Doha · Lateral partner

Lateral partner recruiting in Doha

Retained search for a law firm hiring a partner in Doha: which category of office is hiring, which covenant binds, and which clock the move is actually on.

Discuss a Doha mandate Talk to us
›Dubai’s line, a 4-to-7-month clock, one Doha file

Lateral partner recruiting Doha is a retained search for a law firm that needs a partner the office does not already have. The clock is Dubai’s partner line: 13 searches over three years, 4 to 7 months, and 14 working days from offer to acceptance. A QFC-licensed international firm in Doha hired a projects partner in month 6. Qatar News Agency, on 25 June 2026, reported Law No. 9 of 2026. The Qatar Financial Centre reported over 4,700 firms at the end of June 2026. Gulf Times, on 19 September 2026, reported 146 court filings for 2025.

01 — The brief answer

A Doha lateral is a category of office, a covenant, and a clock that is not yet a Doha count.

A managing partner hiring in Doha is not hiring into one market. The seat is a Qatari advocacy office, an international office on a ministerial license, or a legal-services entity inside the Qatar Financial Centre. The partner the firm wants is often already inside that set, on a QFC employment contract, an onshore employment contract, or a home-jurisdiction partnership deed. The clients named in the pitch are usually parties to a written agreement with the current office.

That is the work lateral partner recruiting is retained to do here. Sartori & Partners was founded in early 2017 by Lorenzo Sartori. The Dubai hub opened in 2021. Doha mandates run from that Gulf coverage. There is no Doha office, and no published Doha count of closed partner searches. The partner line with a published row is Dubai, the nearest one. It has been worked for 5 years. Closed partner searches on it over the last three years stand at 13. Those 13 are Dubai files. They are the clock this page uses. They are not a Doha tally, and adding a Doha number beside them would invent a second book.

The firm-wide partner record is 2,600+ partner conversations. That figure is not a count of mandates in Doha or in Dubai, and it is not the 13. The research program maps 1,480,000+ lawyers. The interview cohort on the Dubai line is a separate count: 250 structured interviews with Dubai partners and counsel. It is not a Doha cohort.

Dubai partner searches · 3 yrs

13

Counter-offer

42%

Offer to acceptance

14days

Typical timeline

4–7mo

Dubai partner line, trailing three years, used because Doha has no published row. Completion on that line is 93 percent. The 5 years are the length of the Dubai line, not a Doha vintage, and not a subset of the 13. The 2,600+ partner conversations are firm-wide and sit outside this count.

02 — Firm landscape

Three ways to be a law firm in Doha. No ranking among them.

The hiring brief uses three categories. None of them is a league table, and this page does not name the offices inside them. A brief that asks for “a Doha partner” without naming the category is asking for three different licenses.

  • Qatari advocacy office. The practicing roll under Law No. 23 of 2006. The English text on Al Meezan, Article 3, reserves practice to lawyers and describes practice as representation, legal opinions and the drafting of contracts. Article 13 conditions the practicing roll on Qatari citizenship, or GCC citizenship with reciprocity and committee approval. Court advocacy in this category is that roll. A non-Qatari lawyer does not step onto it by arriving with a home practicing certificate.
  • International office on a ministerial license. The Arabic text of the same law, on the Supreme Judiciary Council library, allows the Minister to license an international law office with specialist experience to do the professional work the license specifies. The license runs for five years and is renewable. The work is what the license names. It is not a general right of audience, and it is not the QFC permission below.
  • Qatar Financial Centre legal-services entity. The QFC Authority’s signed note of 23 August 2021 sets the license floor. A Qatari-owned law firm is not licensed in the Centre on its own. It enters as a joint venture with an international firm, and the entity’s name includes that firm. An international firm must conduct the majority of its operations from Doha, employ at least three full-time lawyers permanently based in Doha, pay each of those lawyers not less than QAR 15,000 a month, and provide at least 8 square meters per employee. The note also requires a ranking in Legal 500, Chambers and Partners, or a similar publication the Authority accepts. That is the Authority’s screen. It is not a ranking this page adopts, and the QAR 15,000 figure is a 2021 floor for those three lawyers. It is not a 2026 equity draw.

The same advocacy law, in the Arabic text, sets two further gates that a disputes brief keeps colliding. A non-Qatari lawyer licensed at home may ask the Minister for permission to plead in a specific case without being on the roll, and a practicing lawyer must take part. A non-Qatari lawyer employed in a Qatari office may appear in the office’s name before the bodies in Article 3 if licensed at home and if at least three years have passed since joining that office. A partner hired to stand up in the Qatari courts on day one is a different search from a partner hired to hold QFC contracts in English.

The client market around those offices is larger than the offices. On 24 August 2026 the QFC Authority reported that firm registrations in the first half of 2026 were 37 percent higher than in the first half of 2025. It onboarded 1,135 firms in the half and reported over 4,700 registered firms at the end of June 2026. Consulting and Professional Services accounted for 166 of the new firms, beside Technology and Innovation (544), Media and Entertainment (173), Wealth (84) and Fintech (65). Those figures count firms of every activity. They do not count law firms, and they do not count partners. They are the instruction pool a portable book is supposed to reach.

The court that sits on the QFC side published its own 2024 review: 98 cases filed, 93 judgments, and total case value of QAR 1.47 billion, up from QAR 947 million in 2023. Gulf Times, on 19 September 2026, reported the Centre’s 2025 annual review: 146 cases filed, a 49 percent increase on 2024, total value about QR 1.45 billion, and 95 judgments. The judiciary at the end of 2025 was 16 judges from 10 jurisdictions. The 49 percent is 98 cases to 146. It is a caseload. It is not a salary, and it is not a list of who hired.

The private-practice map of the city is on legal recruitment in Doha. A company hiring a general counsel, rather than a firm hiring a partner, belongs on in-house legal recruitment in Doha. Cash for the partner seat is on the salary pages in the next section but one. Energy and projects chairs, where the book is construction and venture work rather than a funds desk, are briefed on energy and projects lateral partner recruiting.

03 — Portability and covenants

The client paper is with the office. The non-compete is whichever statute employs the partner.

Portability in Doha is two questions, and they are answered from different instruments. The first is whether the client will instruct the new office. The second is whether the partner is allowed to ask. Law No. 23 of 2006 treats advocacy as the lawyer’s profession and, in the Arabic text, times the lawyer’s fee claim and the client’s claim for papers from the end of the retainer. The counterparty the client signed is the office that took the work. A lateral does not carry that retainer. The client signs again, or the matter stays.

The non-compete depends on who employs the partner. An onshore employee is under the Labour Law. The ILO’s English text of Law No. 18 of 2020, issued 30 August 2020, replaces Article 43. A clause that binds the worker to the employer for life, or that bars any occupation for life, is void. Where the work let the worker know the employer’s clients or business secrets, the contract may require the worker, after it ends, not to compete and not to join a competing business in the same economic sector. The obligation is not valid for more than one year. It is null in the cases in Article 51, and it is null if the employer violates Article 61. Qatar News Agency, on 25 June 2026, reported that the Amir had issued Law No. 9 of 2026 amending that Labour Law, and that the Ministry described clearer rules on non-competes, trade secrets and client relationships. The dispatch does not state a duration.

Two readings of the amending law, both dated, supply the duration the dispatch omits. Crowell & Moring, in a client alert dated 30 June 2026, read Law No. 9 of 2026 as raising the maximum from one year to two, removing the same-sector limit, requiring Ministry of Labour approval before a clause is enforced, and making the clause void where employment ends during probation. Dentons, on 6 July 2026, reported that the Amir promulgated the law on 25 June 2026 and read revised Article 43 the same way on the two-year cap. This page does not treat those alerts as the gazette. A hiring committee that needs the operative words reads the Official Gazette text of Article 43, and until that text is in the brief the working assumption is the one both alerts state: two years, Ministry approval, and no clause where the employment ended in probation. The 2020 one-year, same-sector text is what that amendment is described as replacing. It is not safe to keep a 2020 template and call it current.

A partner employed by a QFC entity is not on that statute. Article 2 of the QFC Employment Regulations, Version 8, February 2025, applies the Regulations to employees of QFC entities. Subject to Article 25A, laws of the State on employment do not apply to an employee those Regulations govern. Article 20 is the covenant rule, and it has no one-year or two-year cap. A clause that stops the employee working on similar projects, or for a competitor, must be reasonable, must not be an unreasonable restraint of trade, and must be appropriate to that employment. The parties do not get to write “two years, all of Qatar” and assume Article 20 will carry it.

The Court has already refused that assumption, in a case that is not a law-firm partnership and should not be briefed as one. In Syed Meesam Ali Mousvi v Aegis Services LLC [2021] QIC (F) 16, decided on 15 July 2021, the claimant was a former employee of a QFC company registered as an ISO consultant. Clauses 13.4 to 13.8 stopped him working for a competitor in Qatar for two years after termination and threatened a penalty of USD 500,000. The First Instance Circuit declared those clauses an unreasonable restraint, contrary to Article 20, and void. Confidentiality in clauses 13.1 to 13.3 was a different promise and was not struck. The Court followed Chedid & Associates Qatar LLC re Said Bou Ayash [2015] QIC (A) 2: Qatar is a small country, almost all business sits in Doha, and it is in the public interest that a foreign national who took one job be free to take another when the first ends. Demand for the person’s skills in Doha counted on his side of that balance. A law-firm deed can still be reasonable. A two-year ban on the whole city, backed by a large penalty, is the pattern this judgment voided.

Notice is the third instrument, and it is not the non-compete. Article 49, in the same 2020 ILO text, lets either party end the contract after probation by written notice: one month during the first two years of employment, two months after that. Pay in lieu equals the worker’s basic wage for the notice or the part that was skipped. A foreign worker who leaves the country without honouring that article is not granted a work permit for one year from departure. That permit bar is a mobility fact. It is not a valuation of the book. On the QFC side, Article 23 sets minimum written notice, where the employee has one month of service or more, at two weeks under three months’ service, one month from three months to under five years, and three months at five years or more. The employer pays salary during that notice. The parties may agree a longer or a shorter period, waive notice, or accept payment in lieu. A QFC partner with more than five years’ service is not automatically on a three-month clock if the contract says something else. The brief has to quote the contract.

A partner who is not an employee of either entity is on a fourth paper, the home partnership deed, often English or New York law, plus whichever Doha license the individual holds. Article 2 does not pull that person into the QFC notice table, and Article 43 does not pull that person into the Labour Law, unless the deed or the local contract says so. The scorecard, before any name is discussed, is short.

  • Category of office. Practicing-roll advocacy, ministerial international license, or QFC legal-services entity. A disputes seat that needs both the Qatari courts and the Qatar International Court is two gates.
  • Employing entity. Which company or partnership pays the partner, and which law that contract chooses. QFC entity, onshore employment, or a secondment under a home deed.
  • Client paper. Which matters are in a written retainer with the current office. Those matters move only if the client signs again.
  • Non-compete instrument. Article 43 as amended, including the 2026 readings, if the partner is an onshore employee. Article 20 if the partner is a QFC employee. The home deed if neither employment statute applies.
  • Notice after acceptance. Article 49 if onshore. Article 23 if QFC, including any longer or shorter period the contract already states. The deed’s garden leave if the partner is seconded.

04 — Compensation

The offer is a home-currency point or a local package. The riyal cell is not on this page.

No figure on this page is a 2026 Doha equity-partner salary. The QFC Authority’s August 2026 release counts registered firms. The QICDRC figures count cases, value and judgments. The advocacy law counts who may appear. None of them prints a draw, a point or a guarantee. The only riyal figure in the license file is the 23 August 2021 floor: not less than QAR 15,000 a month for each of at least three full-time lawyers. Using that floor as a partner package understates the seat by the distance between a license condition and an equity point.

A committee that needs the cash comparison uses two pages, and uses them as the compensation record rather than as a second search: law firm partner salary in Dubai, 2026, and law firm partner salary in the UAE, 2026. Both price Gulf seats in the firms’ home currency and in dirhams where a dirham cell exists. Neither is a Doha table. There is no Doha partner-salary page to send the committee to instead. The comparison is labeled as Dubai and UAE so a riyal offer is not quietly converted into a dirham mean.

What this search does price is the product. The equity conversation opens on the firm’s home-currency profit share. The local-partner conversation opens on a salary or a fixed share, with the Doha license written into the paper: QFC employment, ministerial license, or the practicing roll. A counter-offer arrived on 42 percent of the 13 Dubai files. That rate is the share of those Dubai files. It is not a share of compensation, and it is not a measured Doha rate. Median time from written offer to acceptance on that same Dubai line, once the package was the package the committee would actually sign, was 14 working days.

The retained fee is a percentage of whatever the committee lands on. The fee is 25–30 percent of the hire’s total first-year compensation. Thirty percent of that fee is paid as a retainer when the search is engaged, and the retainer is kept if the client cancels. The search is retained only. Completion on the Dubai partner line is 93 percent, beside the 13 closed searches. The 93 percent is that city’s partner book. It is not a Doha completion rate, it is not the firm-wide corporate completion rate, and it is not a promise that the first package was the one that signed.

Across the 250 structured interviews with Dubai partners and counsel, the compensation conversation was denominated in the firm’s home currency more often than in a local scale. The 250 are one cohort, in Dubai. They are not a second count beside the 13, they are not a Doha interview set, and they are not the 1,480,000+ lawyers in the market map. A guarantee that treats a home-currency point as if it were the QAR 15,000 license floor is the package that draws the counter-offer.

Hiring a partner in Doha?

Name the office category, the employing entity, and the covenant that will still be alive.

The letter records the fee and the retainer before any approach.

05 — The move clock

Acceptance ends the search. Notice and the license open the next morning.

The working timeline is 4 to 7 months from signed brief to accepted offer. That window is the Dubai partner line, measured on 13 closed files over three years. It is used here because Doha has no equivalent row. Completion on the line is 93 percent. From written offer to acceptance, the median is 14 working days. A counter-offer arrived on 42 percent of those 13. The 14 days are the offer step. They are not the whole search, and they do not start while the committee is still deciding whether the seat is equity or a local package, or whether the partner must already be able to plead.

After acceptance, the statute or the deed sets the start date. An onshore employee under Article 49 gives one month’s written notice in the first two years and two months after that, unless the party who skips it pays basic wage for the missing notice. A foreign worker who leaves the country without honouring that article is outside the work-permit system for one year from departure. A QFC employee under Article 23 gives at least three months once service has passed five years, unless the contract is longer or shorter, because Article 23 allows either. The employer pays salary through the notice it does require. A seconded partner gets neither article. The partnership deed’s garden leave is then the gap between acceptance and the first day in the new office.

The license gate sits beside the notice, and the offer letter does not control it. Full audience in the Qatari courts is the practicing roll, or a case-by-case ministerial permission with a practicing lawyer alongside, or appearance in a Qatari office’s name after three years in that office. QFC court work is a registration with the Qatar International Court, not that roll. A file that already holds the gate the seat needs can use the 4 to 7 month band. A file that joins both gates can run past it for a reason that has nothing to do with the package. The projects file below did not. It closed inside the band. It is one hypothesis, not a median, and it is not one of the 13.

Clock Base Figure
Signed brief to accepted offer Dubai partner line, 13 searches, three years. Not a Doha count. 4 to 7 months
Written offer to acceptance Those 13 14 working days, median
Counter-offer Share of those 13 42 percent
Completion Dubai partner line, beside the 13 93 percent
Onshore notice Article 49, Law No. 18 of 2020 One month, then two months after two years
QFC notice, five years’ service or more Article 23(2)(C), QFC Employment Regulations, February 2025 Three months minimum, unless the contract differs
Onshore non-compete, 2020 text Article 43, Law No. 18 of 2020 One year, same economic sector
Onshore non-compete, 2026 reading Crowell, 30 June 2026, and Dentons, 6 July 2026, on Law No. 9 of 2026 Two years, and Ministry of Labour approval in the Crowell reading

The 14 working days sit inside the 4 to 7 months. Notice, garden leave and the audience gate run after acceptance. A Doha file is measured against this table. It does not add a row of its own until a Doha count exists.

06 — How a search runs

The same six steps. The Doha work is which contract, and which license, the partner is on.

  1. 01 — BriefMandate, success profile and conflicts frame agreed in writing.
  2. 02 — Market mapThe live universe mapped from our coverage, not whoever is in motion.
  3. 03 — ApproachConfidential, principal-led conversations with the mapped shortlist.
  4. 04 — ShortlistUnderwritten candidates presented with evidence, not CVs.
  5. 05 — OfferPackage design, references and counter-offer defence.
  6. 06 — CloseResignation, notice and the first hundred days, managed.

The brief names the category of office, the practice, and whether the seat is equity or a local package. It names the employing entity and the law of the contract the likely candidates are on. It names whether Qatari-court audience, Qatar International Court rights, or neither must already be held. It names the non-compete that will still be alive on the resignation date: the 2026 reading of Article 43 if the partner is an onshore employee, Article 20 if the partner is a QFC employee, or the deed if neither applies. Conflicts are checked before outreach. The approach stays blind until both sides want a conversation. The fee letter goes out with that page.

The research program maps 1,480,000+ lawyers. The Dubai partner interviews are the 250. They are not relabeled as Doha interviews. For this brief the shortlist is drawn against the gate the seat actually needs, not against a headcount of the 13. A group move, rather than one partner, is team lift-out recruiting. The associates under the partner are associate recruiting. The offer is then built against the two salary pages, against the notice the contract actually contains, and against the license status before anyone resigns.

07 — One file, outside the 13

A QFC projects seat closed inside the band. It is not a Doha median.

The band of 4 to 7 months, and the median of 14 working days, stay the Dubai line of 13. The file below is a Doha hypothesis. Month 6 sits inside the band. It does not reset the band, and it is not one of the 13.

DOHA · ANONYMISED HYPOTHESIS NOT INSIDE THE 13

Projects and construction, international firm, Qatar Financial Centre

QFC employment · Article 20, not Article 43 · written counter-offer · not one of the 13

Mandate
A projects partner for an international firm’s QFC entity. English-language construction contracts. No requirement to plead in the Qatari courts.
Complication
The incumbent put a written counter-offer on the table. The Dubai line records a counter on 42 percent of 13 files. This file is not in that denominator. It is a separate Doha hypothesis in which a counter arrived.
Outcome
Accepted offer in month 6, inside the 4 to 7 month band. The partner was already a QFC employee, so Article 23 notice, not Article 49, set the start. The managing partner later said: The projects partner we needed was already in another QFC firm. The counter arrived in writing. The search still closed in month 6.

08 — Sources

What each figure is allowed to prove.

›14 sources cited on this page
  1. 1 Sartori & Partners — firm record Founded early 2017 by Lorenzo Sartori. Dubai hub opened 2021. Doha searches are run from that Gulf coverage. There is no Doha office. Retained only. Fee 25–30 percent of first-year total compensation. Retainer is 30 percent of the fee, kept if the client cancels. Partner-side record: 2,600+ partner conversations, not expanded and not a Doha or Dubai closed-search count. Market map 1,480,000+ lawyers.
  2. 2 Sartori & Partners — Dubai partner line, used here because Doha has no published row Nearest partner-line constants, marked for replacement, and not a Doha tally: 5 years in market; 13 closed partner searches over three years; counter-offer incidence 42 percent; median 14 working days from offer to acceptance; completion 93 percent; typical timeline 4 to 7 months; one interview cohort of 250 structured interviews with Dubai partners and counsel. The Doha projects file, month 6, is a separate hypothesis and is not one of the 13.
  3. 3 Qatar News Agency — Law No. 9 of 2026, 25 June 2026 Ministry of Labour statement, Doha, 25 June 2026: the Amir issued Law No. 9 of 2026 amending Labour Law No. 14 of 2004. The Ministry said the reforms set clearer rules on non-compete clauses, balancing professional mobility with employers’ legitimate interests, trade secrets and client relationships. The dispatch does not state the year cap or a Ministry approval step.
  4. 4 Crowell & Moring — client alert, 30 June 2026 Reading of Law No. 9 of 2026, not the gazette text: the maximum post-termination non-compete rises from one year to two, the sector-specific limit in the 2020 text is removed, a clause is enforced only after Ministry of Labour approval, and a non-compete is void where employment ends during probation. Further guidance on the approval was still expected.
  5. 5 Dentons — client alert, 6 July 2026 The Amir promulgated Law No. 9 of 2026 on 25 June 2026. Dentons reads revised Article 43 as allowing a non-compete where the employee had access to clients or confidential information, for a duration that may not exceed two years, and flags contracts that end during probation.
  6. 6 ILO — English text of Law No. 18 of 2020 Unofficial English translation. Issued 30 August 2020. Replaces Article 43: a lifetime non-compete is void; where the work let the worker know the employer’s clients or business secrets, the contract may bar competition or a competing business in the same economic sector for not more than one year; the clause is null in the cases in Article 51, or if the employer violates Article 61. Replaces Article 49: after probation, notice is one month during the first two years of employment and two months after that; pay in lieu equals basic wage for the notice or the remainder. A foreign worker who leaves without honouring Article 49 is not granted a work permit for one year from departure.
  7. 7 QFC Employment Regulations, Version 8, February 2025 Employment Regulations No. 8 of 2025, made 14 January 2025, commenced 20 February 2025. Article 2: the Regulations apply to employees of QFC entities, QFC institutions, and the QFC authorities and courts. Subject to Article 25A, State employment laws do not apply to an employee governed by these Regulations. Article 20: a clause barring similar projects or work for a competitor must be reasonable, must not be an unreasonable restraint of trade, and must be appropriate to the employment. Article 23: where employed one month or more, minimum written notice is two weeks under three months’ service, one month from three months to under five years, and three months at five years or more. The parties may agree a longer or shorter period, waive notice, or accept payment in lieu. Salary is paid during notice.
  8. 8 Syed Meesam Ali Mousvi v Aegis Services LLC [2021] QIC (F) 16 Qatar International Court, First Instance Circuit, 15 July 2021. An employment contract with a QFC ISO consultancy, not a law-firm partnership deed. Clauses 13.4 to 13.8, a two-year ban on working for a competitor in Qatar and a USD 500,000 penalty, declared an unreasonable restraint of trade, contrary to Article 20, and void. The Court relied on Chedid & Associates Qatar LLC re Said Bou Ayash [2015] QIC (A) 2: Qatar is a small country, business is concentrated in Doha, and it is in the public interest that a foreign national be free to take another job when the first employment ends. Confidentiality clauses 13.1 to 13.3 were left in place.
  9. 9 QFC Authority — firm registrations, H1 2026, 24 August 2026 Registrations up 37 percent on the first half of 2025. 1,135 firms onboarded in the half. Over 4,700 registered firms at the end of June 2026. New firms included Consulting and Professional Services, 166. Technology and Innovation 544, Media and Entertainment 173, Wealth 84, Fintech 65. These are platform registrations, not a count of law firms or of partners.
  10. 10 QICDRC — Annual Review 2024 98 cases filed in 2024. 93 judgments issued in 2024. The review’s statistical note: total case value rose from QAR 947 million in 2023 to QAR 1.47 billion in 2024.
  11. 11 Gulf Times — QICDRC 2025 caseload, 19 September 2026 Ayman Adly, reporting the QICDRC 2025 Annual Review: 146 cases filed in 2025, a 49 percent increase on 2024. Total value about QR 1.45 billion, down about 1.36 percent from QR 1.47 billion in 2024. 95 judgments, up 2.15 percent. Judiciary at the end of 2025: 16 judges from 10 jurisdictions. The Court’s own media index, when checked, still listed the 2024 review as the latest download. The 2025 counts are cited from this report of the review.
  12. 12 QFCA — Providing Legal Services in the QFC, signed note DocuSign envelope dated in the file name 23 August 2021. A Qatari-owned law firm may not be licensed in the QFC unless the QFC entity is a joint venture with an international law firm and the name includes that firm. An international firm must be ranked by Legal 500, Chambers and Partners, or a similar publication the Authority accepts; must conduct the majority of its operations from Doha; must employ at least three full-time lawyers permanently based in Doha, each paid not less than QAR 15,000 a month; and must provide at least 8 square meters per employee. License conditions. Not a 2026 partner salary, and not a ranking adopted on this page.
  13. 13 Al Meezan — Law No. 23 of 2006, advocacy English portal text. Article 3: only lawyers practice; practice includes representation, legal opinions and the drafting of contracts. Article 13: entry on the practicing roll requires Qatari citizenship, or GCC citizenship with reciprocity and committee approval.
  14. 14 Supreme Judiciary Council library — Law No. 23 of 2006, Arabic text The Minister may license international law offices with specialist experience to do the professional work the license specifies. The license is for five years and is renewable. A non-Qatari lawyer licensed at home may seek ministerial permission to plead in a specific case before the Qatari courts without being on the roll, and a practicing lawyer must take part. A non-Qatari lawyer employed in a Qatari office may appear in the office’s name before the bodies in Article 3 if licensed at home and if at least three years have passed since joining that office.

09 — Questions

Lateral partner recruiting in Doha

What is lateral partner recruiting Doha?

Lateral partner recruiting Doha is a retained search for a law firm that needs a partner the Doha office does not already have. No Doha closed-search count is published. The clock used on this page is the Dubai partner line: 13 searches over three years, 4 to 7 months, and 14 working days from offer to acceptance. A QFC-licensed international firm in Doha hired a projects partner in month 6. The parent practice is lateral partner recruiting. The city hub is legal recruitment in Doha.

Which firms hire a partner in Doha?

Three categories, with no ranking among them. A Qatari advocacy office on the practicing roll under Law No. 23 of 2006. An international office the Minister of Justice licenses for specified work, for five years, renewable. A Qatar Financial Centre legal-services entity: the Authority’s 23 August 2021 note requires an international firm, or a Qatari firm only in joint venture with one, at least three full-time lawyers in Doha, and a salary of at least QAR 15,000 for each of those lawyers. The Qatar Financial Centre, on 24 August 2026, reported over 4,700 registered firms at the end of June 2026. That figure is every activity on the platform, not a census of law firms.

Can a departing Doha partner take the book?

The written client relationship sits with the office that holds it, and the non-compete is the instrument that actually employs the partner. For an onshore employee, the ILO English text of Law No. 18 of 2020, Article 43, caps the clause at one year and limits it to the same economic sector. Crowell & Moring, on 30 June 2026, read Law No. 9 of 2026 as raising that cap to two years, removing the sector limit, and requiring Ministry of Labour approval. A partner employed by a QFC entity is under Article 20 of the QFC Employment Regulations, not under that statute. In Syed Meesam Ali Mousvi v Aegis Services LLC [2021] QIC (F) 16, the Court voided a two-year Qatar-wide clause. That file was an ISO consultancy, not a law-firm partnership.

How long does a Doha partner move take?

The clock on this page is the Dubai partner line: 4 to 7 months from signed brief to accepted offer, 14 working days from offer to acceptance, and 93 percent completion, on 13 closed searches over three years. Those figures are not a Doha tally. After acceptance, onshore notice under Article 49 of Law No. 18 of 2020 is one month in the first two years and two months after that. A QFC employee’s minimum notice under Article 23 is two weeks, one month, or three months by length of service, and the parties may agree a different period. The projects file below closed in month 6.

What should a Doha partner offer be priced against?

No official 2026 release prints a Qatari equity-partner draw. The QAR 15,000 figure in the QFC Authority note of 23 August 2021 is a license floor for each of at least three lawyers, not a partner package. Home-currency profit per equity partner, or a local-partner package, is the instrument. The comparison is on law firm partner salary in Dubai, 2026 and law firm partner salary in the UAE, 2026. The fee is 25–30 percent of total first-year compensation. Thirty percent of that fee is the retainer, kept if the client cancels.

When do legal recruiters for partners Doha get instructed?

Legal recruiters for partners Doha are instructed when the hiring partner needs a name the office does not already have, and the brief can say which category of firm is hiring and which covenant will still be alive on the resignation date. Sartori & Partners has held 2,600+ partner conversations firm-wide. That count is not a Doha book, and it is not the Dubai line of 13. A partner weighing a move, rather than a firm hiring one, starts at the partner advisory.

10 — Related

The pages that sit next to this search.

Hiring a partner in Doha?

Brief the office category, the covenant, and the license.

Whether you are building a team or weighing a move, we listen first. No obligation.