck. It sat under the line that lets us omit the posting, so the deck was arguing for a figure we are not required to print.”
Your first offer is a seat count. CAD 1 million of cash funds about five seats at the five-city average, and exactly five at the silence line. It does not fund a US named-executive-officer package, and it does not tell you what your own board has authorized.
- Name the instrument. A five-city average, a federal base step, and a remuneration-committee number that will never be posted are not interchangeable. Write down which one the first offer uses.
- Decide silence before the requisition. If expected cash is above CAD 200,000, the posting may carry no number. If you publish a range, it cannot be wider than CAD 50,000. Pick one before candidates do the arithmetic for you.
- Do not import the bank proxy. RBC's 2026 circular does not price the general counsel. Copying a chief executive's table, or leaving a blank and hoping, are the same mistake from opposite directions.
- Price the search on total cash. A retained search is 25 to 30 percent of the hire's total first-year compensation. Thirty percent of that fee is paid as a retainer at engagement. General-counsel searches carry a 12-month replacement guarantee.
Your title is not a published band. Unless you sit on the federal LP grid or in a public-sector disclosure above CAD 100,000, the number you earn will not be in a circular, and the five-city average will not travel with you as a personal entitlement.
- Ask which instrument. Base, target bonus, pension, equity. The magazine average does not say which of those it contains. The LP step contains base only.
- Read a blank posting. From 1 January 2026 a blank compensation field can mean the role clears CAD 200,000. It can also mean the company has not decided. Ask which.
- Compare the alternative you actually have. The Globe and Mail, on 4 March 2025, put a seventh-year Bay Street base around CAD 275,000 (USD 197,870). That base is not a GC survey. It is the number many candidates are leaving.
- The reporting line is the job. A chief legal officer who now reports through a chief financial officer, as at the transmitter whose 2025 annual information form records a 13 April 2023 resignation, is not the same chair as a law-group head on the group executive.
The five-city average sits CAD 3,888 under the line that lets a Toronto company omit the number.
The associate general counsel band sits on the same payroll as the GC.
CAD 1 million aimed at the general counsel does not staff the department. The associate general counsel, the ten-year counsel, and the national in-house average are the rest of the published ladder.
Canadian Lawyer's same 16 February 2026 report put the five-city associate-general-counsel average at CAD 175,614 (USD 126,359), the national median for a ten-year in-house lawyer or an associate general counsel at CAD 158,000 (USD 113,685), and the national in-house average at CAD 136,500 (USD 98,216). At those figures, CAD 1 million funds 5.69, 6.33 and 7.33 seats. None of those rows is the general counsel. All three are what a GC cash figure also has to live above, on the same payroll, if the department is more than a title.
The five-city general-counsel average of CAD 196,112 is CAD 20,498 above the five-city associate-general-counsel average of CAD 175,614. That spread is narrower than the gap between the associate-general-counsel average and a seventh-year Bay Street base around CAD 275,000. A company that prices the GC a small step above its own associate general counsel, and ignores the firm-side base the candidate is leaving, will hear about it in the first interview. The counsel layer under this chair is the subject of the Toronto in-house counsel salary page.
The Canadian Bar Association's in-house section and Mondaq published the 2026 Canadian In-House Counsel Report from fieldwork in October to December 2025, just under 500 completed responses, 36 percent of them in Ontario. It is a national survey with an Ontario weight, not a Toronto payroll. Respondents expecting headcount growth were 24 percent. Respondents expecting a budget cut were 17 percent, described in the report as a five-year high. A general counsel hiring into that mix is adding a seat while a measurable share of peers are cutting the budget that pays it.
The same report's demand chart is the work under the chair, not a salary. Risk and compliance, and data privacy, each at 51 percent of respondents saying demand was up, lead contract management at 48 percent, dispute resolution at 41 percent, and labor and employment at 32 percent. A Toronto GC package that does not fund at least a privacy counsel and a commercial counsel is a title sitting on work the survey says is rising.
The chair is being paid to carry a dated stack of rules, not a hiring boom.
Posting law, cyber incident rules, issuer financing, and merger filings each name work for a Toronto general counsel in 2026. None of them publishes how many chairs are open.
Every Ontario employerNamed buyer only
- Posting rule Any employer of 25 or more in Ontario writes the advertisement under the new compensation rule. The GC is often the person who tells the company it may go silent.
- Cyber clock Public-sector institutions pick up a maturity assessment and a short incident report. Private-sector GCs feel the same incidents through contracts and regulators, on a different statute.
- Issuer financing TSX capital-raising volume is the load on an issuer GC and on the exchange's own counsel. It is not a count of open legal chairs.
- Merger filings Bureau review volume is a competition file under the GC, often with outside counsel. It does not, by itself, create a new general counsel seat.
The posting rule is already in force. From 1 January 2026 the general counsel of an Ontario employer is often the lawyer who decides whether the company's own GC requisition prints a number. That is a strange seat: the person being hired is also the person who knows the advertisement is allowed to be blank. Boards that have not had that conversation discover it when a candidate asks why the range is missing.
Public-sector cyber duties moved on 1 July 2026. Ontario Regulation 51/26 requires cyber-security maturity assessments and a report of a critical cyber-security incident within 72 hours. The Information and Privacy Commissioner of Ontario's in-force table puts municipal MFIPPA privacy-impact assessments at 1 January 2027. A City Solicitor and a provincial agency GC are carrying that clock in 2026. A private-company GC is not under that regulation, and still answers the customer and the regulator when the same incident hits a vendor contract. The work is not a second salary table.
Deal load is real and not a census of openings. TMX Group's equity-financing statistics put TSX raises at CAD 23.26 billion across calendar 2025 and CAD 10.95 billion in the first half of 2026. The Competition Bureau's performance report for 2025–26, released 23 June 2026, recorded 243 merger reviews commenced. An issuer GC in Toronto reads both numbers as files, not as a hiring plan. The Bank of Canada held the overnight target at 2.25 percent on 2 September 2026, and the 15 July 2026 opening statement projected 2026 GDP growth at 0.7 percent. A slow growth print does not delete the filing calendar.
The Ontario Securities Commission is both a buyer and a source of that calendar. With 679 full-time-equivalent staff and a 2026 workforce budgeted to decline, it is not a net adder of counsel seats this year. Issuer counsel still answers the filings. Federal LP counsel in Toronto remain on the May 2025 steps of an agreement that expired on 9 May 2026. Until a successor schedule is published, the printed grid is the dated public number, and it should be labeled as expired rather than as a 2026 raise.
Price the seat on a named instrument, then run the search on the Toronto clock.
Sartori has worked the Toronto in-house market for 8 years, for banks, insurers, issuers, pension plans and public institutions. The line's figures are below. They are not the global GC median, and they are not a promise that every file hits it.
Of 17 closed Toronto in-house searches over three years, 4 were general-counsel or chief-legal-officer chairs. Those 4 sit inside 38 general-counsel and chief-legal-officer placements since 2017. Completion on the Toronto in-house line is 94 percent. Counter-offer incidence on the same 17 files is 26 percent. The median from offer to signature is 14 working days. The typical timeline is 4 to 7 months.
1 of the 4 GC files did not complete. That file is the 1 incomplete search inside the 17. The board capped cash at the five-city average of CAD 196,112. The finalists read the cap as a senior-counsel band with a larger title. A chief financial officer at a Toronto software company said: “The five-city average was the ceiling the board would sign. A higher number would have had to wait for the next budget, and the two people we wanted would not wait.” Completion of 94 percent is the line. The miss sat in the GC subset.
The file that closed is the other shape. A TSX-listed insurer in Toronto, replacing a general counsel whose lawyers reported through the chief financial officer, reached an accepted offer in 19 weeks. Base was 285,000, with a 25 percent target, 356,250 at target (205,065 base, 256,332 at target, at 1.3898). The base itself cleared both the CAD 200,000 silence line and the Globe's seventh-year figure of around CAD 275,000, so the posting carried no number. 19 weeks sits inside the Toronto line's 4 to 7 months. It is slower than the 11-week median to an accepted offer across 52 GC and CLO searches since 2017. The shortlist median on that same firmwide set is 24 days. The Toronto line mixes counsel seats with GC chairs. It is not the firmwide GC clock.
BriefSignature
- Name the instrument Five-city average, federal step, or a remuneration-committee number that will not be posted. If the brief cannot name it, the search spends the first month naming it.
- Name the posting A printed range no wider than the statutory cap, or silence because the cash clears the threshold. Candidates can read the regulation. So can their current employer.
- Name the competing base The candidate may be looking at a seventh-year firm base, not at last year's in-house average. A counter-offer lands inside a short window. A committee that cannot move inside it is not in a search.
Quarterly surveys of this market have run since 2019. The firm maps 1,480,000+ lawyers. What that map does not give Toronto is a private general-counsel median. When a board asks for one, the honest answer is the table in section 02, the silence line in section 01, and a 4 to 7 months search that fails if the first offer is the five-city average used as a ceiling.
The company putting this lawyer on the payroll starts with a search brief. Sartori's general counsel search practice runs that brief, including for Toronto in-house mandates. A first chair, rather than a replacement, is covered in the guide to hiring a first general counsel. The research method is on the methodology page.
Toronto general counsel salary: common questions
What is a general counsel salary Toronto company should budget in 2026?
Budget CAD 196,112 (USD 141,108) as the five-city average Canadian Lawyer published on 16 February 2026, not as a Toronto-only median. CAD 1 million funds 5.10 seats at that average. The national general-counsel role average in the same report is CAD 195,750. Ontario lets a posting omit pay above CAD 200,000 from 1 January 2026, and the five-city average sits CAD 3,888 under that line.
How many seats does CAD 1 million fund at published 2026 general-counsel figures?
CAD 1 million funds 5.10 seats at CAD 196,112 and 5.11 seats at CAD 195,750. It funds 5.00 seats at the CAD 200,000 silence line, 5.69 at the five-city associate-general-counsel average of CAD 175,614, and 4.38 at the federal LP-05 midpoint of CAD 228,453. Dollars use the Bank of Canada August 2026 average of 1.3898.
Why can a 2026 Toronto general-counsel posting show no salary?
From 1 January 2026, O. Reg. 476/24 lets an employer omit compensation when expected pay, or the top of the range, is more than CAD 200,000. A range that is published may not be wider than CAD 50,000. The five-city average of CAD 196,112 can still be printed. A package above the line need not be.
Do Toronto bank circulars print general counsel pay?
RBC's 2026 management proxy circular does not list a General Counsel as a named executive officer. That chair's cash is not a public number in the circular. The corporate series used here is Canadian Lawyer's 16 February 2026 average, not a bank proxy table.
How long does a Toronto general-counsel search take to close?
Sartori's Toronto in-house line typically closes in 4 to 7 months, with a median of 14 working days from offer to signature. Of 17 closed Toronto in-house searches over three years, 4 were general-counsel or chief-legal-officer chairs, and 1 of those 4 did not complete. Across 52 GC and CLO searches since 2017, the firm median to an accepted offer is 11 weeks.
Is the federal LP-03 band a corporate general counsel salary in Toronto?
No. LP-03 in Toronto is a federal chief or director band of CAD 165,373 to 228,084, effective 10 May 2025, under an agreement that expired 9 May 2026. The midpoint, CAD 196,729 (USD 141,552), sits near the five-city corporate average and is still a government lockstep. It is not a TSX package, and no successor grid is substituted here.
Magazine averages, the LP grid, the posting regulation, and the Toronto research program.
Cash figures come from Canadian Lawyer's 16 February 2026 report, the federal LP schedule, and Ontario's posting regulation. Population and workload figures come from the Law Society, the OSC, TMX, and the Competition Bureau. Seat-count arithmetic uses the Bank of Canada August 2026 average.
Averages, statutes and the research program
23 references- Sartori & Partners — Toronto Legal Talent Research Programme (250 structured interviews; ~5,000 lawyers mapped; quarterly surveys since 2019; mandate telemetry) sartoriglobal.com ↗
- Who earns what: Average salary for lawyers in Canada canadianlawyermag.com ↗
- Bank of Canada — Monthly exchange rates bankofcanada.ca ↗
- O. Reg. 476/24: Rules and Exemptions re Job Postings ontario.ca ↗
- Requirements related to publicly advertised job postings ontario.ca ↗
- Law Practitioner (LP) collective agreement, Appendix A canada.ca ↗
- 2026 Management Proxy Circular rbc.com ↗
- Public sector salary disclosure 2025: all sectors and seconded employees ontario.ca ↗
- Statistical Snapshot of Lawyers in Ontario from the Lawyer Annual Report 2024 lawsocietyontario-dwd0dscmayfwh7bj.a01.azurefd.net ↗
- 2026 Canadian In-House Counsel Report (CBA In-House Lawyers & Mondaq) mondaq.com ↗
- Bay Street law firms raise salaries for associates even as hiring slows theglobeandmail.com ↗
- Ontario Securities Commission Annual Report 2024–2025 osc.ca ↗
- TMX Group Equity Financing Statistics – December 2025 tmx.com ↗
- TMX Group Equity Financing Statistics – June 2026 tmx.com ↗
- Competition Bureau performance measurement & statistics report 2025-2026 competition-bureau.canada.ca ↗
- Bank of Canada maintains the policy rate at 2¼% bankofcanada.ca ↗
- Monetary Policy Report Press Conference Opening Statement bankofcanada.ca ↗
- Hydro One Limited Annual Information Form, year ended 31 December 2025 hydroone.com ↗
- Jobs at the City — City of Toronto jobs.toronto.ca ↗
- Legal Services – City of Toronto toronto.ca ↗
- O. Reg. 51/26: Cyber Security ontario.ca ↗
- Updates on obligations for provincial and municipal institutions — IPC ipc.on.ca ↗
- OSC organization and leadership osc.ca ↗
Each figure measures a named instrument: a magazine average, a federal base step, a statutory threshold, a proxy table that omits the chair, or a workload count. The five-city average is not a Toronto-only median. LP steps are not a TSX package. Recruiter salary guides are not used.
Keep reading
The counsel layer under this chair, the London seat count, and the desk that runs the search.
In-house counsel salary in Toronto 2026
Legal counsel and senior counsel in Toronto: the federal grid, the posted-range cap, and the firm-side base this GC page does not rebuild.
Read the Toronto in-house tableGeneral counsel salary in London 2026
The same seat-count question in pounds: how many disclosed London general-counsel seats one million pounds funds.
Read the London seat countGeneral counsel search
How a retained GC mandate is briefed, mapped and closed, priced on a named instrument rather than on a borrowed average.
Brief a GC searchBrief a Toronto GC search
Price the seat before you post it.
If you are hiring a Toronto general counsel, we price the first offer on a named instrument and run the search on the 4 to 7 months clock the Toronto in-house line actually keeps.