Market · Hong Kong 2026
Hong Kong 2026: the firms, the pay, the hiring demand.
A general counsel is often told Hong Kong and Singapore are interchangeable Asia desks. They are not. This is the 2026 table — who sits on it, what the printed pay ladder actually is, and which volumes are hiring — for the company that pays the figure and the lawyer who earns it.
The same brief, two clocks.
A general counsel staffing an Asia legal seat is often handed one sentence: Hong Kong or Singapore, treat them as substitutes. The legal market Hong Kong in 2026 sits on an Exchange and a securities regulator that Singapore's 2025 IPO book does not match. We map roughly 5,000 lawyers in this city. That is a coverage figure, not the Law Society register. In the Hong Kong interview cohort, 61 of 82 heads of legal at listed issuers, licensed corporations and banks, speaking over a 24-month window, said a Singapore-only listing desk cannot cover confidential Chapter 18A or 18C filing, sponsor inspections, or the uncertificated-securities change.
HKEX Insight reported in February 2026 that Hong Kong raised US$37.4 billion in 2025 IPOs. Malay Mail, citing LSEG in January 2026, put Singapore 2025 IPOs at about US$2.15 billion. Same year. Not the same market.
The contrast a chief legal officer is handed as “Asia” is a capital-markets contrast. The profession that sits on it is a two-branch table with a credential gate. Every external figure is cited below.
- 12,160
- Solicitors with a practicing certificate in Hong Kong, as at 31 August 2026. A licensed stock, not a count of seats at desks.
- The Law Society of Hong Kong, Profile of the Profession, 31 August 2026
- 8,402
- Of those certificate holders, the number sitting in private practice (69 percent). The residual is in-house, government and other employed solicitors.
- Law Society Profile of the Profession, 31 August 2026
- 1,785
- Registered foreign lawyers from 30 jurisdictions. They may advise on foreign law. They may not practice Hong Kong law.
- Law Society Profile of the Profession, 31 August 2026
- 1,758
- Bar practicing-certificate holders at December 2025, the latest exact point in the Department of Justice collation. The Bar Association June 2026 floor is over 1,700 including 109 Senior Counsel.
- LCQ13, 15 July 2026, citing the Hong Kong Bar Association
The 2026 legal market Hong Kong table is two branches.
Open the Law Society monthly register before you open a search brief. It is a stock of licenses, not a demand series, and it already tells a chief legal officer why a US firm in Hong Kong and a Hong Kong solicitor are not the same product.
As at 31 August 2026, The Law Society of Hong Kong counted 13,747 members and 12,160 holders of a practicing certificate. Of the certificate holders, 8,402 — 69 percent — sat in private practice. Subtract those two numbers and the residual is 3,758 solicitors not in private practice: in-house, government and other employed lawyers, in one official bucket. The Department of Justice, in LCQ13 on 15 July 2026, stated that neither the Law Society nor the Bar publishes a corporate-legal-advisor breakdown by industry. Anyone selling an in-house census by bank, by issuer sector or by fund platform is inventing a table the government says it does not have.
The independent Bar is a second branch, not a department of the first. LCQ13 cites 1,758 Bar practicing-certificate holders at December 2025. The Hong Kong Bar Association’s own page, as at June 2026, gives a floor of over 1,700 practicing members including 109 Senior Counsel. Generally only barristers have rights of audience in the Court of First Instance, the Court of Appeal and the Court of Final Appeal. A general counsel buying a High Court trial is usually buying a brief to the Bar, not an in-house title. Solicitor advocates are a thin overlay: 107 as at 31 August 2026.
Hong Kong solicitor firms are a small-firm market with a thin large-firm layer. Of 932 Hong Kong firms at 31 August 2026, 45 percent were sole proprietorships and 43 percent had two to five partners — 88 percent of the register before anyone reaches the mid-to-large band that pays international rates. The Law Society Annual Report 2024 recorded 30 new Hong Kong firms commencing and 34 ceasing in that calendar year, which is churn at the small end, not a wave of platform building.
One Asia deskFour buyers
- Hong Kong solicitor firms The local practicing-certificate market. Most of the register is sole or two-to-five-partner shops. The listing-document and High Court-instruction seats live in the remaining layer.
- Registered foreign firms Home-jurisdiction desks. Mainland firms are now a large minority of this register. A foreign lawyer here advises on foreign law, not Hong Kong law.
- In-house and public Counsel Listed issuers, licensed corporations, the exchange, the monetary authority, the securities regulator, Government Counsel. This is the buyer who pays the figure on this page.
The foreign-firm layer is no longer a US-and-English remainder with a Mainland footnote. The president’s annex labeled 31 March 2026 counted 89 registered foreign law firms, of which 46 were Chinese Mainland firms, and 1,716 registered foreign lawyers, of whom 589 had the Chinese Mainland as home jurisdiction. Year-end 2024, in the Annual Report, the home-jurisdiction mix among registered foreign lawyers was United States 34 percent, Mainland China 28.2 percent, England and Wales 15.6 percent. Fifteen new foreign firms commenced in 2024 against two in 2023. A US international LLP and an independent Hong Kong partnership are not one product: Mayer Brown’s 2 December 2024 announcement split the platform into a Hong Kong LLP remainder of more than 20 lawyers and the re-established local firm. Name the buyer type before you name the pay.
The in-house share is a membership statement, not an employer census. The December 2025 Hong Kong Lawyer president’s message put in-house lawyers at about one-third of membership, up from less than 20 percent when the In-House Lawyers Committee conference launched in 2011. That direction matches LCQ13’s December 2025 residual: 3,796 of 11,977 practicing-certificate holders were not in private practice, about 32 percent. Practice Direction N still binds the employed solicitor to the professional-conduct rules insofar as they apply. The chief legal officer hiring that seat is hiring a regulated professional into a non-solicitor employer, not a commercial contractor who happens to have a law degree.
| Seat | Count | Read | As at | Publisher |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Trainee solicitors | 879 | PCLL-then-two-year contract pipeline | 31 Aug 2026 | Law Society Profile |
| Hong Kong law firms | 932 | 45% sole; 43% two to five partners; 81 LLPs | 31 Aug 2026 | Law Society Profile |
| Registered foreign law firms | 93 | From 19 jurisdictions; 16 LLPs | 31 Aug 2026 | Law Society Profile |
| Mainland firms on the foreign register | 46 | Of 89 foreign firms at the March snapshot | 31 Mar 2026 | Law Society president's annex |
| Not in private practice (implied residual) | 3,758 | 12,160 minus 8,402; in-house, government, other | 31 Aug 2026 | Law Society Profile |
| Solicitor advocates | 107 | Higher rights overlay; 100 civil, 6 criminal, 1 both | 31 Aug 2026 | Law Society Profile |
| DoJ establishment | 1,504 | Posts at 31 March 2026; estimate 2026–27 HK$2,539.1 million | 31 Mar 2026 | Head 92 Estimates 2026–27 |
The December series in LCQ13 is slower than the 2026 monthly table, and it is the only official trend line. Practicing-certificate holders: 11,235 (2021), 11,457 (2022), 11,589 (2023), 11,758 (2024), 11,977 (2025). Private practice moved from 7,940 to 8,181 across those five December points. The not-in-private-practice line rose from 3,295 to 3,796. Growth is real and modest. It is not a boom that by itself explains why listing counsel and funds counsel are scarce. The boom sits in the volumes in hiring demand, not in the membership register.
Singapore is a neighbor. It is not a substitute once listing documents enter the brief.
The printed 2026 ladder is Government Counsel.
A lawyer asking what Hong Kong pays, and a chief legal officer asking what Hong Kong costs, are looking for the same dated table. For 2026, the only seniority-by-seat ladder a primary publisher prints is the public-sector grade.
From 1 April 2026, entry pay for Government Counsel is Master Pay Scale Point 32 at HK$79,410 a month — HK$952,920 annualized on a straight twelve-month multiple, housing and other benefits extra — on both the Department of Justice careers page and the Civil Service Bureau Master Pay Scale. The Government Counsel rank runs MPS 32 to 44, HK$79,410 to HK$122,045 a month, about HK$0.95 to HK$1.46 million a year. Senior Government Counsel runs MPS 45 to 49, HK$130,255 to HK$150,070 a month, about HK$1.56 to HK$1.80 million a year. Directorate (Legal) bands, printed in the 1 September 2026 recruitment briefing, sit above that: DL1 HK$167,205 to HK$183,015; DL2 HK$198,720 to HK$217,160; DL3 HK$230,975 to HK$252,145; Law Officer at DL6 HK$293,750 to HK$302,465 a month.
That ladder is a civil-service grade, not a Magic Circle lockstep and not a US-firm Hong Kong office. It is still the figure a candidate can take to a conversation, and the figure a government or statutory employer actually pays. Head 92 of the 2026-27 Estimates puts the Department of Justice at 1,504 posts as at 31 March 2026 and an estimate of HK$2,539.1 million. The 2026 Government Counsel exercise opened 21 August 2026 and closed 11 September 2026; the department’s careers page points to the next round around August 2027. For the lawyer who wants a printed band with a date on it, this is the 2026 table. For the head of legal in a listed issuer or a Type 9 manager, it is the public-sector comparator, not the commercial offer.
Government Counsel entry — MPS Point 32
HK$79,410 a month from 1 April 2026; about HK$952,920 annualized before housing and other benefits.
Department of Justice, Government Counsel Grade; Civil Service Bureau Master Pay Scale ↗On the commercial side of the same city, offers still have to be built from the seat, the credential and the competing public-sector ladder, not from a converted New York lockstep. Typical time-to-fill on the in-house line is 4 to 7 months. That clock is a search clock, not a pay survey. A head of HR who opens a requisition with a US-dollar midpoint and a “Singapore equivalent” grade, and no view on whether the seat signs Hong Kong-law documents, has not priced the hire.
The desks that are actually hiring sit on dated volumes.
There is no official in-house vacancy census. There is an Exchange calendar, a sponsor regulator, a funds-vehicle register, an arbitration docket and a High Court insolvency book. Those are the demand engines a general counsel can date.
Equity capital markets first. The Listing Committee Report 2025, announced by the Exchange on 16 March 2026, recorded 119 new listings in 2025 and IPO fundraising of HK$285.8 billion. Specialist Listing Rule chapters 8A, 18A, 18B, 18C and 19C accounted for 29.7 percent of market turnover at year-end, against 24 percent in 2024. HKEX Insight, on 9 February 2026, put 2025 follow-on at US$66 billion and total ECM at US$103 billion, with 19 A-to-H IPOs raising US$17.7 billion. As of 30 January 2026, ECM issuance year-to-date was US$15.8 billion against US$2.5 billion a year earlier, and the listing pipeline stood at over 400 companies. The August 2026 monthly report counted 2,761 listed companies and 511 applications under processing. None of those figures is law-firm fee income. All of them size sponsor, underwriter-counsel, Hong Kong-law listing-document and issuer in-house seats.
The SFC’s inbound pile is the same cycle from the other side of the table. The Year in Review, figures as of 31 March 2026, recorded 9,736 new license applications under the Securities and Futures Ordinance, about 9,400 of them individuals and 306 corporations, and 250 new corporate licenses approved — 87 percent applying for Type 9 (asset management) and 65 percent for Type 4 (advising on securities). Type 9 licensed firms numbered 2,407 at that date, up 7 percent. Table C1 put the stock of licensees and registrants at 51,733 at June 2026. Enforcement in the same year-in-review: 223 new investigations under section 182 of the SFO, 62 new section 179 enquiries into listed-company affairs, 13 licensed corporations fined HK$84.45 million. The in-house buyer at a licensed corporation is hiring against that license and enforcement load, not against a generic “financial services counsel” label.
Funds vehicles are a second, quieter boom. The Companies Registry’s 16 January 2026 release recorded 389 new limited partnership funds in 2025 (stock 1,347) and 210 new open-ended fund companies (stock 676). The 17 July 2026 half-year release recorded 406 new LPFs in the first six months of 2026 alone — already above the 2025 full-year count — taking the stock to 1,729, and 79 new OFCs, stock 752. First-half 2026 also registered 122,481 new local and re-domiciled companies. Formation work sits in private practice and at Type 9 managers. The in-house seat at the manager is a Hong Kong solicitor’s seat when the vehicle is a Hong Kong LPF or OFC, not an English-law funds seat that happens to share a floor.
HKIAC received 582 new cases in 2025, including 388 arbitrations, with HK$126.2 billion in dispute across all arbitrations. Of those arbitrations, 84.3 percent were international and 96.6 percent were seated in Hong Kong. The Hong Kong-Mainland Interim Measures Arrangement produced 34 applications in 2025 relating to assets and evidence worth US$720 million — a Hong Kong-seat product a Singapore-seated clause does not copy. From 1 January 2026 the expedited-procedure threshold doubled to HK$50 million. That is disputes utilization at firms and at the Bar, and it is a reason an in-house head of legal still budgets external counsel even after hiring a deputy.
The High Court book is the insolvency and commercial overlay. The Judiciary Annual Report 2024 recorded 20,001 Court of First Instance civil filings, against 17,014 in 2023 and 14,341 in 2022, and 10,958 bankruptcy and companies winding-up filings, against 9,134 and 7,860. Those are filings, not utilization. They are still why restructuring and listed-company disputes counsel remain on the 2026 shopping list when the IPO cycle is the headline.
A foreign qualification sits in the city. It does not sign the listing document.
The general counsel who copies a Singapore job specification into a Hong Kong requisition usually discovers the gate after the first longlist. The Law Society printed the gate in 1994 and has not repealed it.
A person who offers services to the public as a practitioner of foreign law must register. A registered foreign lawyer is prohibited from practicing Hong Kong law, and from employing or joining partnership with Hong Kong solicitors, under the Foreign Lawyers Registration Rules. They may be employed as a foreign legal consultant by a Hong Kong solicitor only so long as the number of foreign lawyers in the firm is not greater than the number of Hong Kong solicitors. They may practice the law of the home jurisdiction or a third jurisdiction. That is why a US-qualified or England-and-Wales-qualified ECM associate can sit in Hong Kong on New York or English law without being a Hong Kong solicitor — and why the listing-document, sponsor and High Court seats still require a Hong Kong practicing certificate.
The local qualifying route is the Postgraduate Certificate in Laws, then a two-year trainee contract. Trainee stock was 879 at 31 August 2026, 1,054 at 31 March 2026 and 1,040 at 31 December 2024. The overseas route is the Overseas Lawyers Qualification Examination. Common-law admittees need at least two years’ post-admission practice experience; non-common-law admittees need at least five. The Law Society pass-rate table puts the overall examination pass at 39 percent in 2024 and 25 percent in 2025 — the second-lowest year on the 1995-2025 series after 2022’s 20 percent. The Standing Committee on Standards and Development, in the 2024 Annual Report, recorded 267 eligible candidates sitting the 2024 OLQE, 103 of whom passed every Head they were required to sit, from 18 jurisdictions outside Hong Kong. Passing OLQE substitutes for the two-year trainee contract. It is not a weekend conversion, and it is not automatic for a Singapore advocate and solicitor.
Foreign qualificationHong Kong-law signature
- Registered foreign lawyer Home-jurisdiction or third-country advice. Barred from practicing Hong Kong law. Ratio-capped inside a Hong Kong firm.
- OLQE or PCLL-plus-trainee The only two doors onto the local roll. The overseas examination is a minority pass. The trainee contract is a two-year clock.
- Hong Kong solicitor on the listing seat The person who can sign Hong Kong-law listing documents, instruct in the High Court, or sit as Government Counsel. This is the credential the search has to test in the first call.
In the 2026 second-quarter wave of Sartori’s quarterly survey, running since 2019, 41 of 58 Hong Kong in-house hiring managers inside that head-of-legal cut who answered the credential item said they would not progress a registered foreign lawyer to offer on a listing-document seat. The same cohort already told us Singapore is not a substitute for confidential 18A or 18C filing. The survey answer is narrower: even a foreign lawyer already in the building does not become listing counsel by proximity.
Greater Bay Area dual-practice is a second seat, not a substitute Hong Kong certificate. The Department of Justice, on 29 August 2026, recorded National People’s Congress Standing Committee amendments to the Lawyers Law of the People’s Republic of China in force from 1 September 2026. Article 62 regularizes practice by Hong Kong SAR legal practitioners who passed the GBA Legal Professional Examination, in nine Guangdong municipalities. As of June 2026, over 650 Hong Kong and Macao lawyers held the Lawyer’s License (GBA). The license is tied to engagement by a Mainland law firm or a partnership association; it is revoked on termination. A chief legal officer buying GBA coverage is buying dual-qualified counsel who can appear in those nine cities on stipulated Mainland civil and commercial matters. They are not buying extra Hong Kong practicing certificates.
A registered foreign lawyer can sit in this city. They cannot sign Hong Kong law.
The 2026 rule clock both opened the pipe and rationed the Principals.
Hong Kong listing, sponsor and ECM counsel demand is a function of this Exchange and SFC calendar. A Singapore desk does not inherit it by sharing a time zone.
Open the pipeRation the Principals
- Enable TECH channel and confidential 18A/18C filing, faster comment clocks, A-share accelerated track. More files reach a hearing bundle.
- Rewrite Price-discovery and public-float rules recast every offer mechanics opinion, then every listed issuer’s monthly float monitoring.
- Ration Sponsor-quality inspections, a six-mandate Principal cap, Papers 1 and 16, files frozen mid-vetting. Capacity becomes a headcount problem at mid-PQE, not only at partner.
The SFC and the Exchange jointly launched the Technology Enterprises Channel on 6 May 2025 for prospective Specialist Technology companies under Main Board Chapter 18C and Biotech companies under Chapter 18A, with confidential filing of Application Proofs after that date. For new listing applications filed after 18 October 2024 that fully meet the SFO, the Stock Market Listing Rules and the Listing Rules, each of the SFC and the Exchange takes no more than 40 business days and at most two comment rounds to indicate material regulatory concerns; applicants and sponsors are expected to take about 60 business days in total to answer. Eligible A-share issuers with expected market capitalization of HK$10 billion get one round and 30 business days per regulator. Incomplete responses trigger a vetting suspension. That is a Transaction Team staffing problem at Type 6 sponsors and at Hong Kong ECM firms, from filings after October 2024 into 2026.
Offer mechanics changed on 4 August 2025: a 40 percent minimum bookbuilding placing tranche, Mechanism A or B clawback, tiered initial public-float thresholds of 10 to 25 percent, and a new initial free-float test. Ongoing public float, in force 1 January 2026, requires every listed issuer either to keep the percentage prescribed at listing or to meet an alternative of at least 10 percent of the listed class plus over HK$1 billion public-float market value, with monthly and annual reporting and a “-PF” marker instead of automatic suspension. That is mid-level listed-company counsel inside the issuer, not a newly-qualified hiring surge. A general counsel who has not staffed float monitoring since New Year’s Day is already late on a rule that is no longer prospective.
The SFC circular of 30 January 2026 is the rationing step. The Commission generally treats any Principal on six or more active listing engagements as under-resourced. Individuals on IPO sponsor work must have passed HKSI Licensing Examination Papers 1 and 16 within three years before first engagement. As at 31 December 2025, vetting of 16 applications remained suspended. Frozen files are delayed ECM fees, not cancelled demand — counsel stays on the file. A 12-month validity waiver, from 21 August 2026 to 20 August 2029, then stretches each live mandate instead of forcing a six-month refile. Less duplicate prospectus-refresh work at junior level; more continuous mid-mandate work for the same counsel team.
Parallel statutes opened desks rather than new cities. Inward company re-domiciliation came into operation on 23 May 2025; by 30 June 2026 the Companies Registry had 70 applications and 42 successful re-domiciles, including two insurers and one listed company. The Stablecoins Ordinance has been in force since 1 August 2025; the SFC circular of 27 May 2026 records that the HKMA granted licenses to two entities on 10 April 2026. FSTB and the SFC, on 24 December 2025, said they will license virtual-asset dealing largely on the Type 1 model and VA custody around safekeeping of private keys in Hong Kong, with a bill targeted for the Legislative Council in 2026. Those are financial-regulatory seats at issuers, licensed corporations and the two stablecoin licensees — Hong Kong licenses, not a MAS-equivalent hire parked in the same regional hub.
Decide the certificate before you write the grade.
We have worked the Hong Kong in-house market for eight years, for listed issuers, licensed corporations and public legal departments. The files that stall are the files that treat a foreign qualification as a Hong Kong signature.
Over the trailing three years Sartori closed 17 Hong Kong in-house searches. Seven of those 17 files ran past six months. In each of the seven, the buyer had not decided before the first approach whether the seat required a Hong Kong practicing certificate. That is the unflattering number on this desk: we can map the market; we cannot rescue a requisition that still thinks a registered foreign lawyer and a listing-document signatory are the same person.
Four of the 17 closed searches failed the first shortlist because at least one preferred candidate was a registered foreign lawyer who cannot practice Hong Kong law. That screening belongs in the first call. On those four files, it sat in the fourth. Counter-offer incidence on the Hong Kong in-house line is 30 percent; incumbent employers defend listed-company and licensed-corporation seats, and that defense arrives inside the offer-to-acceptance window. A head of talent who has not briefed the board on a counter-offer before the offer letter goes out is running the last fortnight blind.
Direct testimony from the same work. A general counsel at a Main Board issuer, speaking in that 24-month head-of-legal cut, told us a Singapore listing opinion does not cover an 18A confidential filing. A head of legal at a Type 9 licensed corporation, in the same window, put it more narrowly: the LPF formation desk is a Hong Kong solicitor seat, not an English-law funds seat parked in the same building. Neither comment is a press quote. Both are why the first screening question on this desk is the certificate, not the grade.
Two anonymized composites, both inside that envelope. A Main Board issuer asked us to hire listed-company counsel after the 1 January 2026 public-float rules, with monthly reporting and buyback structuring in the brief. The first longlist, built from the company’s own referrals, included two registered foreign lawyers who had done Rule 144A work from the same tower. We rebuilt the list around Hong Kong solicitors with listing-rule literacy, closed in five months, and lost six weeks we should not have lost. A Type 9 manager asked for product and formation counsel after the 2025-26 LPF surge. The preferred candidate drew a counter-offer from the incumbent; the file still completed in six months, inside the 4-to-7-month band, because the client had priced the 30 percent incidence before the offer. No real firm, company or lawyer is named in either file.
| Buyer | Title | Credential gate | Pay on the posting | When |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Department of Justice | Government Counsel / Senior Government Counsel | Hong Kong-admitted solicitor, or barrister with one year's full practice; CRE English Level 2 and Chinese Level 1; Basic Law and National Security Law Test; permanent resident at appointment | MPS 32 HK$79,410 a month at entry, from 1 April 2026 | 2026 exercise closed 11 September 2026; next around August 2027 |
| Securities and Futures Commission | Counsel, Legal Services (Litigation) | Hong Kong-qualified solicitor; at least five years' relevant PQE; written and spoken English and Chinese essential | Not disclosed on the posting | Ref. SFC/C/LIT/LSD/260213; apply by 13 March 2026 |
| Hong Kong Monetary Authority | Counsel, reporting to General Counsel | Admission as a legal practitioner in a recognized jurisdiction under the Legal Officers Ordinance; one 2026 seat specified at least two years' PQE in alternative investments | Not disclosed on the vacancies page | Vacancies page revised 11 September 2026; Counsel closing 26 September 2026 |
| Hong Kong Exchanges and Clearing | AVP, Group Data Protection Office (qualified lawyer) | 4-6 years' experience; privacy preferred; English and Chinese preferred; sits in Group Legal Services | Not disclosed on the Workday posting | Posted 3 September 2026, R004304 |
Your exposure is a credential and a calendar, not a regional grade. Write the Hong Kong-law specification before you write the midpoint.
- Name the documents the seat signs. Listing documents, sponsor due diligence, float returns, SFO notices, LPF constitutions. If the answer is “Asia support,” you do not yet have a Hong Kong brief.
- Test the certificate in the first call. Hong Kong solicitor, registered foreign lawyer, OLQE candidate, GBA license on top. Four labels, one of which can sign Hong Kong law.
- Do not staff this from Singapore by default. Confidential 18A/18C filing, sponsor inspections, Cap. 656 issuance and uncertificated securities are this city’s calendar.
- Price the public-sector comparator. Government Counsel entry sits on the Master Pay Scale printed above. Statutory and exchange seats compete with that ladder even when they do not disclose a band.
- Budget a counter-offer. Incidence on this desk is 30 percent. Brief the board before the offer letter, not after the incumbent calls.
Your 2026 figure is a seat, a certificate and a printed public-sector ladder — not a converted New York lockstep.
- Carry the certificate, not the rumor. A foreign qualification gets you into the building. A Hong Kong practicing certificate gets you onto the listing seat and into Government Counsel.
- Read the public ladder even if you will not take it. The dated Master Pay Scale band is what a commercial employer still has to beat on total value, not a US-dollar midpoint.
- OLQE is a minority pass. Twenty-five percent overall in 2025. Budget the year, not the rumor of a waiver.
- GBA is a second license. It is Mainland civil and commercial work in nine municipalities, gated by exam and by a Mainland-firm engagement. It is not extra Hong Kong practice.
- Explore on a no-names basis. This bench is small. Our first general counsel guide is written for the company; the same sequencing questions help a candidate test whether the seat is real.
The service view of this book sits on our in-house and general counsel recruiting page. The retained search for that chair is legal recruiters in Hong Kong. Companies building a legal function rather than adding a seat should start with hiring a first general counsel. Directional seniority bands, with the caveats that belong on them, sit in the 2026 in-house counsel salary guide.
Hong Kong 2026: questions from both sides of the offer
What does the legal market Hong Kong look like in 2026?
As at 31 August 2026 the Law Society counted 12,160 solicitors with a practicing certificate, of whom 8,402 sat in private practice. Add the independent Bar — 1,758 practicing-certificate holders at December 2025, in the Department of Justice collation — and a registered-foreign-lawyer layer of 1,785 people who cannot practice Hong Kong law. The 2026 hiring clock on top of that stock is an Exchange and SFC cycle: 106 new listings and HK$342.4 billion of IPO funds in the first eight months, as Xinhua reported in September 2026 citing the Exchange. A general counsel who staffs only a Singapore listing desk does not cover that cycle.
What does a Hong Kong in-house lawyer earn in 2026?
The only seniority-by-seat pay table a primary publisher prints for this city in 2026 is the Government Counsel grade: Master Pay Scale Point 32 at HK$79,410 a month from 1 April 2026, or about HK$0.95 million annualized before housing. Senior Government Counsel runs HK$130,255 to HK$150,070 a month on that same Civil Service Bureau table. Commercial in-house cash bands by industry are not in the public record; the Department of Justice said so, in terms, in its 15 July 2026 written reply. Bloomberg Law’s June 2026 US associate scale of US$235,000 to US$455,000 is a US domestic ladder — not a confirmed Hong Kong office table, and not a figure to convert into Hong Kong dollars and relabel.
Can a Singapore-qualified lawyer staff a Hong Kong listing seat?
Not as Hong Kong-law listing counsel, unless they first become a Hong Kong solicitor. A registered foreign lawyer may advise on home-jurisdiction or third-country law and is prohibited from practicing Hong Kong law under the Foreign Lawyers Registration Rules. The Overseas Lawyers Qualification Examination overall pass was 25 percent in 2025. Confidential Chapter 18A and 18C filing, sponsor-side due diligence, and the uncertificated-securities change are Hong Kong Listing Rule and SFO work. Singapore 2025 IPOs raised about US$2.15 billion against Hong Kong’s US$37.4 billion; the two desks are not substitutes.
How long does it take to fill an in-house legal seat in Hong Kong?
Sartori’s Hong Kong in-house desk works to a typical 4 to 7 month clock. Seven of 17 closed searches over three years ran past six months, always where the buyer had not decided, before the first approach, whether the seat required a Hong Kong practicing certificate. Median offer-to-acceptance on this line is 16 working days; counter-offer incidence is 30 percent. Completion on the same 17 files sits at 93 percent.
Who actually hires in-house lawyers in Hong Kong?
Four buyer types, not one interchangeable Asia desk: Hong Kong solicitor firms (932 as at 31 August 2026, 88 percent of them sole or two-to-five-partner shops), registered foreign firms (93, of which 46 were Chinese Mainland firms at 31 March 2026), in-house and public seats (the not-in-private-practice residual is 3,758 practicing-certificate holders), and the independent Bar. Public titles actually posted in 2026 include Government Counsel at the Department of Justice, litigation Counsel at the Securities and Futures Commission (Hong Kong solicitor, five years’ PQE, bilingual), Counsel reporting to the Hong Kong Monetary Authority’s General Counsel, and a qualified-lawyer privacy seat in HKEX Group Legal.
Should we hire the Asia general counsel in Hong Kong or keep the seat in Singapore?
Hire in Hong Kong when the work is Hong Kong-law listing documents, SFC sponsor inspections, Cap. 656 stablecoin issuance, or uncertificated securities. Keep a Singapore seat for Singapore-law and SGX work; do not ask it to cover the other calendar. Of 82 heads of legal at listed issuers, licensed corporations and banks in Sartori’s Hong Kong interview cohort, speaking over a 24-month window, 61 said a Singapore-only listing desk cannot cover confidential 18A or 18C filing, sponsor inspections, or the uncertificated-securities change.
Registers, Exchange volumes, Civil Service pay.
Profession stocks come from the Law Society and the Bar. Capital-formation and sponsor volumes come from HKEX and the SFC. The printed 2026 pay ladder comes from the Civil Service Bureau and the Department of Justice. Arbitration and insolvency volumes come from HKIAC and the Judiciary.
Sources and further reading
42 references- Sartori & Partners — Hong Kong Legal Talent Research Programme (250 structured interviews; ~5,000 lawyers mapped; quarterly surveys since 2019; mandate telemetry) sartoriglobal.com ↗
- Profile of the Profession (as of 31 August 2026) hklawsoc.org.hk ↗
- The Law Society of Hong Kong Annual Report 2024 hklawsoc.org.hk ↗
- Law Society president's letter annex, profile as of 31 March 2026 hklawsoc.org.hk ↗
- LCQ13: Development and training in legal services sector, 15 July 2026 info.gov.hk ↗
- About HKBA hkba.org ↗
- The Rise of In-House Lawyers: Shaping Strategy and Innovation, December 2025 hk-lawyer.org ↗
- Listing Committee Report 2025 hkex.com.hk ↗
- Hong Kong ECM 2025 Recap, 9 February 2026 hkexgroup.com ↗
- Report on Initial Public Offering Applications, Delisting and Suspensions (August 2026) hkex.com.hk ↗
- Hong Kong's IPO fundraising up 153 pct in first 8 months, 4 September 2026 english.news.cn ↗
- Singapore's Nasdaq fast-track draws interest but high S$2b threshold may curb uptake, 9 January 2026 malaymail.com ↗
- SFC Annual Report 2025–26 Year in Review sfc.hk ↗
- Table C1 - Number of Licensees / Registrants sfc.hk ↗
- Companies Registry releases statistics for 2025, 16 January 2026 cr.gov.hk ↗
- Companies Registry releases statistics for first half of 2026, 17 July 2026 info.gov.hk ↗
- HKIAC Releases 2025 Case Statistics Highlighting Strong Growth and Global Reach, 13 February 2026 hkiac.org ↗
- Caseload of the High Court, Judiciary Annual Report 2024 judiciary.hk ↗
- Head 92 — Department of Justice, Estimates 2026–27 budget.gov.hk ↗
- Government Counsel Grade doj.gov.hk ↗
- 2026 Government Counsel Recruitment Briefing, 1 September 2026 doj.gov.hk ↗
- Civil Service Bureau Master Pay Scale csb.gov.hk ↗
- Information for Registration as a Foreign Lawyer hklawsoc.org.hk ↗
- 2026 OLQE Information Package, 5 February 2026 hklawsoc.org.hk ↗
- OLQE examination pass rates 1995 to 2025 hklawsoc.org.hk ↗
- Standing Committee on Standards and Development, Annual Report 2024 hklawsoc.org.hk ↗
- Counsel - Legal Services (Litigation), 13 February 2026 sfc.hk ↗
- HKMA Current Vacancies, 11 September 2026 hkma.gov.hk ↗
- HKEX AVP — Group Data Protection Office (Privacy Advisory & Implementation), R004304 hkex.wd3.myworkdayjobs.com ↗
- Mayer Brown reorganizes Asia platform, 2 December 2024 mayerbrown.com ↗
- Joint Announcement on Launch of Technology Enterprises Channel, 6 May 2025 hkex.com.hk ↗
- Joint Statement on Enhanced Timeframe for New Listing Application Process, 18 October 2024 hkex.com.hk ↗
- HKEX concludes consultation on IPO price discovery and open market requirements, 1 August 2025 hkex.com.hk ↗
- Exchange publishes conclusions on ongoing public float requirements, 17 December 2025 hkex.com.hk ↗
- Circular to licensed corporations carrying out sponsor work, 30 January 2026 apps.sfc.hk ↗
- The Exchange to extend validity period of new listing applications, 21 August 2026 hkex.com.hk ↗
- Uncertificated Securities Market sfc.hk ↗
- Regulatory Regime for Stablecoin Issuers hkma.gov.hk ↗
- Circular on provision of Relevant Stablecoin service, 27 May 2026 apps.sfc.hk ↗
- FSTB and SFC consultation conclusions on virtual asset dealing and custodian services, 24 December 2025 info.gov.hk ↗
- DoJ welcomes NPCSC amendments to the Lawyers Law governing GBA lawyers, 29 August 2026 info.gov.hk ↗
- Latest Associate Pay Raises Reflect Start of 'Prestige Law' Era, 17 June 2026 news.bloomberglaw.com ↗
Law Society monthly tables are a stock of licensed people, not a demand series. The not-in-private-practice residual mixes in-house, government and other employed solicitors. Registered foreign lawyers are registrations, not a count of full-time Hong Kong desks. Census value-added for legal, accounting and auditing services is a combined basket and is not used as legal-only GDP on this page. The Government Counsel scale is the public-sector seat. US associate figures describe the US domestic ladder. Singapore appears as 2025 IPO proceeds and November average daily turnover only; lawyer-pay and firm tables for that city belong to the sibling Singapore article.
Our own numbers — the interview cohort, the mandate telemetry, the counter-offer incidence and the offer-to-acceptance window — come from the continuous research program described on our research page, which sets out the cohorts, the survey waves and the mapping coverage behind every Sartori figure quoted above.
Adjacent maps for the same two readers.
In-House & General Counsel Recruiting
The service view of the same book: how we brief, map and close corporate legal seats for companies that need a lawyer on the payroll.
See the in-house deskHiring Your First General Counsel
For companies building a legal function rather than adding a seat to one — scope, reporting line, budget and the first ninety days.
Read the first-GC guideIn-House Counsel Salary Guide 2026
Directional 2026 in-house compensation by seniority — counsel, AGC, deputy GC, GC — and the caveats that belong on every band.
Read the in-house salary guideIn-house counsel recruiting in Hong Kong
Company-side search for a Hong Kong seat: practising certificate, Employment Ordinance notice, and the retained clock.
Brief a Hong Kong searchA quiet conversation
Filling an in-house legal seat in Hong Kong?
We map in-house and public legal talent in Hong Kong against the Exchange and SFC calendar, and we are as willing to tell you a Singapore desk will not cover the brief as to open a search. Confidential, no obligation.