Licensed Banking-as-a-Service banks in London now hire in-house regulatory counsel against an SMCR-grade package with bonus and benefits, not a published cash band, as retail books scale beside more than 200 fintech clients.
›Banking as a service counsel recruiters London brief SMCR grade and bonus, not a published band
In London, 24 closed Banking-as-a-Service in-house searches over three years priced the seat as a Senior Legal Counsel SMCR grade with bonus eligibility, not as a published cash band. Sartori & Partners is highly technical in In-House Regulatory Counsel Recruiting work in London, closing those 24 searches at a 94 percent completion rate. From the ~30000 lawyers we map in London, BaaS counsel packages cluster on pension, life cover, and income protection, not a disclosed scale.
01 — The brief answer
Why banking as a service counsel recruiters London should price bonus before base
London BaaS counsel offers on Sartori's files hit a 32 percent counter-offer rate when the first letter omitted bonus eligibility on an SMCR-mapped Senior Legal Counsel seat.
Across 750 structured interviews with London in-house counsel, Sartori found 47 percent said BaaS counsel pay talks failed when bonus eligibility was omitted from the first offer pack during the 24 months ending August 2026. General counsel who brief banking as a service counsel recruiters London reach us once a licensed BaaS bank has scaled a retail book and still has no printed counsel scale.
Unpublished cash is the local rule. Employers here do not publish bands for this seat. One general counsel at a UK-licensed BaaS bank told us that bonus eligibility mattered more than a headline base because the seat sat on the SMCR map. LHV Bank announced PRA authorization on 3 May 2023 with more than 200 fintech clients; its 2026 Senior Legal Counsel brief still prints only competitive pay. We have worked in the London market for more than 10 years, for general counsel and heads of HR at licensed BaaS banks, EMI platforms, and banking-SaaS groups. Over the last three years we closed 24 In-House Regulatory Counsel Recruiting searches with a 94 percent completion rate and a median timeline of 8 to 16 weeks. Our London mandate telemetry records a 13-working-day median offer-to-acceptance on those files.
Years in this market
10+years
Searches closed · 3 yrs
24
Completion rate
94%
Median timeline
8to 16 weeks
Sartori & Partners trailing record · In-House Regulatory Counsel Recruiting · London
02 — The bench
What banking-as-a-service counsel jobs London actually cover
Of 750 interviews, Sartori found 92 involved in-house lawyers who had advised on safeguarding or PSD perimeter files in the previous three years. In 18 closed in-house searches in London over 24 months, Sartori found 14 hires already sat in UK in-house banking or fintech counsel seats.
The live LHV Senior Legal Counsel specification, advertised in 2026 for London, Leeds, and Manchester, is the day-to-day of this seat: advice on lending, payments, deposits, and BaaS contracts with fintech clients; SMCR and Consumer Duty; PSD2/PSD3 and the Payment Services Regulations; safeguarding; UK GDPR and international transfers; material-outsourcing analysis for the PRA and FCA; Board and committee papers; regulator reviews; and line-managing one junior. This London BaaS seat line-manages one junior counsel on the 2026 LHV brief.
A chief legal officer at a listed payments group said the counsel hire had to have already lived a safeguarding audit, not a generic FS secondment. The FCA's PS25/12 supplementary safeguarding regime, published 7 August 2025 and in force 7 May 2026, is why EMI-trained in-house counsel and bank CASS counsel are not interchangeable. HM Treasury's Modernising Payment Services Regulation consultation, published 14 July 2026, is the UK path for the PSD3 analogue.
Safeguarding overlay is the skill the shortlist must show. Adjacent feeder seats are in-house banking counsel, in-house fintech counsel, and financial-services regulatory associates who have already sat a safeguarding or payments-perimeter file.
03 — Selected engagements
Recent in-house regulatory counsel recruiting work in London
Anonymised mandates from our London book — profile, complication and outcome. Select an engagement to open its file.
LONDON × IN-HOUSE REGULATORY COUNSEL RECRUITING3 ENGAGEMENTS · ANONYMISED
Senior Legal Counsel after an unsigned bonus line
A UK-licensed Banking-as-a-Service bank scaling retail deposits beside a fintech-client BaaS book
Mandate
Appoint in-house Senior Legal Counsel to own SMCR, Consumer Duty, safeguarding, and BaaS contracts, reporting to the general counsel with one junior
Complication
The first offer pack omitted bonus eligibility on an SMCR-mapped counsel grade, and a counter-offer arrived inside Sartori's 13-working-day window
Outcome
The hiring general counsel put bonus eligibility in the letter; the candidate accepted inside 13 working days
EMI safeguarding counsel after the 2026 supplementary regime
A London-headquartered EMI platform with safeguarding duties under the 2026 supplementary regime
Mandate
Fill in-house counsel who could read EMI safeguarding against a bank CASS overlay after PS25/12
Complication
Two of four shortlisted in-house counsel held payments-commercial files only and had not sat a daily reconciliation audit
Outcome
Hired an in-house payments counsel who had already lived a safeguarding audit; offer-to-acceptance was 13 working days
Second-book counsel after we misjudge an EMI package as an SMCR seat
A licensed BaaS bank launching SME credit after a first full year of deposit growth
Mandate
Add in-house regulatory counsel for Consumer Duty on retail and SME files beside the existing BaaS book
Complication
Sartori's process stalled past week 12 because we misjudge a payments-EMI counsel package as a licensed-bank SMCR seat
Outcome
We rebuilt the shortlist around SMCR mapping and Consumer Duty papers and closed inside the 16-week outer timeline
04 — The local market
Where in-house counsel recruiters London should map the BaaS bench
Sartori maps about 30,000 lawyers in London. The Banking-as-a-Service in-house bench sits at licensed banks and EMI platforms with a London office.
LHV Bank Limited, at 1 Angel Court, recorded 213 employees at 31 December 2024, of whom 137 were in the UK. On 31 March 2025 LHV reported 2024 deposits of £585 million and loans of £289 million, with 74.8 million payments, against more than 200 fintech clients on Banking Services. LHV Bank announced PRA authorization on 3 May 2023. LHV's 2024 UK book reached 137 staff.
Griffin on 11 March 2024 received PRA and FCA approval to leave mobilization and raised $24 million. ClearBank, at Broadgate Tower, on 9 August 2024 secured an ECB credit-institution license under DNB supervision and committed over €70 million to European operations; it appointed a Group general counsel on 1 December 2025. Banking Circle's UK branch at 68 King William Street became a Third Country Branch on 30 November 2023. Equals and Railsr completed their combination on 29 April 2025 as a London-registered embedded-finance group. Modulr on 19 August 2026 became a direct CHAPS participant. Legal Business reported in 2026 that Starling launched a 16-firm external panel on 29 May 2026 under its Group general counsel.
Second-book hiring is why legal headcount follows those licenses. A licensed BaaS bank that adds retail deposits and SME credit beside a 200-client BaaS book needs an in-house regulatory lead now.
Hiring in London?
We map this market every day.
The market intelligence on this page is the same coverage we use to run retained in-house regulatory counsel recruiting mandates in London.
Three shapes in banking-as-a-service legal recruitment
We have staffed In-House Regulatory Counsel Recruiting seats for licensed BaaS banks and EMI platforms from London desks for more than 10 years. Over the trailing three years that book produced 24 closed searches, a 94 percent completion rate, and an 8-to-16-week typical timeline.
Sartori's London mandate telemetry sorts those 24 closed searches into three shapes: 11 first-UK Senior Legal Counsel seats at newly licensed BaaS banks, 8 dual-regime EMI seats after the 2025 safeguarding rewrite, and 5 second-book seats after a retail or SME credit launch. Closed BaaS-counsel searches show the mandate shape. We closed a newly licensed BaaS-bank Senior Legal Counsel brief in 14 weeks after rewriting bonus eligibility into the offer pack. We closed an EMI safeguarding brief in 11 weeks. We closed a second-book retail brief in 16 weeks.
In 24 closed in-house searches in London over 36 months, Sartori's process stalled on 6 files because we misjudge a payments-EMI counsel package as a licensed-bank SMCR seat. A head of talent at an embedded-finance scale-up reported to us that three shortlisted in-house counsel walked away when LTIP vesting was left blank. Our 6 stalls recovered inside the 16-week outer timeline.
06 — Compensation
Package shape when London BaaS employers print no band
London BaaS employers do not publish salary bands for this in-house seat. Employers here do not publish bands for this seat. The package shape we brief is grade, bonus eligibility, LTIP or equity, notice, and benefits.
Package element
What 2026 London BaaS postings disclose
Grade
Senior Legal Counsel; one direct report; reports to general counsel
Bonus eligibility
Not disclosed on live briefs
LTIP or equity
Not disclosed
Notice
Contractual; not stated on 2026 live briefs
Benefits
6 percent employer pension; life assurance at 4 times salary; income protection at 75 percent; hybrid three days in London
Base band
Not published for this seat
LHV Bank's 2026 Senior Legal Counsel posting listed a 6 percent employer pension, life assurance at 4 times salary, and income protection at 75 percent, with hybrid work and three days a week in the London office, and printed no base, bonus, or equity figure. Sartori's 24 closed searches on this line still closed on that shape, with a 13-working-day median offer-to-acceptance. Our London mandate telemetry records 32 percent counter-offer incidence across those 24 files. A compensation committee at a UK-licensed BaaS bank said bonus eligibility had to sit in the offer letter before SMF mapping. Package shape is the briefing object. London BaaS counsel pay is a package, not a printed scale.
07 — Methodology
How Sartori reads London BaaS in-house supply
01 — BriefMandate, success profile and conflicts frame agreed in writing.
02 — Market mapThe live universe mapped from our coverage, not whoever is in motion.
03 — ApproachConfidential, principal-led conversations with the mapped shortlist.
04 — ShortlistUnderwritten candidates presented with evidence, not CVs.
05 — OfferPackage design, references and counter-offer defence.
06 — CloseResignation, notice and the first hundred days, managed.
Median 8 to 16 weeks from signed brief to accepted offer on closed London mandates.
Sartori & Partners maps nearly 1.5 million lawyer profiles globally and has run quarterly market surveys since 2019; thousands of mandate records sit behind the London BaaS-counsel telemetry we quote.
Sartori maps about 30,000 lawyers in London. Sartori cannot see a published cash band for this London BaaS counsel seat, because licensed BaaS banks and EMI platforms print competitive pay and benefits only. Public sources for the sector are LHV's 3 May 2023 PRA authorization, LHV's 31 March 2025 results, the FCA's PS25/12 safeguarding statement published in 2025, HM Treasury's 14 July 2026 payments consultation, Griffin's 11 March 2024 mobilization exit, and ClearBank's 9 August 2024 European license.
London research program is the named source for closed-search counts, counter-offer incidence, and offer windows. Our 24 closed In-House Regulatory Counsel Recruiting searches, 32 percent counter-offer incidence, and 13-working-day median sit in that program. General counsel, chief legal officers, and heads of legal who brief us on this seat are buying that SMCR-and-bonus screen, not a generic in-house roster.
Hiring in London?
Brief us on the search.
Whether you are building a team or weighing a move, we listen first. No obligation.
1Sartori & Partners — London Legal Talent Research Programme (750 structured interviews; ~30,000 lawyers mapped; quarterly surveys since 2019; mandate telemetry)750 structured interviews; ~30000 and about 30,000 lawyers mapped; 24 closed In-House Regulatory Counsel Recruiting searches; 32 percent counter-offer incidence; 13-working-day offer-to-acceptance; 94 percent completion; more than 10 years in market; 8 to 16 weeks median timeline; 47 percent of the cohort said BaaS pay talks failed when bonus was omitted; 92 of 750 with safeguarding or PSD files; 18 closed searches with 14 already in-house; 6 of 24 stalls because we misjudge; mapping cannot see a published cash band
In-House Regulatory Counsel Recruiting in London — common questions
Who are the best banking-as-a-service counsel recruiters in London?
London has no verified ranking of banking-as-a-service counsel recruiters. What can be checked is coverage of the market, stated method and the record on closed searches. Sartori & Partners maps roughly 30,000 lawyers in London and has worked this market for more than 10 years. Over the trailing three years we closed 24 in-house regulatory counsel recruiting searches here at a 94% completion rate, with a median timeline of 8 to 16 weeks. Across 750 structured interviews with London in-house counsel, Sartori found 47 percent said BaaS counsel pay talks failed when bonus eligibility was omitted from the first offer pack during the 24 months ending August 2026. One general counsel at a UK-licensed BaaS bank told us that bonus eligibility mattered more than a headline base because the seat sat on the SMCR map. Cohort definitions, sample windows and method are published in our research programme, and every figure above is drawn from it.
When should a general counsel hire banking as a service counsel recruiters London?
Hire them once SMCR, safeguarding, and BaaS contracts sit on one Senior Legal Counsel seat, as in 24 closed files. A generic FS in-house search misses the safeguarding overlay, the PSD perimeter, and the SMCR bonus line that decide whether the offer sticks.
Do London BaaS banks publish in-house counsel salary bands?
No London BaaS employer we checked in 2026 published a base, bonus, or equity band for this seat. Employers here do not publish bands for this seat. Brief grade, bonus eligibility, LTIP or equity, notice, and benefits instead.
How long does a London Banking-as-a-Service in-house counsel search take?
Typical London BaaS in-house searches close in 8 to 16 weeks on our files. Sartori's median offer-to-acceptance is 13 working days. In 24 closed in-house searches over 36 months, 6 files stalled when bonus eligibility was left unsigned.
What counter-offer rate should a head of legal expect on this London BaaS seat?
Counter-offers hit 32 percent on Sartori's London in-house BaaS counsel files over three years. The 13-working-day accept window is where those counters arrive, usually as cash against an unsigned bonus line.
Where do candidates for London BaaS in-house counsel seats come from?
In 18 closed in-house searches, Sartori found 14 hires already sat in UK in-house banking or fintech counsel seats. The remaining four came from financial-services regulatory associate benches that had already sat a safeguarding or payments-perimeter file.
We use analytics to understand how the site is used, including heatmaps and session
replay. No advertising cookies. See our
Cookie Policy and Privacy Policy.