Salary · HFW 2026

HFW salary 2026: £103,500 versus the London seat

On 4 July 2025 HFW set London newly qualified pay at £103,500. This page reads that cell against the shipping and insurance disputes seat it actually buys, and against the general counsel who either instructs it or matches it.

Hire legal talent Associate recruiting
01 Start here

Pay versus the seat, year in every cell.

On 4 July 2025 HFW moved London newly qualified pay from £100,000 to £103,500. That HFW nq salary is the only associate cash cell the firm will put on the record, and it buys a shipping and insurance disputes seat in a city where Sartori maps 30,000 lawyers.

Lens 01 · The book The cash buys a disputes seat, not a generalist ladder.

HFW stated on 23 June 2026 that disputes work accounts for over 70 percent of the book. The NQ is priced against that mix: charterparty, cargo, casualty, marine insurance and commodities files, not a Magic Circle corporate seat. Pay the seat, not the peer-set average.

The public cell is one number. The seat, the hours, the directory label and the company path are four different reads of it. The perimeter is broken out below.

£103,500
HFW London NQ base, effective 4 July 2025From £100,000; 3.5 percent; base only, not bonus
Legal Cheek; Law360 UK; RollOnFriday, 4 July 2025
£779,000
Profit per equity partner, year ended 31 March 2026Down 6 percent from £828,000; average, not a draw
Legal Business, 15 July 2026
£57.9bn
Lloyd's GWP, calendar 2025Price fell 3.7 percent; volume rose 10.3 percent
Lloyd's full-year results, 19 March 2026
2,015
LMAA estimated references, 2025Highest annual figure in more than a decade
LMAA, 8 April 2026; HFW, 28 July 2026
02 The 2026 cells

Three published numbers. One missing ladder.

HFW will put trainee cash, NQ cash and profit per equity partner on the record. It will not put a 1-to-6 PQE associate scale next to them, and it will not put a bonus quantum next to the NQ.

Holman Fenwick Willan LLP, Companies House number OC343361, files from 8 Bishopsgate. The 2026 pay conversation at that address has three public cells and a hole. Legal Cheek reported on 4 July 2025 that London newly qualified pay moved from £100,000 to £103,500, a 3.5 percent rise effective immediately; Law360 UK recorded the same London office figure that day as £103,500 ($141,220); RollOnFriday dated the hike from the start of July 2025. The Legal Cheek 2026 profile sitting under that announcement lists first-year trainee pay at £52,000, second-year at £56,000, a PGDL grant of £18,000 and an SQE grant of £18,000. Those are the junior rungs. They are not an associate scale.

The partner cell is profit per equity partner, not a lockstep. Legal Business, on 15 July 2026, put revenue at £276.2 million for the year ended 31 March 2026, up 2 percent from £270.8 million, profit at £72.6 million, down 5.9 percent from £77.2 million, and PEP at £779,000, down 6 percent from £828,000. The prior-year pair, from Legal Business on 7 July 2025, was revenue of £270.8 million, up 8 percent, and PEP of £828,000. Companies House still shows last accounts made up to 31 March 2025, with the 31 March 2026 accounts due by 31 December 2026: the FY26 PEP cell is a press figure until that filing. Legal Cheek’s 2026 profile adds that London topped £110 million, that non-UK revenue is almost 60 percent of turnover, that Continental Europe was up 9 percent in 2026, and that since 2023 revenue is up 39 percent, net profit 33 percent, PEP 16 percent and revenue per lawyer 13 percent, with nearly 60 lateral partners in that window and 14 in the last year.

What is missing is the thing most general counsel actually need when they price a 3-to-6 PQE hire. RollOnFriday, on 4 July 2025, recorded that when asked, HFW would not reveal any salary details for associates other than NQ. Legal Cheek’s money box lists trainee, NQ and PEP only. A company that needs a mid-level shipping or insurance lawyer is not looking at a published ladder; it is looking at a single public cell and a partnership that will not put the next one on paper.

Published London NQ bases on one axis, 2025-2026, with the year of each cell in the source line. The shaded band is the shipping and insurance peer cluster, not a national average. Magic Circle and Quinn Emanuel sit outside that cluster on purpose.
shipping and insurance peer NQ band
£80k£200k

Clyde & Co London NQ (2026 profile)

Legal Cheek's 29 September 2025 table had Clyde at £85,000. The 2026 profile cell is £90,000. Different years, both dated.

Legal Cheek Clyde & Co profile, 2026 ↗
Published London newly qualified bases and, where the same sources disclose them, hours targets and profit per equity partner. The NQ-cell date sits in the last column so a 2025 snapshot is not read as a 2026 profile. Magic Circle and Quinn Emanuel are comparators outside the shipping and insurance peer set.
Firm London NQ Hours target PEP NQ cell date
Quinn Emanuel (US litigation comparator) £189,000 Not a UK training-contract scale Not in this table 5 June 2026; scale from 1 July 2026
Magic Circle (five-firm band) £150,000 Not a single published target Not a single PEP cell 29 September 2025
Watson Farley & Williams £107,000 850 ~£570,000 2026 Firms Most List
Stephenson Harwood £105,000 Not disclosed in the sources opened Not disclosed in the sources opened 29 September 2025
HFW £103,500 1,250 £779,000 4 July 2025 (NQ); YE 31 March 2026 (PEP)
Bird & Bird £102,000 Not disclosed in the sources opened Not disclosed in the sources opened 29 September 2025
Clyde & Co (London) £90,000 No hours target published £739,000 last disclosed 2026 profile (NQ); September 2025 table had £85,000

HFW’s £103,500 is £3,500 below Watson Farley, £1,500 below Stephenson Harwood’s 29 September 2025 cell, and £13,500 above Clyde’s 2026 London profile. It is not the 29 September 2025 all-firm average of £118,756, and it is not the US-London club then paying more than £170,000 at 18 outfits. Year stays in the cell.

Three published numbers. One missing ladder.
On the published table
03 The perimeter

What HFW nq salary actually buys.

The pounds are a London insurance-marketplace and maritime-disputes number. They are not a national NQ number that happens to be paid at 8 Bishopsgate.

Start with the book, because the cash is priced against it. HFW’s own About page describes 700 lawyers across 22 offices in six named sectors: aerospace, commodities, construction, energy, insurance and shipping. The London office page puts more than 250 lawyers in the City across dispute resolution, regulatory including investigations and white-collar defense, finance, corporate and commercial, fraud and insolvency, and employment. The firm’s Commercial Litigation Case Update Edition 1 / 2026, dated 23 June 2026, restates “over 700 lawyers” worldwide and says disputes work accounts for over 70 percent of total business. The shipping page puts over 220 maritime lawyers and a substantial group of Master Mariners on that bench. Chambers’ UK 2026 firm profile records 700 lawyers, 190 partners and 22 offices. Those are headcount bands, not a single census, and they are not a salary scale.

Chambers UK 2026, released by HFW on 17 October 2025 as 18 practice rankings, puts the firm in Band 1 for Shipping, Transport: Logistics, Commodities: Physicals and Aviation. Insurance: Mainly Policyholders is Band 2. Insurance: Contentious Claims & Reinsurance is Band 3. Insurance: Non-contentious is Band 4. Legal 500 UK 2025-26, released by the firm on 2 October 2025, puts Shipping, Aviation and Commodities Disputes in Tier 1 and the insurance litigation and regulatory labels in Tier 2. The NQ who earns £103,500 is, on the default read, a shipping or commodities disputes solicitor. The insurance NQ is real and hired; it is not the Band 1 label.

The market those desks sit beside is still large even as prices softened. Lloyd’s, on 19 March 2026, reported calendar-2025 gross written premium of £57.9 billion, up 4.2 percent from £55.5 billion, an underwriting result of £5.2 billion, a combined ratio of 87.6 percent, profit before tax of £10.6 billion, and capital, reserves and subordinated loan notes of £49.8 billion. Volume rose 10.3 percent; price fell 3.7 percent. The International Underwriting Association, on 16 September 2025, put the 2024 London company market at £49.273 billion and, combined with Lloyd’s 2024 GWP of £55.546 billion, a London Market total of £104.819 billion. Marine was 13 percent of the London-written company market. IUMI, on 8 September 2025, put the 2024 global marine insurance premium base at USD 39.92 billion, with the UK holding 67.33 percent of the offshore-energy line. A general counsel at a hull underwriter, a cargo account, a war-risk line or an MGA is buying and selling inside that premium. The HFW NQ is one of the external-counsel units that premium pays for.

London Market premium, data year 2024: the company market, Lloyd's, and the combined total the IUA published on 16 September 2025. Lloyd's 2025 GWP is a different year and sits in the StatGrid above, not here.

International Underwriting Association, 16 September 2025 (data year 2024).

The disputes series that actually feeds the shipping NQ is not a premium table. The London Maritime Arbitrators Association, on 8 April 2026, recorded 3,469 appointments on LMAA Terms and Procedures in 2025, an estimated 2,015 references, and 563 awards, of which 83 followed oral hearings. The official time series puts 2024 at 1,733 estimated references and 3,006 appointments, and 2023 at 1,845 references and 3,268 appointments. HFW’s seventh Maritime Arbitration in Numbers, published 28 July 2026, restates 2,015 as a 16 percent rise on 2024 and a 9 percent rise on 2023, and calls it the highest annual reference figure the LMAA has recorded in more than a decade. Lloyd’s List reported the same 2,015 figure on 29 July 2026. LMAA’s own methodology page says the figures understate the complete count because LMAA is an association, not an administering institution. Singapore and Hong Kong appear in that HFW report as parallel seats that kept momentum; they are named here for contrast, not explained.

The court series sits beside the arbitration series. The Commercial Court Report 2024–2025, published by the Judiciary in February 2026, records 1,140 new claims across the Commercial Court, the Admiralty Court and the London Circuit Commercial Court, a 4 percent decrease from 1,192 in the volumes chapter. Commercial Court new claims were 609 (from 743); the London Circuit Commercial Court 432 (from 339); the Admiralty Court 77 (from 92). Insurance and reinsurance accounted for 33 Commercial Court claims, 5 percent of that list and sixth in rank, down from being the largest category in 2022–2023 at 21 percent — the report states the Covid and Ukraine insurance spike has receded. LCCC shipping–cargo claims were 68, from 41. Arbitration was about 30 percent of Commercial Court claims. A Practice Note of 8 June 2025 raised the general lower limit to £7 million in the Commercial Court and £1 million in the LCCC. The Arbitration Act 2025 came into force on 1 August 2025. HFW’s London page claims the firm handles more English Commercial Court commercial litigation than any other firm, citing unnamed independent data; the judiciary report does not rank firms, and that claim is not treated here as a court statistic.

Under the files sits seaborne trade. UNCTAD’s Review of Maritime Transport 2025, published 24 September 2025, put 2024 seaborne trade at 12,720 million tons, up 2.2 percent in volume and 5.9 percent in ton-miles, with Suez Canal transits around 70 percent below 2023 average tonnage. That is a tonnes-and-miles fact, not a legal-fee fact. It is the cargo that still produces the charterparty, the bill of lading, the general average, the war-risk notice and the casualty that a London NQ on this desk is paid £103,500 to learn.

Dry fileMarketplace file

  1. Charterparty and cargo Bills of lading, COAs, laytime, demurrage, arrest. The dry-shipping NQ. English Commercial Court, LCCC cargo, LMAA.
  2. Casualty and marine insurance Collision, salvage, hull, P&I, war and cargo. The wet seat, often with Master Mariners on the same floor.
  3. Lloyd’s and company market Policyholders, Part VII, MGAs, brokers, run-off. The insurance NQ, Band 2 to Band 4, not the Band 1 shipping default.
04 Who pays

The NQ earns it. The partnership sets it. The general counsel either instructs it or matches it.

Two readers, one cell. The associate wants to know whether £103,500 is the right number for this seat. The general counsel wants to know whether to spend it as external counsel or to put it on the payroll.

Sartori has worked the London associate market for more than 10 years. Over the trailing three years the London associate desk closed 33 searches at a 93 percent completion rate, on a typical 6-to-12-week timeline, with counter-offer incidence at 35 percent and a median of 12 working days from offer to signature. Of those 33 closed files, 11 were shipping, marine-insurance, commodities-disputes or aviation seats at sector-focused international LLPs — the HFW-peer perimeter. A further 8 were company-side claims, coverage or charterparty seats at P&I clubs, shipowners, underwriters, brokers and traders. The rest of the 33 sat in other London associate practices and are not the subject of this page.

Inside the same London interview cohort, over a 24-month window, 68 respondents sat as general counsel, heads of legal or claims directors at owners, clubs, underwriters, brokers and commodity traders. Forty-one of that 68 said they use the published NQ cell as a check on panel invoices for junior time, not as an in-house salary budget. Nineteen of that 68 said they would match the cell to hire a claims or coverage solicitor from the same pool. The remaining 8 had tried to harvest the lawyer through a client secondment and had not: Legal Cheek’s HFW survey records a 0 percent chance of a client secondment, against an 18 percent chance at Clyde & Co, so the conversion is a later lateral, not a programmed year out.

A general counsel at a London International Group P&I club told us they match the shipping-desk NQ, not Magic Circle cash, because the file is the same wet file. A head of legal at a dry-bulk owner told us the published cell is “the number I use when the panel invoices junior time.” Those are two different uses of one public figure, and they are the two uses this page is for.

The credential under the cell is SRA admission, not a separate maritime ticket. The Solicitors Regulation Authority’s SQE Q&A, updated 28 January 2026, still requires a degree or equivalent, SQE1 and SQE2, two years’ qualifying work experience, and character and suitability; the LPC transitional route remains open until 31 December 2032 for those who met the 1 September 2021 conditions. HFW’s own early-careers pages advertise tailored SQE courses and international secondments, not client secondments. Wet casualty work adds a Master Mariner ticket on the same floor; the marine-insurance page publishes a Senior Associate (Australian Qualified) title, which is a dual-qualification gate, not a pay cell. Insurance transactional work adds PRA and FCA literacy and Lloyd’s entity work, including Part VII transfers, which a dry-shipping NQ may never see.

Who earns the cellWho pays it

  1. The NQ and the associate A sector-firm disputes seat in London. The published cash is NQ. Mid-PQE is a conversation, not a table.
  2. The partnership Sets the £103,500 cell and the PEP cell. Refuses, on the 2025 record, to publish the rungs between them.
  3. The company general counsel Instructs the seat as external spend, or matches it later as in-house claims, coverage or charterparty counsel.
Chambers UK 2026 practice labels that actually hire beside this NQ cell. Band is a directory rank, not a salary. Clyde & Co and Kennedys are named only as the Band 1 insurance comparators on the same table.
Desk HFW, Chambers UK 2026 Who sits opposite the NQ
Shipping (UK-wide) Band 1 Owners, charterers, salvors, cargo interests, P&I clubs, insurers
Transport: Logistics Band 1 3PL/4PL operators, retailers, freight interests
Commodities: Physicals Band 1 Traders, producers, trade-finance banks, governments
Aviation Band 1 Airlines, lessors, airports, all-risks insurers
Insurance: Mainly Policyholders Band 2 Insureds buying coverage advice, not the factory side
Insurance: Contentious Claims & Reinsurance Band 3 (Clyde & Co and Kennedys are Band 1) Insurers, reinsurers, brokers; a Band 3 desk in a Band 1 shipping firm
Insurance: Non-contentious Band 4 Insurers, reinsurers, Lloyd’s entities, MGAs, insurtech, Part VII vehicles

Your decision is whether £103,500 is external spend or a payroll number. The company-side seats we closed in London were priced as the second, not the first.

  • Read the cell as a unit cost. If junior time on a wet file is invoiced above this cash, the question is leverage, not prestige.
  • Match it for claims counsel, not for a first GC. The Corporation of Lloyd’s general counsel seat, announced 19 February 2024, is a different grade: a marketplace operator with more than 50 leading insurance companies, over 380 registered brokers and 4,000-plus coverholders behind it.
  • Do not wait for a secondment. HFW’s surveyed client-secondment chance is 0 percent. If you want the lawyer in-house, you hire them later from the same pool.
  • Budget the counter-offer. London associate counter-offer incidence on this desk is 35 percent. Clubs and owners defend a claims solicitor they already trained on their files.
  • Ask the wet-work question in the first call. Shipping on a CV is not casualty file time. The mapping records the label; the claims director records the file.

Your published number is £103,500. Your unpublished number is everything above it. Associates on this perimeter describe a money box that stops at NQ and resumes at equity.

  • Price the seat, not Magic Circle. A Band 1 shipping NQ is not a £150,000 corporate NQ, and it is not a £189,000 US-litigation NQ. The hours target is 1,250, not Watson Farley’s 850.
  • Do not infer a 4-PQE band from the NQ. A Caribbean 4-PQE posting is the wrong geography for a London ladder, and a business-services vacancy is not a shipping cell.
  • The in-house step is a later lateral. P&I and FD&D claims titles on club people pages — Senior Claims Executive, Claims Manager & Solicitor, Chief Claims Officer — recapture this pool. They are not a secondment year.
  • Retention is not a raise. 100 percent latest trainee retention means the NQ class stayed. It does not disclose what the class of 2023 is paid.
  • Ask for the bonus in pounds. The 2025 on-record sentence is not a number. If the offer letter does not quantify it, it is not part of the cell.
The number I use when the panel invoices junior time.
On how a dry-bulk head of legal uses the cell
05 How companies use it

Instruct it, match it, or stop pretending the mid-PQE band exists.

A general counsel who treats the HFW NQ as a prestige marker will overpay the panel or under-price the hire. A general counsel who treats it as a dated unit cost will do neither.

We have closed enough of these files to know which of those three moves the company actually makes. Of the 11 sector-firm associate mandates inside the 33, 4 drew a counter-offer — a subset of the 35 percent London associate counter-offer rate, not a second rate. Three of those 11 ran past the 12-week end of our typical window because the hiring committee would not put a mid-PQE number on paper against a published NQ-only table. Sartori did not close those three faster than the missing cell allowed. That is the finding that cuts against us: when the partnership will not price the seat, we do not invent the price, and the search waits.

Three files from that London associate desk, described by employer type only:

  • A P&I club claims solicitor. An International Group club in London needed a solicitor who could run FD&D and a wet casualty without sending every collision to the panel. Brief to offer: 9 weeks, inside the 6-to-12-week window. The complication was credential, not cash: two candidates had shipping on the CV and no casualty file. The hire came off a Band 1 shipping desk at NQ-plus, matched to the published HFW cell rather than to Magic Circle. The club’s general counsel had already been using that cell as an invoice check.
  • A marine-insurance senior associate at a sector LLP. The firm wanted to replace a departing senior associate on hull and cargo. There was no published band. The search ran 14 weeks. It closed only after the partnership approved a spot number above the NQ cell, in writing, for one candidate. Until that paper existed, every shortlist conversation collapsed into “something above £103,500.” Something is not a mandate.
  • A dry-bulk owner in-house charterparty counsel. The head of legal wanted the work off the panel for the repetitive COA and demurrage files and on payroll for the ones that go to LMAA. Eight weeks to offer. A counter-offer arrived from the current firm inside the 35 percent incidence. Signature in 12 working days, the London associate median. The cash the company matched was the published NQ cell, not a PEP-derived proxy.

What those three files share is a dated public number the company can point at. What they do not share is a published 4-PQE rung. The live HFW vacancies page, as accessed in 2026, is honest about that absence in a different way: the titles on it were a London Senior Risk Lawyer and a Head of Financial Crime, both posted 28 August 2026, and a British Virgin Islands litigation associate at about 4 years’ PQE, posted 12 August 2026. The NQ and shipping senior-associate vacancies cycle on and off that URL. A general counsel who reverse-engineers a London mid-PQE band from a BVI 4-PQE posting is reading the wrong geography.

The Corporation of Lloyd’s is the other company-side pole, and it is not a claims-solicitor grade. The 19 February 2024 announcement of a new general counsel for the Corporation described an independent organization and regulator behind more than 50 leading insurance companies, over 380 registered Lloyd’s brokers and 4,000-plus coverholders. That seat is a marketplace operator. It is named here so a head of legal at a managing agent does not confuse it with the claims manager they are actually trying to hire.

Profit per equity partner, where the same public sources disclose a cell. HFW is the FY26 press figure (year ended 31 March 2026). Clyde is last disclosed. Watson Farley is the 2026 profile approximation. PEP is not NQ, and it is not in-house cash.

Legal Business, 15 July 2026 (HFW); Legal Cheek profiles (Clyde & Co; Watson Farley & Williams).

06 What the table hides

The mapping sees admission. It does not see the casualty.

A page that only repeated the £103,500 cell would be a scrape of Legal Cheek. The part that does not Google is where that cell fails as a hiring instrument.

Sartori & Partners runs a continuous research program over nearly 1.5 million lawyer profiles mapped globally, with quarterly market surveys running since 2019. The London file is dense on admission, employer and practice label. It is thin on the thing that actually prices a wet seat. We do not have a public register of who has run a collision, a salvage, a war-risk detention or an LMAA reference. Two of the 8 company-side shortlists inside the 33 closed London associate searches had to be rebuilt after a claims director rejected shipping CVs that had never seen a casualty. That rebuild is on us: we screened on the label the mapping holds, and the buyer screened on the file the mapping cannot see.

The same gap sits on the firm side. Sixty-one of 94 shipping, insurance and commodities associates, interviewed over 24 months inside that London cohort, said their firm publishes NQ cash and nothing above it. They are not all HFW associates; they are the perimeter this cell lives in. When a partnership then asks us to fill a fifth-year marine-insurance seat against that silence, the search is not a scale-match. It is a negotiation about whether the firm will write a number down. A company hiring in-house from the same pool at least has a budget line. A firm that will not create one is asking the market to guess.

Hours are the other unpublished conversation hiding in a published target. HFW’s 1,250-hour target, next to Watson Farley’s 850 and Clyde & Co’s published absence of a target, is a different hours-for-cash bargain than the NQ table implies. Legal Cheek’s 2026-27 Trainee and Junior Lawyer Survey of over 2,000 trainees and junior associates put HFW’s average start at 09:04 and finish at 18:52. That clock is not a timesheet, and it is not a bonus. It is the only dated hours texture sitting next to the £103,500 cell. UK female associates at 53 percent and UK female partners at 18 percent, from the same 2026 profile, are a partnership fact, not a pay fact; they are recorded so a head of talent does not confuse a diversity cell with a salary cell.

During the first senior-partner term the firm opened Brisbane and Shenzhen, added 69 new partners around the world, and increased annual revenue by more than 20 percent; the re-election, announced 24 March 2026, took effect on 1 April 2026, the start of FY27. That is growth texture around the PEP cell, not a reason to treat PEP as what an NQ earns. PEP fell 6 percent in FY26 while the NQ cell rose 3.5 percent the previous July. A general counsel who indexes an in-house offer to last year’s PEP is using the wrong cell. A newly qualified solicitor who indexes a counter-offer to last year’s PEP is making the same mistake from the other side of the table.

The service view of London associate hiring, with the brief-to-close process, sits on our associate recruiting page. The company-side conversion sits on in-house counsel recruiting and on the London legal recruiters page. The wider cash maps are the London associate salary benchmark and the London in-house counsel salary benchmark. None of those pages owns this HFW cell. This one does.

On the recordOff the record

  1. Trainee and NQ cash Published, dated, comparable. The only associate numbers a company can point at without a conversation.
  2. Mid-PQE and bonus Asserted, refused, or anecdotal. A general counsel who needs this rung has to make the firm write it down.
  3. Equity PEP Published as an average on the equity pool. Not a lockstep, not salaried-partner pay, not an in-house proxy.

HFW salary 2026: questions from both sides of the cell

What is HFW nq salary in 2026?

£103,500 for a London newly qualified solicitor, effective 4 July 2025, as reported by Legal Cheek. Law360 UK recorded the same London office figure that day as £103,500 ($141,220). The cell is base salary, not total cash, not a bonus, and not a regional-office number. HFW did not publish a 1-to-6 PQE associate ladder beside it.

Does HFW publish an associate salary scale above NQ?

No. On 4 July 2025 RollOnFriday recorded an on-record refusal: HFW would not reveal any salary details for associates other than NQ. Legal Cheek's 2026 money box lists trainee cash, the NQ cell and profit per equity partner only. A 1-to-6 PQE band would be an estimate.

What is HFW partner pay in 2026?

Profit per equity partner was £779,000 for the year ended 31 March 2026, down 6 percent from £828,000, Legal Business reported on 15 July 2026. That is an average on the equity pool, not a lockstep draw and not salaried-partner pay. Revenue for the same year was £276.2 million; London exceeded £110 million.

How does HFW NQ pay compare with Magic Circle and shipping peers?

HFW's £103,500 sits £3,500 below Watson Farley's £107,000 and £46,500 below Magic Circle's £150,000. Legal Cheek's 29 September 2025 table put the all-firm NQ average at £118,756 and counted 18 US London outfits then paying more than £170,000. Quinn Emanuel's London NQ moved to £189,000 from 1 July 2026. HFW prices a shipping and insurance disputes seat, not that US-litigation ladder.

Should a general counsel match HFW NQ when hiring in-house shipping counsel?

Nineteen of 68 London shipping and insurance general counsel, interviewed over 24 months, said they would match it. A further 41 of that 68 used the published cell as a check on panel invoices for junior time rather than as an in-house budget. The conversion is a later lateral: Legal Cheek's HFW survey records a 0 percent chance of a client secondment.

What bonus does HFW pay newly qualified solicitors?

HFW has not published an NQ or associate bonus figure for 2025 or 2026. On 4 July 2025 RollOnFriday quoted the firm's chief people officer on a combined salary and bonus package described as more generous than peers for high performers, without a percentage, a pool or an NQ cap. Existence of a bonus narrative is measured; the pound figure is not.

07 Sources

NQ cells, PEP, Lloyd's, LMAA and the court series.

Pay cells come from Legal Cheek, Law360 UK, RollOnFriday and Legal Business. The perimeter comes from Lloyd's, the IUA, IUMI, LMAA, the Judiciary and UNCTAD. Directory bands come from Chambers UK 2026 and Legal 500 UK 2025-26, via the firm's own releases.

Sources and further reading

34 references
  1. Sartori & Partners — London Legal Talent Research Programme (750 structured interviews; ~30,000 lawyers mapped; quarterly surveys since 2019; mandate telemetry) sartoriglobal.com ↗
  2. HFW bumps NQ solicitor pay to £103.5k legalcheek.com ↗
  3. HFW Raises London NQ Salaries To £104K Amid Competition law360.co.uk ↗
  4. HSF Kramer and HFW fire shots in NQ talent pay war rollonfriday.com ↗
  5. HFW - Legal Cheek legalcheek.com ↗
  6. Money talks: What newly qualified solicitors earn at the UK's top law firms legalcheek.com ↗
  7. Mayer Brown matches Magic Circle NQ pay at £150k legalcheek.com ↗
  8. Watson Farley & Williams - Legal Cheek legalcheek.com ↗
  9. Clyde & Co - Legal Cheek legalcheek.com ↗
  10. Quinn Emanuel smashes London NQ lawyer salary record with £189k pay packet legalcheek.com ↗
  11. HFW revenue rises to £276m as London tops £110m despite profit dip legalbusiness.co.uk ↗
  12. HFW boosts revenue by 8% as PEP dips following lateral hiring spree legalbusiness.co.uk ↗
  13. HOLMAN FENWICK WILLAN LLP overview - Find and update company information - GOV.UK find-and-update.company-information.service.gov.uk ↗
  14. HFW | About us | Global Sector-Focused Law Firm hfw.com ↗
  15. London | HFW in the United Kingdom | Global Law Firm hfw.com ↗
  16. Commercial Litigation Case Update Edition 1 / 2026 hfw.com ↗
  17. HFW Recognised as a leading firm in Chambers UK 2026 Guide hfw.com ↗
  18. HFW achieves top-tier rankings in the 2025-26 edition of The Legal 500 UK hfw.com ↗
  19. Shipping, UK-wide, UK | Chambers Rankings chambers.com ↗
  20. HFW, UK 2026 | Chambers Profiles chambers.com ↗
  21. HFW | Global Shipping Lawyers & Maritime Specialists hfw.com ↗
  22. Marine Insurance Lawyers & Risk Advisory | HFW hfw.com ↗
  23. Lloyd's market delivers strong full year performance; very strong balance sheet; increased capital lloyds.com ↗
  24. IUA data shows company market premium up 1.7% iua.co.uk ↗
  25. Steady insurance markets for hull and cargo in 2024 but offshore energy business is challenged. Headwinds loom for all markets, reports IUMI. iumi.com ↗
  26. LMAA Statistics of Appointments and Awards 2025 lmaa.london ↗
  27. MARITIME ARBITRATION IN NUMBERS: LONDON REBOUNDS AS SINGAPORE AND HONG KONG MAINTAIN MOMENTUM hfw.com ↗
  28. London still arbitration top dog, but Asia gaining ground lloydslist.com ↗
  29. HFW re-elects Giles Kavanagh as Senior Partner amid continued global growth hfw.com ↗
  30. The Commercial Court Report 2024-2025 (Including the Admiralty Court Report) judiciary.uk ↗
  31. Review of maritime transport 2025: Staying the course in turbulent waters unctad.org ↗
  32. Vacancies | Careers | HFW hfw.com ↗
  33. SRA | SQE questions and answers sra.org.uk ↗
  34. Lloyd's confirms Claire Schrader as General Counsel lloyds.com ↗

NQ figures are London base salary unless a source says otherwise, and each cell carries the date of the announcement or the profile year. PEP is average profit per equity partner for the stated financial year, not a lockstep draw. Lloyd's and IUA premium figures are marketplace totals, not HFW fees. LMAA counts understate the complete reference population because LMAA is an association, not an administering institution. The Commercial Court insurance-claim mix is a judiciary series, not a firm league table. Trainee intake is reported as both 18 (4 July 2025 article and profile prose) and 16 (same profile info box); both are Legal Cheek figures and are not averaged.

Our own numbers — the London interview cohort, the mandate telemetry, the counter-offer incidence and the offer-to-acceptance window — come from the continuous research program described on our research page, which sets out the survey waves and the mapping coverage behind every Sartori figure quoted above.

A quiet conversation

Pricing a shipping or insurance legal seat against this cell?

We map the London associate and in-house claims pool that sits around HFW's published NQ, and we will tell you when the mid-PQE band you want does not exist on paper. Confidential, no obligation.