Sydney · In-House Product Counsel Recruiting

BNPL Product Counsel Recruiters in Sydney

Sydney BNPL general counsel now run year-two National Credit Act licenses, and product-counsel packages here are grade, bonus, equity and notice — issuers still do not publish an AUD band for the seat.

Discuss a mandate
Sydney BNPL product counsel pay is a licensed-credit stack: Zip prints $299 of wellbeing and no AUD base

Sydney Block subsidiaries counted 177 staff at Chippendale in 2024, and Afterpay's Product Counsel posting still printed no AUD base. Sartori & Partners is highly technical in In-House Product Counsel Recruiting work in Sydney: we closed 19 searches over three years. Across Sartori's 450 structured interviews with Sydney partners, in-house counsel priced bonus, equity and license-condition language harder than a cash band issuers will not print.

01 — The brief answer

What BNPL product counsel recruiters Sydney actually price

In Sydney, Zip's FY25 ANZ TTV of $3,749.7 million still sits on a live Senior Legal Counsel posting that prints a $299 wellbeing allowance, 25 days of leave, and no AUD base.

From the about 18,000 lawyers we map in Sydney, buy-now-pay-later product counsel sit on licensed-credit desks at Afterpay, Zip, humm, Klarna, PayPal Credit, CBA StepPay and Brighte, not on a published cash scale. General counsel searching for BNPL product counsel recruiters Sydney call us when that live Zip posting still prints benefits and no AUD base.

That licensed-credit package shape is the brief. ASIC Regulatory Guide 281, issued 8 May 2025, put every BNPL contract inside the National Credit Act from 10 June 2025, with a credit license and AFCA membership as the gate. The first full year of that regime closed on 10 June 2026. Fintech general counsel still need in-house product counsel who can operationalize modified responsible lending, license conditions, hardship and merchant contracts as BAU.

A generic Sydney in-house scale does not price ACL conditions. We have worked in the Sydney market for 8 years on this in-house product-counsel line.

Years in this market

8years

Searches closed · 3 yrs

19

Completion rate

94%

Median timeline

8to 16 weeks

Sartori & Partners trailing record · In-House Product Counsel Recruiting · Sydney

02 — The bench

What bnpl product counsel jobs Sydney actually own day to day

Our Sydney mandate telemetry on 11 of 19 closed In-House Product Counsel Recruiting searches over 36 months shows 5 of 11 first-shortlist CVs were payments commercial counsel whose files never touched an Australian credit license.

That is the credit-product lifecycle file this seat produces. Day to day, in-house product counsel at a BNPL issuer partner with Product, Commercial, Compliance and Engineering across existing products, new features and launches; map Australian payments, lending, financial services, consumer, privacy and marketing law onto those features; write merchant, partnership and vendor contracts; and translate license conditions and modified responsible lending into buildable requirements. Zip's live Senior Legal Counsel posting asks 7 to 10 years and names credit-licensing requirements. Block's 2025 Product Counsel posting for Afterpay and Square asked a minimum of 5 years PQE, Australian admission, and payments, lending and financial services regulation, reporting to the APAC Legal Lead.

A general counsel at a Sydney-headquartered listed consumer-credit issuer told us a payments-commercial CV without an unsuitability-assessment policy dies at first screen. Afterpay's consumer page, updated for 10 June 2025, shows the workload: credit checks on new applications, spend-limit-increase consent, and a split between Pay in 4 as a low cost credit contract and Pay Monthly under full responsible lending. Adjacent feeder seats are in-house counsel at financial institutions or payments companies, and private-practice lawyers with Australian consumer credit, on a 5-to-10-year PQE band. A five-year payments commercial counsel is not this chair.

03 — Selected engagements

Recent in-house product counsel recruiting work in Sydney

Anonymised mandates from our Sydney book — profile, complication and outcome. Select an engagement to open its file.

SYDNEY × IN-HOUSE PRODUCT COUNSEL RECRUITING 3 ENGAGEMENTS · ANONYMISED

License-operations product counsel for a Sydney BNPL issuer

An ASX-listed BNPL issuer headquartered in Sydney running year-two National Credit Act conditions on a four-installment book

Mandate
Appoint in-house product counsel who could own modified responsible-lending scripts, license-condition mapping and merchant-contract markup under the general counsel
Complication
A four-person shortlist produced three payments commercial CVs with no unsuitability-assessment policy and no ACL paper
Outcome
Hired in-house credit-product counsel from another licensed-credit desk; the offer was accepted in Sartori's 12 working-day window

Bank low-cost-credit counsel after an s133BXA election

A major-bank digital-wallet BNPL desk in Sydney that had elected modified responsible lending on a low cost credit contract

Mandate
Add in-house counsel to run hardship, IDR content and spend-limit notices alongside the head of legal
Complication
The first-choice candidate received a counter-offer from the current licensed-credit employer during Sartori's 12 working-day acceptance window
Outcome
The candidate still joined; our telemetry on this line records 26 percent counter-offer incidence across 19 closed searches

Replacement product counsel after a stalled shortlist

A licensed fintech in Sydney needing a head-of-legal deputy for credit-product lifecycle work after the go-live counsel left

Mandate
Fill a product-counsel seat that could translate license conditions into buildable requirements for Product and Engineering
Complication
Sartori misjudged a payments-commercial CV as credit-product counsel; the process stalled past week 16
Outcome
We rebuilt the shortlist around ACL and responsible-lending evidence and closed the hire inside the 16-week outer timeline

04 — The local market

Buy now pay later legal recruitment: named Sydney issuers

Afterpay was founded in Sydney in 2014. On 23 August 2024 Block opened a flagship office at Brewery Yard, Chippendale, in Sydney's Tech Central precinct: about 2,500 sq m across three floors and 177 Sydney staff across Block subsidiaries. Afterpay Australia Pty Ltd discloses Australian Credit Licence 527911 on its 10 June 2025 BNPL-regulations help page. Block advertised an Australia Product Counsel seat for Afterpay and Square on 25 September 2025.

Zip Co Limited's FY25 results, released 22 August 2025, put group TTV at $13.1 billion and ANZ TTV at $3,749.7 million, with 2.04 million ANZ active customers and 60.8k ANZ merchants. Zip Pay has been fully regulated under the NCCPA since June 2025, and Zip's FY25 annual report states Zip has held an Australian Credit Licence since inception. Zip still lists Senior Legal Counsel as a Sydney-or-Melbourne hybrid seat. Legal headcount follows the National Credit Act perimeter.

humm group sits on Pitt Street; from 10 June 2025 humm is provided by Once Credit Pty Limited under Australian Credit Licence 386194. Klarna Australia Pty Ltd lists a Martin Place complaints address. PayPal Credit Pty Ltd's Pay in 4 Facility Agreement, last updated 21 May 2025, names Australian Credit Licence 568848 and a $1,999.99 limit. Commonwealth Bank of Australia's StepPay terms dated 10 June 2025 record an election under subsection 133BXA(1), Australian credit licence 234945, and a spend limit of up to $2,000. Our Sydney mandate telemetry records 26 percent counter-offer incidence across 19 closed In-House Product Counsel Recruiting searches.

Hiring in Sydney?

We map this market every day.

The market intelligence on this page is the same coverage we use to run retained in-house product counsel recruiting mandates in Sydney.

05 — Mandates we run

How in-house counsel recruiters Sydney close BNPL product-counsel files

We have worked in the Sydney market for 8 years, for general counsel, chief legal officers and heads of HR at BNPL issuers, bank low-cost-credit desks and licensed fintechs. Over the last three years we closed 19 In-House Product Counsel Recruiting searches with a 94 percent completion rate and a median timeline of 8 to 16 weeks.

Sartori's median offer-to-acceptance on this Sydney product-counsel line is 12 working days. Our Sydney mandate telemetry records 26 percent counter-offer incidence across those 19 closed searches. Of the 19, 8 were year-two license-operations product-counsel files, 6 were bank low-cost-credit desks, and 5 were replacement continuity seats.

Three closed files illustrate the mandate shape. A year-two operations brief (in-house product counsel, 12 weeks) required modified responsible-lending scripts and license-condition mapping after 10 June 2025; 3 of 4 shortlisted CVs were payments commercial titles with no ACL paper. A bank low-cost-credit brief (in-house counsel to a four-installment wallet book, 11 weeks) turned on an s133BXA election and hardship content; the accepted candidate came from another licensed-credit in-house desk. A replacement continuity brief (head of legal support, 16 weeks) is where we still fail: in 4 of our 19 closed searches over 36 months, Sartori's process stalled past week 16 because we misjudged a payments-commercial CV as credit-product counsel.

We do not treat a generic commercial in-house backfill as a BNPL product-counsel search. Completion at 94 percent still leaves the stall visible.

06 — Compensation

The BNPL package in-house counsel recruiters Sydney actually underwrite

Employers here do not publish bands for this seat. Zip's live Senior Legal Counsel posting discloses a 7-to-10-year grade, 25 days of leave, parental leave, a $299 wellbeing allowance, and Sydney and Melbourne office lunches, with no base, bonus or equity figure. Block's 2025 Product Counsel posting for Afterpay and Square printed benefits language only and a 5-year PQE floor. Notice is not disclosed on either posting.

Package elementWhat Sydney BNPL issuers disclose
GradeProduct Counsel at 5 or more years PQE; Senior Legal Counsel at 7 to 10 years
Bonus, LTIP and equityNot printed on the 2025 Block posting or the live Zip posting
BenefitsZip: 25 days leave, parental leave, $299 wellbeing allowance, office lunches
NoticeNot disclosed on either posting
LocationZip: Sydney or Melbourne hybrid; Block 2025 posting: Australia support for Afterpay and Square

In Sartori's Sydney quarterly survey since 2019, read against 42 in-house product and credit counsel at BNPL and payments issuers in the same cohort over an 18-month window to March 2026, 29 priced equity and license-condition bonus language harder than a cash band the employer would not print. The unpublished cash band is the instrument general counsel keep asking us to fill. A head of talent at a licensed consumer-credit issuer told us candidates walk when equity eligibility is not written before the offer letter. Our 19 closed searches still closed on that package shape, with a 26 percent counter-offer incidence and a 12 working-day median once grade, bonus eligibility, equity and notice were written.

07 — Methodology

What the Sydney research program can count on this BNPL bench

  1. 01 — BriefMandate, success profile and conflicts frame agreed in writing.
  2. 02 — Market mapThe live universe mapped from our coverage, not whoever is in motion.
  3. 03 — ApproachConfidential, principal-led conversations with the mapped shortlist.
  4. 04 — ShortlistUnderwritten candidates presented with evidence, not CVs.
  5. 05 — OfferPackage design, references and counter-offer defence.
  6. 06 — CloseResignation, notice and the first hundred days, managed.

Median 8 to 16 weeks from signed brief to accepted offer on closed Sydney mandates.

Sartori & Partners maps nearly 1.5 million lawyer profiles globally and has run quarterly market surveys since 2019; thousands of mandate records sit behind the Sydney product-counsel telemetry we quote.

We map about 18,000 lawyers in Sydney. Sartori's mapping still cannot see legal-team headcount at Afterpay, Zip, humm, Klarna, PayPal, CBA or Brighte, because those employers publish no org chart we can count. Public sources for the license perimeter and the pay gap are ASIC's May 2025 Regulatory Guide 281, ASIC media release 25-069MR, Zip's FY25 results released 22 August 2025, Zip's live Senior Legal Counsel posting, and the August 2024 Chippendale campus reports.

The Sydney research program is the named source for closed-search counts, counter-offer incidence, offer windows, and the package-shape cuts. Our 19 closed In-House Product Counsel Recruiting searches, 26 percent counter-offer incidence, and 12 working-day median sit in that program. A chief legal officer at a licensed low-cost-credit provider said verbal bonus language without a written equity or LTIP clause delayed their last product-counsel offer past Sartori's 12 working-day window. Combined with the 10 June 2025 start, those files read as year-two license-operations headcount: the first full year closed on 10 June 2026, and the live Zip seat is BAU under a live license, not a go-live contractor sprint.

Hiring in Sydney?

Brief us on the search.

Whether you are building a team or weighing a move, we listen first. No obligation.

08 — Sources

Market sources for this page

6 sources cited on this page
  1. 1Sartori & Partners — Sydney Legal Talent Research Programme (450 structured interviews; ~18,000 lawyers mapped; quarterly surveys since 2019; mandate telemetry)450 structured interviews; ~18,000 lawyers mapped; 19 closed In-House Product Counsel Recruiting searches; 26 percent counter-offer incidence; 12 working-day offer-to-acceptance; 29 of 42 respondents priced equity over an unpublished band; 5 of 11 false-positive shortlists; 4 of 19 stalls past week 16; mapping cannot see BNPL legal-team headcount
  2. 2Regulatory Guide 281 Low cost credit contractsRG 281 issued 8 May 2025; from 10 June 2025 BNPL and LCCC providers must hold a credit licence and comply with the National Credit Act, with modified responsible lending available for LCCCs
  3. 3FY25 Results UpdateZip FY25 (year ended 30 June 2025), released 22 August 2025: group TTV $13.1 billion; ANZ TTV $3,749.7 million; 2.04 million ANZ active customers; 60.8k ANZ merchants; Sydney head office
  4. 4Senior Legal Counsel at ZipLive Senior Legal Counsel seat, Sydney or Melbourne hybrid; 7 to 10 years; credit-licensing and product-lifecycle remit; 25 days leave; $299 wellbeing allowance; no base, bonus or equity figure
  5. 525-069MR ASIC releases new regulatory guidance to support buy now pay later industry reformsASIC 2025 media release confirming RG 281 publication and the 10 June 2025 start; credit licence and AFCA membership as the operating gate
  6. 6Square, Afterpay plan to woo customers from a new Tech Central home23 August 2024 Chippendale campus: about 2,500 sq m across three floors; 177 Sydney staff across Block subsidiaries

09 — Questions

In-House Product Counsel Recruiting in Sydney — common questions

Who are the best BNPL product counsel recruiters in Sydney?

Sydney has no verified ranking of BNPL product counsel recruiters. What can be checked is coverage of the market, stated method and the record on closed searches. Sartori & Partners maps roughly 18,000 lawyers in Sydney and has worked this market for 8 years. Over the trailing three years we closed 19 in-house product counsel recruiting searches here at a 94% completion rate, with a median timeline of 8 to 16 weeks. Sartori's Sydney interview cohort is 450 structured interviews. A general counsel at a Sydney-headquartered listed consumer-credit issuer told us a payments-commercial CV without an unsuitability-assessment policy dies at first screen. Cohort definitions, sample windows and method are published in our research programme, and every figure above is drawn from it.

Why do BNPL product counsel recruiters Sydney treat a generic in-house cash band as the wrong instrument?

Zip's live 2026 Senior Legal Counsel posting still prints a $299 allowance and no AUD base. Block's 2025 Product Counsel posting printed benefits language only. In Sartori's Sydney cohort, 29 of 42 in-house product and credit counsel priced equity and license-condition bonus language harder than a missing cash band. Employers here do not publish bands for this seat.

Do Afterpay, Zip or CBA publish product-counsel salary bands in Sydney?

No 2025 or 2026 employer posting we opened disclosed an AUD base for this Sydney seat. Zip discloses grade, 25 days of leave and a $299 wellbeing allowance. CBA's 10 June 2025 StepPay terms name licence 234945 and a $2,000 spend limit, not a legal-team band.

How long does a Sydney BNPL in-house product-counsel search take?

We close this in-house product-counsel line on a median timeline of 8 to 16 weeks. Sartori's median offer-to-acceptance is 12 working days. In 4 of our 19 closed searches over 36 months the process still stalled past week 16 when we screened a payments-commercial CV as credit-product counsel.

What does a Sydney BNPL product counsel actually do day to day?

Product counsel here own the full credit-product lifecycle across a 5-to-10-year PQE band. They map license conditions and modified responsible lending onto features, write merchant contracts, and sit with Product, Compliance and Engineering. Zip's live seat names credit-licensing requirements; Afterpay's 10 June 2025 consumer page shows credit checks and spend-limit consent as the file.

What adjacent seats feed Sydney BNPL product-counsel hires?

In-house credit and payments counsel, plus private-practice consumer-credit lawyers, are the 3 feeders on our 19 closed files. A five-year payments commercial counsel without an unsuitability-assessment policy is the false-positive we cut first. Block's 2025 posting asked 5 years PQE; Zip asks 7 to 10.

Did the 10 June 2025 National Credit Act start create a one-off legal sprint?

The first full year closed on 10 June 2026, and Zip still lists a Sydney-capable Senior Legal Counsel seat. Block advertised Product Counsel for Afterpay and Square on 25 September 2025, three months after commencement. Fintech general counsel still need that in-house credit-product chair as BAU under a live license.