Salary · London NQ 2026

Norton Rose Salary 2026: Associate Scale, Bonus and Partner Pay

A general counsel typing Norton Rose, not Fulbright, is asking which 2026 London NQ to match. The dated answer is £140,000 from 1 April 2026 — £10,000 below Magic Circle, and not a US first-year.

Hire legal talent For associates exploring a move
01 Start here

The first number is a London NQ, dated 1 April.

Sartori maps about 30,000 lawyers in London. The Norton Rose salary a general counsel is matching in 2026 is £140,000 newly qualified base from 1 April, confirmed on the firm's training-contract page and reported by Legal Cheek on 6 May 2026.

£140,000

Legal Cheek reported on 6 May 2026 that Norton Rose Fulbright raised London newly qualified base to £140,000 from 1 April 2026, a rise of just under 4 percent from £135,000. The firm's training-contract page prints the same cell. Legal Cheek ↗

The 2026 match under that search string is a London NQ, not a Fulbright first-year. The US first-year sits on the Fulbright-branded scale. The working table is below.

50
Training contracts on Legal Cheek's Firms Most List 2027 edition — the junior pipe onto the London NQ.
Legal Cheek, The Firms Most List, 2027 edition, accessed 11 September 2026
1,100
Financial-institutions lawyers on the firm's own associates careers page, against a 50-institution panel.
Norton Rose Fulbright, Legal (associates careers), accessed 11 September 2026
9
Band 1 Chambers UK desks in the October 2025 release labeled Chambers UK 2026, including aviation finance and mid-market borrower finance.
Norton Rose Fulbright, Chambers UK 2026 rankings release, October 2025
98
UK-based lawyers individually ranked in that same Chambers UK 2026 release; 16 of them newly ranked.
Norton Rose Fulbright, Chambers UK 2026 rankings release, October 2025
02 The dated table

What a Norton Rose salary publishes — and the peers that moved

Three April reviews built this cell. Freshfields set the Magic Circle marker in May 2024; this firm climbed toward it; two UK peers passed it in July 2026.

The 2026 match under that search string is a London NQ, not a Fulbright first-year. Legal Cheek reported on 6 May 2026 that London newly qualified base rose to £140,000 from 1 April, just under 4 percent on the previous £135,000. The employer’s own training-contract page, copyright 2026, prints the same qualification salary next to first-year trainee £56,000 and second-year £61,000. RollOnFriday, on 8 May 2026, put the rise on a par with Ashurst and Hogan Lovells at announcement, and just below Herbert Smith Freehills Kramer and Baker McKenzie, then at £145,000. Magic Circle had already been at £150,000 since 2024.

The climb is a dated series, not a one-off. Legal Cheek, on 19 February 2024, recorded the step to £120,000 from 1 April 2024, a 14 percent rise. Legal Cheek, on 14 February 2025, recorded the next step to £135,000 from 1 April 2025, up 12.5 percent, with trainee pay then still at £50,000 and £55,000. The later £56,000 / £61,000 trainee rates were in place by the 1 April 2026 NQ review and were left unchanged that day. A general counsel reading only the 2026 sticker misses that the firm spent two years catching a Magic Circle marker it has not yet joined.

Then the peer set moved again. Legal Cheek, on 6 May 2025, recorded Slaughter and May holding Magic Circle NQ at £150,000 after raising from £125,000 in September 2024 — a freeze, not a 2025 cut. Global Legal Post, on 2 July 2026, stated that Macfarlanes’ rise to £150,000 from 1 July left Norton Rose Fulbright and Ashurst Perkins Coie at £140,000. Legal Cheek, on 21 July 2026, recorded Baker McKenzie at £150,000 from the beginning of July, still ahead of this firm at £140,000. A head of legal who last opened the Firms Most List in September 2025, when Legal Cheek listed this firm at £135,000 and the UK NQ average across 100-plus outfits at £118,756, with UK CPI to August 2025 cited in the same article at 3.8 percent, is holding a vintage that is no longer the 2026 match.

London newly qualified base at Norton Rose Fulbright and the 2026 peer set that moved around it. Vintage is the date of the print, not a blended survey. Click a column header to re-rank.
Firm London NQ base Effective Vintage
Norton Rose Fulbright £140,000 1 April 2026 Legal Cheek, 6 May 2026; firm training-contract page
Ashurst Perkins Coie £140,000 Still current 21 July 2026 Legal Cheek, 21 July 2026
Hogan Lovells Cadwalader £140,000 May 2026 announcement set Legal Cheek, 6 May 2026
Herbert Smith Freehills Kramer £145,000 Still treated as current 3 July 2026 Legal Cheek, 3 July 2026
Macfarlanes £150,000 1 July 2026 (from £140,000) Legal Cheek, 3 July 2026
Baker McKenzie £150,000 Beginning of July 2026 (from £145,000) Legal Cheek, 21 July 2026
Magic Circle (A&O Shearman, Clifford Chance, Freshfields, Linklaters, Slaughter and May) £150,000 From 1 May 2024; still current 21 July 2026 Legal Cheek, 3 May 2024 and 21 July 2026
Quinn Emanuel (no UK training contract) £189,000 1 July 2026 Legal Cheek, 21 July 2026

Hogan Lovells Cadwalader is listed on the May 2026 announcement set. Herbert Smith Freehills Kramer is listed at £145,000 as Legal Cheek treated that cell on 3 July 2026. Quinn Emanuel is a US-London ceiling with no UK training contract. Figures: Legal Cheek and Global Legal Post as dated in the vintage column.

The 2026 match under that search string is a London NQ, not a Fulbright first-year.
On the search string
03 Two readers

Who earns the figure, and who writes the check

The solicitor who Googles the UK shorthand sits inside Norton Rose Fulbright LLP. The general counsel who matches it sits at a bank, an insurer, an energy major or a transport lessor.

UK shorthandCompany requisition

  1. The string Norton Rose is the UK search. Norton Rose Fulbright is the verein brand. They are not the same pay table.
  2. The London NQ The dated cell a general counsel matches: newly qualified base at the England-and-Wales LLP, London office.
  3. The US first-year A different employer, a different hours gate, a different currency. The Fulbright sibling owns that scale.

The person who earns the figure sits inside the law firm; the person who matches it sits in a company. Norton Rose Fulbright’s UK footprint that employs these solicitors is London plus Newcastle: the October 2025 Chambers UK 2026 release said so. Training contracts rotate in London; the solicitor apprenticeship is London-only; Newcastle runs a paralegal apprenticeship. 2026 Newcastle NQ pay is not public. The compulsory trainee seats are Corporate and Banking. The associates careers page organizes hiring around six industry sectors: financial institutions, energy, infrastructure mining and commodities, transport, technology and innovation, and life sciences and healthcare.

Those are the buyers a chief legal officer already knows. The associates careers page names the financial-institutions panel as asset managers, banks and insurers, and describes transport as some 400 people. Chambers UK 2026, on the oil-and-gas department page, lists clients as oil and gas majors, global investors, governments and lenders, with a commanding renewables position, especially offshore wind. The aviation-finance Band 1 desk, ranked 13 years, names banks, financial institutions, shipowners, airlines and ROSCOs. The in-house counterpart titles are group general counsel at a UK listed insurer, head of legal at a panel bank, and chief legal officer at an energy or transport platform.

Across 86 of 142 general counsel and heads of legal at banks, insurers, energy companies and transport lessors, inside the London interview cohort of 750, over a 24-month window, Sartori’s interviews named the London NQ print — not Magic Circle — as the number they actually match when the search string is this firm. A group general counsel at a UK listed composite insurer put it without decoration: they match the NQ they can print, and they do not invent a mid-level band the firm will not show them.

The paycheck is a law-firm lockstep, London office, England and Wales LLP.

  • Trainee solicitors sit on £56,000 then £61,000, frozen at the April 2026 NQ review, with March and September intakes in London.
  • Newly qualified solicitors sit on £140,000 base from 1 April 2026 after two years’ qualifying work experience under the SRA SQE route.
  • Later associates sit on a scale the firm would not confirm in May 2026. Treat any numbered PQE band you are shown in a process as an internal print.

The company that matches the cell is hiring onto its own payroll, usually at NQ to 3 PQE.

  • Insurance legal departments price regulatory and disputes seats against this print after a year of UK personal-lines consolidation.
  • Bank and asset-manager legal teams match it for panel-adjacent product, DCM, and the January 2026 public-offers mapping work.
  • Energy and transport platforms match it for project finance, aviation and shipping asset-finance fluency the Chambers desks describe.
04 The hole in the table

Associate steps, Newcastle and the 2026 bonus are not on the page

A company can requisition a published NQ. It cannot requisition a step the firm will not print.

A bonus the firm will not restate is not a number a company can put on a requisition. RollOnFriday, on 8 May 2026, reported that the firm would not confirm salary details for associates other than London NQs, and did not say whether Newcastle NQs had moved. A spokesperson said full salary scales in UK offices had been reviewed as part of the annual cycle. That is a published absence. This page does not fill it.

The last fully quantified UK bonus band is a year older than the 2026 NQ. The Law Gazette, on 16 February 2024, described a performance bonus of up to 40 percent on the then £120,000 NQ, a maximum of £168,000, for those who hit hours or a fees-billed multiple. Global Legal Post, on 23 February 2024, described that bonus as six-monthly and up to £48,000 on that base. Legal Cheek, on 14 February 2025, put all-in for an NQ who achieved the required hours between £143,000 and £189,000 on the £135,000 base. The May 2026 £140,000 announcement did not restate a 2026 cap. All-in 2026 cash is not a public figure.

Of 39 of 68 London NQ-to-3 PQE associates in energy, financial institutions and insurance seats, inside the London interview cohort of 750, over a 24-month window, Sartori’s structured interviews said they could not verify the next lockstep step from any public table. A head of legal at a global bank on a financial-institutions panel called the £10,000 Magic Circle premium a different product for an asset-finance seat they could fill off this print. The uncomfortable read on our own desk sits with the firm-side files: where post-NQ steps stay unpublished, verification slows, and we cannot manufacture a scale the employer will not show.

The last public bonus bands sit on older bases. The 2026 NQ is a base-only cell. Click a marker for the vintage.
2025 all-in band (prior vintage)
£110k£200k

2026 London NQ base

From 1 April 2026. No 2026 bonus cap restated in the May announcement.

Legal Cheek, 6 May 2026 ↗
What this firm publishes for UK associate cash, and what it does not. Prior-year bonus bands are labeled as prior-year.
Item Status Figure Vintage
London NQ base Public £140,000 from 1 April 2026 Firm careers page; Legal Cheek, 6 May 2026
London trainee base Public, frozen £56,000 / £61,000 April 2026 NQ review; trainee rates unchanged
London solicitor-apprentice start Public £30,000, rising to trainee by year five Firm apprenticeship page, 2026
London associate steps above NQ Not public Omitted — not estimated RollOnFriday, 8 May 2026
Newcastle NQ Not public Omitted — not estimated RollOnFriday, 8 May 2026
2026 UK bonus maximum on £140,000 Not restated Omitted — not estimated May 2026 NQ announcement
Last quantified UK bonus band Prior vintage £143,000–£189,000 all-in on the £135,000 base Legal Cheek, 14 February 2025
A bonus the firm will not restate is not a number a company can put on a requisition.
On the 2026 bonus
05 The work

The cash is funded by energy, insurance and financial-institutions files

Demand that pays this NQ is not generic City M&A. It is project finance, insurance change-in-control, and a January 2026 capital-markets rewrite.

Energy constructionFI mapping

  1. Energy and projects Offshore wind, holdco financing, green-loan paper. Compulsory Banking seats feed the same files.
  2. Insurance regulatory FSMA change-in-control, PRA clocks, coverage disputes. The in-house GC at a listed insurer lives here.
  3. Financial institutions Public-offers mapping under the Smarter Regulatory Framework. Transform sits beside the lockstep, not instead of it.

The cash is funded by energy, insurance and financial-institutions files, not generic City M&A. Ørsted, in January 2025, took final investment decision on the 1.5 GW Baltica 2 offshore wind farm with PGE, under Poland’s Offshore Wind Act commitment of 5.9 GW by 2030. The firm’s February 2025 release put the holdco financing at about €3 billion, with 45 lawyers across five offices, green-loan alignment, and a 25-year inflation-adjusted contract for difference. The LMA, APLMA and LSTA updated the Green Loan Principles on 26 March 2025; Slaughter and May noted the same week that grandfathering language from February 2023 was removed. NQs in banking and energy draft use-of-proceeds covenants against that vintage, not the pre-March text.

The projects platform moved people as well as paper. In June 2025 the firm announced a six-lawyer Paris team — two partners and four associates — into energy, natural resources and infrastructure for sponsors, banks, global financial institutions and development finance institutions, across France, Africa, the Caribbean and Eastern Europe. The same release cited IJGlobal: a top-five global project-finance adviser by volume for full-year 2024, more than US$50.4 billion in aggregate, and over 350 project and project-finance lawyers worldwide. Global Legal Post, on 22 July 2026, set that add against a four-strong project-finance team leaving the Dubai office and a four-strong private-equity and M&A group leaving Munich. The UK NQ feeder remains London energy and banking. A London international arbitration partner joined in May 2025 for energy and Africa-related disputes, forums including the LCIA, ICC, DIFC and the English courts.

Insurance is the other paying desk. Ageas UK announced on 14 April 2025 a cash consideration of GBP 1.295 billion for esure, with Norton Rose Fulbright LLP as regulatory adviser to the private-equity seller and the target; Ageas UK completed on 29 September 2025 after full regulatory approval. The FCA’s change-in-control page, updated 30 June 2026, still frames that work: prior approval, a clock of up to 60 working days from a complete notification, Prudential Regulation Authority approval for dual-regulated insurers, and a criminal offense under FSMA s.191F for a failure to notify. The firm then hired two London insurance-disputes partners, in January 2026 and May 2026, from a global insurance specialist, into coverage on financial lines, D&O and warranty and indemnity, including matters involving the US SEC and DOJ and the UK SFO and FRC.

A listed-insurer general counsel was hiring through the same year. Aviva completed its £3.7 billion acquisition of Direct Line on 1 July 2025, the same day the Competition and Markets Authority announced Phase 1 clearance under the Enterprise Act 2002; this firm was not counsel of record. The file still describes the corporate desk a chief legal officer runs: PRA and FCA change-in-control, Solvency II, and a competition overlay. Chambers UK 2026 added a Competition Law: Litigation ranking in the October 2025 release. That is the in-house market this NQ is hired into, not a law-firm lateral story.

Financial-institutions utilization has a dated force date. The Public Offers and Admissions to Trading Regulations 2024 sit inside the Financial Services and Markets Act 2023 Smarter Regulatory Framework. FCA PS25/9, last updated 19 January 2026, brought the new Prospectus Rules: Admission to Trading on a Regulated Market sourcebook into force that day. An NRF Transform client story describes mapping those rules against previous UK and EU legislation for a global bank. That is associate and legal-operations work on the financial-institutions platform, not a substitute for the NQ lockstep.

06 The pipe

Trainee pay froze; qualification still more than doubles the stipend

The 2026 NQ is an SQE class. The LPC transitional window runs to 31 December 2032. The employer froze the stipend and moved the qualification cell.

Published London cash on the graduate pipe, 2026. Apprentice start, trainee years, then the NQ cell. Annual base, before bonus.

Norton Rose Fulbright training-contract and solicitor-apprenticeship pages, 2026; Legal Cheek, 6 May 2026.

Trainee pay stayed at £56,000 and £61,000 when the NQ moved. Legal Cheek said so on 6 May 2026; RollOnFriday and Non-Billable repeated the freeze. The NQ print is more than double the second-year trainee base. Solicitor apprentices start at £30,000 in London, rising year on year to match graduate trainee salary by year five, then qualify at the same £140,000; the first four years rotate Corporate, Disputes and Banking, including Compliance and General Counsel. Graduate FAQs put 45 to 50 starters a year, a 2:1 degree floor, RARE contextual recruitment, and visa sponsorship only for the London training contract. Retention, the firm says, is an objective standard and business need, not a quota.

Two retention vintages sit on the Legal Cheek card and must not be collapsed. The firm profile, citing the 2026-27 Trainee and Junior Lawyer Survey of over 2,000 trainees and junior associates, prints latest trainee retention at 95 percent. Legal Cheek, on 14 February 2025, cited 80 percent autumn retention on the 2025 Firms Most List. Hours on that same 2026-27 card are survey, not HR: average start 09:13, finish 20:05, no annual hours targets, 25 days’ leave, a 17 percent chance of secondment abroad and a 22 percent chance of a client secondment. PGDL grant £10,500 and SQE grant £17,000 are firm-card figures as Legal Cheek published them.

The credential regime is the SRA’s. The SQE has been in force since 1 September 2021; 2026 NQs are an SQE class. The SRA’s LPC transitional page, updated 25 November 2025, keeps an admission window until 31 December 2032 and states that most training contracts are now qualifying work experience via SQE. Qualifying work experience is two years, confirmable by an England and Wales solicitor or COLP, and may be gained in a law firm or an in-house legal team. Character and suitability, updated 19 December 2024, is a separate admission gate. This firm’s training contract is its chosen two-year QWE, delivered with BPP on the City Consortium Solicitor’s Training Programme alongside Freshfields, Herbert Smith Freehills, Hogan Lovells, Linklaters and Slaughter and May — a credential peer set, not a pay peer set. A parallel Business and Legal Operations graduate scheme offers up to four London roles each September inside NRF Transform and does not lead to a solicitor qualification. The UK careers page records Disability Confident Employer level 3 (Leader) and a London Living Wage commitment for the entire UK workforce.

07 The top of the scale

Norton Rose PEP is a 2025 verein average, not an NQ match

Profit per equity partner funds the partnership conversation. It does not price the London NQ a general counsel is hiring.

Legal Business put 2025 profit per equity partner at US$2 million on 20 February 2026. The same piece put global turnover at US$2.8 billion, up more than 16 percent. Global Legal Post, on 22 July 2026, restating Law.com, recorded revenue up 16 percent to US$2.8 billion, PEP up 27 percent to US$2 million, total lawyer headcount up 2.3 percent and equity-partner headcount up 1.3 percent. The firm’s own June 2026 Bloomberg ranking release said 2025 global revenue of US$2.8 billion, an increase of more than 15 percent. Point Blank, on 23 February 2026, put revenue per lawyer up 13.6 percent to US$842,000, US revenue up 23.2 percent to US$1.2 billion, US PEP up 32 percent to US$2.7 million, US headcount up 4.6 percent, billable hours up around 3 percent firmwide and more than 4 percent in the US, and global rate rises kept below 10 percent. Use US$2 million for PEP; do not average a dissenting $2.1 million body line in that same Point Blank article.

Legal Cheek converts that US$2 million PEP to £1.48 million on the firm card. That conversion is not a UK-only partner drawing. The prior-year Am Law print, on the firm’s market-recognitions page, ranked the firm 20th by 2024 gross revenue of US$2.436 billion. Above the Law, on 6 June 2025, put it 6th on the NLJ 500 by worldwide full-time-equivalent lawyers for calendar 2024, without printing an FTE integer. The employer About page, copyright 2026, says more than 3,000 lawyers in 50 cities; Legal Cheek uses 59 offices. Treat 3,000-plus lawyers as the employer band; the office count is unresolved and is not resolved here.

Calendar-year 2025 percentage moves as reported to the legal press. These are verein and regional growth rates, not NQ bases.

Legal Business, 20 February 2026; Global Legal Post, 22 July 2026; Point Blank, 23 February 2026.

The platform under those rates changed twice. Partners voted to integrate Norton Rose Fulbright LLP (Europe, Middle East and Asia) with Norton Rose Fulbright Australia from 1 July 2025: a combined US$1 billion business, over 1,800 lawyers including over 400 partners, 28 offices in 18 jurisdictions, other member firms including the US unaffected. Global Legal Post’s 22 July 2026 results piece then put reported EMEAPAC turnover at £763.5 million, up 25 percent after that combination, like-for-like legacy EMEA revenue up 12 percent to £681 million, UK revenue up 17 percent, and year-end cash 92 percent higher. Absolute 2025 UK revenue in pounds was not stated in that article and is omitted. South Africa left the verein on 31 March 2026: over 120 lawyers including 64 directors, now independent; the firm keeps no ownership. Africa-related disputes coverage moves onto remaining desks, including London international arbitration, which the firm said in May 2025 was running more than 70 active cases with a combined value of more than US$240 billion.

The US entity matched Milbank from 1 July 2026. Above the Law, that day, recorded a US$235,000 first-year and US$455,000 at class of 2018 for associates billing 1,900 hours, with the scorecard dating the announcement to 30 June 2026. US student FAQs put summer associates at US$4,519 a week, the annualized first-year, up to 50 hours of Firm Investment Time toward bonus thresholds, and partnership generally after eight years. That is capital-cycle pressure on the verein. It is not the London NQ. The class-year ladder lives on the Fulbright salary page.

08 For the company

How a general counsel should match this NQ

Sartori has worked the London associate market for more than 10 years. Price the published cell, do not invent the missing steps, and do not match Magic Circle for this product.

Of 33 closed London associate searches over three years, 14 were company-side hires matching a City international NQ in the Norton Rose / Ashurst / Hogan Lovells band into in-house teams at banks, insurers or energy platforms. Nine of those 14 closed inside the desk’s typical 6-to-12-week timeline. Five ran past 12 weeks and needed a second offer rewrite because the general counsel had budgeted Magic Circle £150,000 against a candidate whose published print was £140,000. The extra £10,000 did not move acceptance; bonus language the firm would not restate did. Completion on the London associate line sits at 93 percent. Median offer-to-acceptance is 12 working days. Counter-offer incidence on that desk is 35 percent; on the 14 company-side files, 4 drew a firm counter.

The finding that does not flatter us sits on the other 19 files. Six of those 19 firm-side associate searches ran past 12 weeks because post-NQ steps were not on any public table. Sartori’s London associate desk cannot verify a band the employer will not print. Of 22 of 51 heads of talent and HR directors at companies that had tried to hire a City NQ in-house, inside the London interview cohort of 750, over an 18-month window, the stall they named was bonus eligibility they could not replicate, not the base cell.

Three composites, numbers inside that envelope. A UK listed insurer hired an NQ into insurance regulatory after the 2025 personal-lines consolidation wave; nine weeks, signature in 12 working days, no counter. An energy major opened at Magic Circle cash for a 2 PQE energy seat, rewrote to the published NQ plus hours language, and signed in 14 weeks. A panel-bank head of legal filled an asset-finance seat in eight weeks and declined to match a firm counter struck on unpublished PQE. No real company, firm or lawyer is named in those files.

Sartori & Partners maps nearly 1.5 million lawyer profiles globally and has run quarterly market surveys since 2019. The London associate findings on this page come from one city program: one interview cohort, 33 closed associate searches over three years, a 35 percent counter-offer rate, a median 12 working days from offer to acceptance, a 93 percent completion rate, and a typical 6-to-12-week timeline. Google Ads Keyword Planner, four-country extract, 11 September 2026, recorded 230 monthly searches on the query this table answers. Adjacent pages own adjacent questions. The US class-year ladder sits on Norton Rose Fulbright salary 2026. The company chair that writes the check sits on general counsel salary UK 2026 and in-house counsel recruiting.

Firm careers pages, Legal Cheek, FCA clocks and the London research program

53 references
  1. Sartori & Partners — London Legal Talent Research Programme (750 structured interviews; ~30,000 lawyers mapped; quarterly surveys since 2019; mandate telemetry) sartoriglobal.com ↗
  2. Norton Rose Fulbright ups London NQ salary to 140k - Legal Cheek legalcheek.com ↗
  3. The training contract - Norton Rose Fulbright nortonrosefulbright.com ↗
  4. NRF increases NQ salary to £140k in London - RollOnFriday rollonfriday.com ↗
  5. Norton Rose Fulbright moves NQ pay to £140k - Non-Billable nonbillable.co.uk ↗
  6. Norton Rose Fulbright - Legal Cheek legalcheek.com ↗
  7. NRF increases NQ lawyer salaries to £135k - Legal Cheek legalcheek.com ↗
  8. NRF boosts newly qualified solicitor pay to £120k - Legal Cheek legalcheek.com ↗
  9. Norton Rose Fulbright ups London NQ salary to £120k - The Global Legal Post globallegalpost.com ↗
  10. City firm Norton Rose Fulbright boosts newly qualified pay as sector defies recession - Law Gazette lawgazette.co.uk ↗
  11. Money talks: What newly qualified solicitors earn at the UK’s top law firms - Legal Cheek legalcheek.com ↗
  12. Macfarlanes matches Magic Circle with £150k NQ lawyer salary - Legal Cheek legalcheek.com ↗
  13. Macfarlanes ups NQ salary to £150k, matches Magic Circle - The Global Legal Post globallegalpost.com ↗
  14. Baker McKenzie boosts NQ lawyer pay to £150k, matching Magic Circle - Legal Cheek legalcheek.com ↗
  15. The Firms Most List - Legal Cheek legalcheek.com ↗
  16. Solicitor Apprenticeship - Norton Rose Fulbright nortonrosefulbright.com ↗
  17. FAQs - Norton Rose Fulbright graduates nortonrosefulbright.com ↗
  18. Legal - Norton Rose Fulbright associates nortonrosefulbright.com ↗
  19. Freshfields sets down Magic Circle salary marker as it ups NQ lawyer pay 20% to £150k - Legal Cheek legalcheek.com ↗
  20. Slaughter and May keeps NQ pay at £150k - Legal Cheek legalcheek.com ↗
  21. Biglaw Firm Gets On Board With New Associate Salary Scale - Above the Law abovethelaw.com ↗
  22. Associate Compensation Scorecard: The 2026 Summer Of Salary Increases - Above the Law abovethelaw.com ↗
  23. FAQs - Norton Rose Fulbright US law students nortonrosefulbright.com ↗
  24. Norton Rose Fulbright hits $2m in PEP as turnover approaches $3bn - Legal Business legalbusiness.co.uk ↗
  25. Norton Rose Fulbright rings in revenue, profit rises - The Global Legal Post globallegalpost.com ↗
  26. Bloomberg Law ranks Norton Rose Fulbright in top five of 2026 Leading Law Firms list nortonrosefulbright.com ↗
  27. NRF's revenue just jumped 16% - but its PEP is the big winner - Point Blank pointblank.law ↗
  28. Market recognitions - Norton Rose Fulbright nortonrosefulbright.com ↗
  29. The 500 Largest Law Firms In America (2025) - Above the Law abovethelaw.com ↗
  30. Norton Rose Fulbright is a global law firm nortonrosefulbright.com ↗
  31. Norton Rose Fulbright South Africa to go independent - African Law & Business africanlawbusiness.com ↗
  32. Update on South Africa - Norton Rose Fulbright nortonrosefulbright.com ↗
  33. Integration of Norton Rose Fulbright LLP and Norton Rose Fulbright Australia nortonrosefulbright.com ↗
  34. Norton Rose Fulbright advises PGE Polska Grupa Energetyczna on Baltica 2 nortonrosefulbright.com ↗
  35. Ørsted and PGE take final investment decision on Baltica 2 Offshore Wind Farm orsted.com ↗
  36. Ageas reaches agreement with Bain Capital to acquire esure ageas.co.uk ↗
  37. Ageas UK completes acquisition of esure ageas.co.uk ↗
  38. Aviva completes acquisition of Direct Line aviva.com ↗
  39. Aviva / Direct Line merger inquiry - CMA gov.uk ↗
  40. Change in control - FCA fca.org.uk ↗
  41. PS25/9: New rules for the public offers and admissions to trading regime - FCA fca.org.uk ↗
  42. SQE training options - Solicitors Regulation Authority sra.org.uk ↗
  43. Qualifying work experience - Solicitors Regulation Authority sra.org.uk ↗
  44. Becoming a solicitor with the Legal Practice Course (transitional requirements) - SRA sra.org.uk ↗
  45. The route to qualification - Slaughter and May slaughterandmay.com ↗
  46. Green Loan Principles - LSTA lsta.org ↗
  47. 2025 updates to the Green and Social Loan Principles - Slaughter and May slaughterandmay.com ↗
  48. Norton Rose Fulbright receives nine Band 1 rankings in Chambers UK 2026 nortonrosefulbright.com ↗
  49. Norton Rose Fulbright, UK 2026 - Chambers chambers.com ↗
  50. Norton Rose Fulbright continues to expand insurance disputes team with senior partner hire nortonrosefulbright.com ↗
  51. Norton Rose Fulbright expands global projects practice with new partner team in Paris nortonrosefulbright.com ↗
  52. Norton Rose Fulbright welcomes international arbitration heavyweight to its ranks nortonrosefulbright.com ↗
  53. Embedding AI into regulatory mapping processes - NRF Transform nortonrosefulbright.com ↗

Interview findings and mandate telemetry are Sartori's London associate-line program. Published NQ bases, trainee stipends, PEP, revenue, statutes and deal values are the primary documents named in the list. Legal Cheek's £1.48 million PEP is an FX conversion of global US$2 million, not a UK-only drawing. Dollar-to-sterling conversions are the publisher's.

Norton Rose pay: questions from both sides of the table

What is Norton Rose salary for a London NQ in 2026?

London newly qualified base is £140,000 from 1 April 2026. Legal Cheek reported that figure on 6 May 2026 as a rise of just under 4 percent from £135,000; the firm's own training-contract page prints the same number. It is a London NQ base, not total cash and not a US first-year. Post-NQ London steps are not public.

How does Norton Rose NQ salary sit against Magic Circle in 2026?

It sits £10,000 below Magic Circle's £150,000, as Legal Cheek recorded on 21 July 2026. Freshfields set that Magic Circle marker at £150,000 from 1 May 2024. Macfarlanes and Baker McKenzie joined the £150,000 print in July 2026. A general counsel who still treats Magic Circle as the Norton Rose match is matching a different product.

What is Norton Rose associate salary above NQ in London?

No 2026 London PQE scale is public; RollOnFriday recorded that refusal on 8 May 2026. The firm said UK salary scales had been reviewed as part of the annual cycle and would not confirm associate details other than London NQs. Newcastle NQ was not disclosed in the same article. Do not fill those cells with a guess.

What is Norton Rose PEP for 2025?

Global profit per equity partner was US$2 million for calendar 2025, Legal Business reported on 20 February 2026. That is verein-level PEP, up 27 percent, next to global revenue of US$2.8 billion. Legal Cheek converts the same PEP to £1.48 million. It is not a UK-only partner paycheck and it is not a number a general counsel should match for an NQ hire.

Should a general counsel match the London NQ or the US first-year?

Match the London NQ of £140,000. The US first-year is a different employer inside the same brand. Norton Rose Fulbright's US entity matched the Milbank scale from 1 July 2026, with a US$235,000 first-year at 1,900 hours, as Above the Law reported on 1 July 2026. That table belongs on the Fulbright-branded sibling page, not on this requisition.

What bonus sits on a 2026 London Norton Rose NQ?

The May 2026 announcement did not restate a 2026 bonus cap on the £140,000 base. The last fully quantified public band is the 2025 scheme: Legal Cheek, on 14 February 2025, put all-in for an NQ who hit hours between £143,000 and £189,000 on the then £135,000 base. The 2024 scheme, reported by the Law Gazette on 16 February 2024, ran to 40 percent on £120,000, a £168,000 ceiling. None of those is a 2026 total-cash figure.

Match the published cell

Price the London NQ that is actually in print.

Whether you are a general counsel matching a City NQ onto the payroll, or a chief legal officer filling an insurance, energy or financial-institutions seat against this table, we map the dated print, the unpublished steps, and the in-house number before anyone signs. Confidential, no obligation.