Hong Kong · Lateral partners

Lateral partner recruiting in Hong Kong

Retained search for a firm hiring a partner already in practice: the Law Society categories, the deed, the foreign-lawyer rule, and the clock.

Discuss a Hong Kong mandate Talk to us
›The register, the deed, and the clock

Lateral partner recruiting Hong Kong is a retained search for a firm hiring a partner already in practice. As at 31 August 2026 the Law Society counted 932 Hong Kong firms and 1,785 registered foreign lawyers. HKEX recorded 119 new listings in 2025. Sartori & Partners closed 15 Hong Kong partner searches over three years; median offer-to-acceptance was 18 working days. An international capital-markets practice in Central reached an accepted offer for a lateral equity partner in 22 weeks.

01 — The brief answer

A Hong Kong lateral is a category, a deed, and a qualification. It is not a ranking.

Lateral partner recruiting Hong Kong starts when a hiring partner can name the seat in the Law Society’s own categories. The person is a partner in one of the 932 Hong Kong firms, a lawyer inside one of the 93 registered foreign firms, or a registered foreign lawyer who cannot yet be a partner in a Hong Kong firm. The book that is supposed to move is then a question of the deed, not of a league table. Sartori & Partners was founded in early 2017 by Lorenzo Sartori. Hong Kong is not one of the published hubs. The search is still run, on a retained basis, into the market described on legal recruitment in Hong Kong.

The firm-wide conversation count is 2,600+ partner conversations. That figure is not a Hong Kong placement count, and it is not expanded here. Closed Hong Kong partner searches over the last three years stand at 15. The desk has worked this line for 8 years. Mapping coverage in the city is 5,000 lawyers. That coverage figure is not the Law Society’s 12,160 practising certificates. The method for any market is on lateral partner recruiting.

Hong Kong firms · 31 Aug 2026

932

Registered foreign lawyers

1,785

Partner searches closed · 3 yrs

15

Typical brief to offer

4 to 7months

Firm counts are the Law Society of Hong Kong, Profile of the Profession, as at 31 August 2026. The 15 and the 4 to 7 months are the Hong Kong partner line over three years. Completion on those 15 is 93 percent, which is 14 completed and 1 that did not. They are not the 2,600+ firm-wide partner conversations.

02 — Firm landscape

Five categories. No order of merit inside them.

The Law Society table dated 31 August 2026 is the landscape a hiring committee can actually count. Members, with or without a practising certificate, were 13,747. Members holding a practising certificate were 12,160, of whom 8,402, or 69 percent, were in private practice. The other 3,758 certificates sit outside private practice. They are not the partner pool. Trainee solicitors were 879. Solicitor advocates were 107, a litigation qualification inside the solicitor profession, not a separate partnership category. None of these lines is a ranking of firms.

Hong Kong law firms numbered 932. The Society states that 45 percent are sole proprietorships and 43 percent have 2 to 5 partners. Those two bands leave 12 percentage points of firms outside both descriptions. Eighty-one of the 932 are limited liability partnerships formed under the Legal Practitioners Ordinance. The 81 are a form of vehicle inside the 932, not an extra 81 firms, and not a quality grade. A lateral into a sole practice, a 2-to-5-partner firm, or a larger Hong Kong partnership is three different deeds. Partnership Ordinance section 26, which yields to any contrary agreement and which the 2019 editorial revision left in the current text dated 19 June 2019 on HKLII, says no person may be introduced as a partner without the consent of all existing partners. In a 2-partner firm that consent is one other person. In a large partnership the deed usually moves the vote. The statute is the default. The deed is the file.

Registered foreign law firms numbered 93, from 19 jurisdictions, of which 16 are limited liability partnerships under the same ordinance. Registered associations between a Hong Kong firm and a registered foreign firm, including a Mainland firm, numbered 44. A registered foreign lawyer counted in the 1,785, from 30 jurisdictions, may advise on the law of a home jurisdiction or on international law. The Law Society’s foreign-firm information package, file dated 14 May 2026, states the operational consequence: a registered foreign firm is precluded from practising Hong Kong law and from employing or taking Hong Kong solicitors into partnership. The same package says a Hong Kong practice can be stood up only if every partner in the Hong Kong firm is a Hong Kong solicitor and the ratios are kept. Legal Practitioners Ordinance section 50B(4), current version dated 23 August 2025 on HKLII, is the offence: a foreign lawyer or a foreign firm must not employ a solicitor who holds a practising certificate, or admit that solicitor to the partnership.

Rule 13 of the Foreign Lawyers Registration Rules is the ratio on the Hong Kong-firm side of that line. A principal must not let the number of foreign lawyers associated with the firm exceed the number of resident principals and solicitors employed in the firm, unless the Council approves a higher number for special circumstances. A registered association has a matching cap. A lateral who arrives as a registered foreign lawyer does not fill a Hong Kong-law equity seat by changing letterhead. Admission as a Hong Kong solicitor is the gate into that partnership. Until then the person sits in the foreign-lawyer count, and the ratio moves with every solicitor who leaves.

Demand inside those categories is visible in the Exchange’s own listing count, not in a firm table. The Listing Committee Report for 2025, which the Exchange published on 16 March 2026, records 119 new listings, a 68 percent increase from 2024, and IPO funds of HK$285.8 billion. The Listing Committee considered 133 listing applications. The year included 16 biotech companies and five specialist technology companies. The Exchange’s December 2025 market communication puts listed companies at 2,686 on 31 December 2025, of which 2,374 were on the Main Board and 312 on GEM, and counts the same 119 newly listed companies as 118 on the Main Board plus 1 on GEM. Clifford Chance, in its 22 July 2026 results for the year ended 30 April 2026, reported Asia Pacific revenue up 26 percent and attributed the rise to a resurgence in capital markets. That is one firm’s regional revenue sentence. It is not a rank, and it is not a Hong Kong partner’s draw. The practice mix that follows from the 119 listings is equity capital markets, sponsors, and the funds and finance work that sits next to a listing. Disputes and arbitration are a separate seat. They are not ordered here.

Of the 15 closed Hong Kong partner searches, 9 were international-firm equity-capital-markets or M&A laterals, 4 were partnership seats in independent Hong Kong firms, and 2 were partner-to-in-house moves into a general-counsel or head-of-legal chair. Nine, four, and two are the whole of the fifteen. The two in-house files are company searches and sit with in-house counsel recruiting in Hong Kong. They are not a second partner book. The wider market narrative, including the practising-certificate stock read against Singapore, is on the Hong Kong legal market in 2026.

03 — Portability and the covenant

The client does not automatically follow. The deed might forbid the try.

Portability in Hong Kong is two documents, read in order. The first is the qualification: can this person be a partner of the hiring firm at all. The second is the covenant: if the person leaves, which clients may the person still act for, and who is allowed to tell those clients that the person has left. A business plan that skips either document is a plan about a book the deed may not release.

The qualification split is the 14 May 2026 foreign-firm package and rule 13, already counted above. A hiring committee that wants Hong Kong law in the equity seat writes “Hong Kong solicitor” in the first line of the brief. A committee that wants New York or English law, inside the ratio, can hire a registered foreign lawyer and must keep the foreign-lawyer count at or under the solicitor count. Mixing the two sentences is how a search spends a month on a person who cannot sign the partnership deed.

The covenant split is older than the foreign-lawyer rules, and it is fact-specific. Bridge v Deacons, Privy Council, 26 March 1984, reported at [1984] AC 705, upheld clause 28(a) of a Hong Kong solicitors’ partnership agreement. A partner who ceased to be a partner was restricted for five years from acting as a solicitor in Hong Kong for any person who was a client at the moment of leaving or who had been a client in the three years before. The partner was a capital partner with a 5 percent share. He ran the intellectual-property department and had no contact with about 90 percent of the firm’s clients. The narrowness of his own practice did not defeat a covenant drawn on the firm’s client list. The holding is that this clause, on these facts, was reasonable in the interests of the parties and of the public. It is not a template that every five-year clause survives, and it is not a template that a five-year clause is required.

The other holding is the one committees forget when they have only read Bridge. The Court of Appeal announced on 23 August 1994, in Kao, Lee & Yip v Koo, that clause 16(b) of a deed of partnership dated 16 December 1988 was not enforceable. That clause was a restraint on solicitation after a partner ceased to be a partner. The same litigation later produced a 2003 judgment on other provisions of the deed, including good faith during the partnership. The 2003 judgment is not the restraint decision. The 23 August 1994 announcement is. A hiring committee that treats every non-solicit as void, because Kao lost, is as wrong as a committee that treats every five-year ban as safe, because Deacons won. The width of the clause, the partner’s share, and the interest the clause protects are the reading. Both judgments are on the public record. The deed in the briefcase is the one that binds.

Client notice is a third rule, and it is not a license to harvest the book. The Hong Kong Solicitors’ Guide to Professional Conduct, volume 1, took effect on 1 January 2014 and was amended through 27 July 2023. Chapter 5, commentary 9, deals with a firm that ceases, or with partners who divide when a firm dissolves. Clients have the right to choose which solicitor or firm to instruct. It is not proper for a successor firm to take over papers or money without the clients being notified promptly. Commentary 10 says that if the partners cannot agree the letter, one or more of them may send the clients a circular with a short factual statement of the dissolution and the new addresses, and the circular must say the client is free to instruct a solicitor of his choice. That is a dissolution rule. A lateral who is not dissolving the firm does not inherit it as a right to write to every client. While the partner is still a partner, fiduciary duties run. After the partner has left, the deed’s non-dealing or non-solicit, if it is enforceable on Bridge or unenforceable on Kao, is what is left.

Across 250 structured interviews with Hong Kong partners and counsel, 54 were partners in independent Hong Kong firms, counted over a 24-month window inside that cohort. Of those 54, 31 described themselves as salaried or non-equity rather than as profit-sharing equity. Thirty-one of fifty-four is a title fact. A salaried partner may be on an employment letter. An equity partner is on a deed. The portability questions are different, and the notice that follows acceptance is different. The 31 are not a count of who can take clients. They are a count of who is not on the instrument Bridge and Kao were decided on.

04 — Compensation

Firm-wide profit per equity partner is not the Hong Kong draw.

The number a hiring committee is often handed is a London or global partnership average. Clifford Chance’s 22 July 2026 results, for the year ended 30 April 2026, state profit per equity partner of £2.3 million, and the firm’s own US dollar equivalent of US$3.1 million. The Law Gazette on 7 August 2026 reported that average profit per equity partner at Linklaters, Clifford Chance and A&O Shearman was about £1 million higher in 2025/26 than in 2015/16, and that Freshfields and Slaughter and May do not publish the figure. The article is about the Square Mile results season. It does not state a Hong Kong office profit per equity partner. Using £2.3 million as the cash a Hong Kong partner will accept is using a firm-wide average as a local draw.

The tax instrument splits the same way the deed splits from the employment letter. Community Legal Information Centre guidance on salaries tax states that a salary drawn from a partnership is included in the business profits, is chargeable to profits tax, is reported on the partnership’s profits-tax return (BIR52), and is not reported again as salaries tax on the individual’s BIR60. An employer’s return is not filed for that amount. A non-equity partner whom a court treats as an employee is on the other instrument. In Onc Lawyers v Yiu, the District Court on 1 February 2019 recorded a letter of 13 February 2012 that employed a non-equity partner at a monthly salary of HK$130,000 and gave either party at least three months’ written notice. The judgment says there was no dispute that he was an employee. That HK$130,000 is one 2012 letter. It is not a 2026 survey, and it is not profit per equity partner. It is evidence that a Hong Kong “partner” title can be wages.

Of the 15 closed files, 3 had the first package withdrawn and recut after the buyer had built it on firm-wide profit per equity partner rather than on Hong Kong cash. Three of fifteen is the finding that does not flatter the work. The cash table belongs in the brief, before the longlist. The full set of dated cells, including the Directorate pay grid from 1 April 2026 and the tax rates, is on law firm partner compensation in Hong Kong, 2026. All-lawyer pay for the city, outside the partner seat, is on lawyer salary in Hong Kong, 2026.

The retained fee is not a Hong Kong surcharge. The search is retained only. The fee is 25–30 percent of the hire’s total first-year compensation. Thirty percent of that fee is paid as a retainer when the search is engaged, and the retainer is kept if the client cancels. Those are the firm’s terms. They are fixed before any name is discussed. They do not change because the deed is a five-year covenant or a three-month employment notice.

Hiring in Hong Kong?

Name the category, the deed, and the qualification before the person.

The letter records the fee and the retainer before any approach.

05 — The move timeline

Acceptance ends the search. Notice opens the next morning.

On the Hong Kong partner line the typical time from signed brief to accepted offer is 4 to 7 months. That band is the 15 closed searches over three years, not a promise that the next file lands on a chosen week. Inside the band, the median from written offer to acceptance is 18 working days. A counter-offer arrived on 39 percent of those files. 93 percent completed, which is 14 of the 15. 1 did not. Fourteen and one are the fifteen. Thirty-nine percent is the incidence. It is not restated here as a headcount, because 39 percent of 15 is not a whole number of files.

The 18 working days sit inside the 4 to 7 months. They are the offer step. They are not the notice the partner then has to serve. Partnership Ordinance section 28 is the default only where no fixed term has been agreed: the partner may determine the partnership by notice to the others, and a signed writing is enough if the partnership was constituted by deed. Most solicitors’ deeds are not partnerships at will. They set a retirement notice of their own, and they set the covenant Bridge and Kao are about. Section 28 does not erase that clause. Employment Ordinance section 6 is the other clock, and only for a person on a contract of employment. After probation, on a continuous contract, notice is the agreed period but not less than 7 days, or not less than 1 month if the contract is silent. The Onc letter of 13 February 2012 sat above that floor: at least 3 months, or wages in lieu. A salaried partner in 2026 may have a different contractual number. The floor is the statute. The number in the letter is the file.

One of the 9 international-firm equity-capital-markets or M&A laterals, and one of the 14 that completed, was an international capital-markets practice in Central. The accepted offer for a lateral equity partner closed in week 22. Twenty-two weeks is about five months, inside the 4 to 7 months, and it is this file, not a new median. The deed on that file required 6 months’ written notice to retire. Those 6 months started after acceptance. They are not part of the 22 weeks, and they are not section 28, and they are not the three months in the 2012 Onc letter. The hiring partner later said: The deed named six months of notice and a restriction on clients. We dated both in the offer before anyone resigned.

Clock Base Figure
Signed brief to accepted offer Hong Kong partner line, three years 4 to 7 months, typical
Written offer to acceptance Those 15 files 18 working days, median
Counter-offer Incidence on those 15 39 percent
Completed The same 15 14 completed, 1 not; 93 percent
Partnership at will Cap. 38, s.28, no fixed term Notice to all other partners; writing if by deed
Employee notice floor Cap. 57, s.6, continuous contract Agreed period, at least 7 days; 1 month if silent
One non-equity letter 13 February 2012, judgment 1 February 2019 HK$130,000 a month; at least 3 months’ notice
Central equity file One of the 9, and of the 14 Accepted offer in week 22; deed notice 6 months after that

The 4 to 7 months end at the accepted offer. Notice, garden leave if the deed provides it, and any enforceable restriction on clients run after that date. Associate hiring under a different notice and a different title is associate recruiting.

06 — How a search runs

Six steps. The Hong Kong work is the category, the ratio, and the deed.

  1. 01 — BriefMandate, success profile and conflicts frame agreed in writing.
  2. 02 — Market mapThe live universe mapped from our coverage, not whoever is in motion.
  3. 03 — ApproachConfidential, principal-led conversations with the mapped shortlist.
  4. 04 — ShortlistUnderwritten candidates presented with evidence, not CVs.
  5. 05 — OfferPackage design, references and counter-offer defence.
  6. 06 — CloseResignation, notice and the first hundred days, managed.

The brief names the Law Society category, whether day one requires a Hong Kong practising certificate or a foreign qualification inside rule 13, and the deed terms to be read before anyone is called: retirement notice, non-dealing, non-solicit, and who must consent to a new partner. Conflicts are checked before outreach. The approach stays blind until both sides want a conversation. The research program’s map is 1,480,000+ lawyers. The Hong Kong cut, 5,000 lawyers, is people who have held the relevant file in this city. It is distinct from the 12,160 practising certificates and from the 8,402 in private practice. The offer is written after the deed is read. A package that starts from £2.3 million firm-wide profit per equity partner is the package withdrawn on 3 of the 15 files. The fee letter goes out with the brief: 25–30 percent of total first-year compensation, retainer of 30 percent of the fee, kept if the client cancels. The 8 years on this line are the period those 15 searches sit in. Hong Kong is not a published hub.

07 — Sources

What each figure is allowed to prove.

›17 sources, each tied to a figure
  1. 1 Law Society of Hong Kong — Profile of the Profession Monthly statistics as of 31 August 2026: 13,747 members; 12,160 practising certificates, of which 8,402 (69 percent) in private practice; 879 trainee solicitors; 1,785 registered foreign lawyers from 30 jurisdictions; 932 Hong Kong firms (45 percent sole proprietorships, 43 percent with 2 to 5 partners, 81 limited liability partnerships); 93 registered foreign firms from 19 jurisdictions, 16 of them limited liability partnerships; 107 solicitor advocates; 44 registered associations between Hong Kong firms and registered foreign firms, including Mainland firms.
  2. 2 HKEX — Exchange publishes Listing Committee Report 2025 Published 16 March 2026. The Exchange welcomed 119 new listings in 2025, a 68 percent increase from 2024. The Listing Committee considered 133 listing applications. The year included 16 biotech companies and five specialist technology companies.
  3. 3 HKEX — Listing Committee Report 2025 (PDF) IPO funds of HK$285.8 billion in 2025, more than triple 2024. 119 new listings, a 68 percent increase year on year.
  4. 4 HKEX — IPO applications, delisting and suspensions, December 2025 As at 31 December 2025: 2,686 listed companies (2,374 Main Board and 312 GEM). Newly listed companies in 2025: 118 Main Board and 1 GEM, which is 119.
  5. 5 Legal Practitioners Ordinance (Cap. 159) s.50B HKLII records the current version as 23 August 2025. Section 50B(4) makes it an offence for a foreign lawyer or a foreign firm to employ a solicitor who holds a practising certificate, or to take such a solicitor into partnership, and the same for a barrister who holds a practising certificate.
  6. 6 Law Society — information package for foreign law firms File dated 14 May 2026. A registered foreign law firm practises the law of the jurisdictions in which its partners and associates are qualified, and third jurisdictions in which they are competent. It is precluded from practising Hong Kong law or from employing or taking Hong Kong solicitors into partnership. A Hong Kong practice can be established if all partners in the Hong Kong firm are Hong Kong solicitors and the solicitor-to-foreign-lawyer ratios are observed. Cites Legal Practitioners Ordinance ss.39B and 50B.
  7. 7 Foreign Lawyers Registration Rules (Cap. 159S) Rule 13: a principal of a Hong Kong firm shall not permit the number of foreign lawyers associated with the firm to exceed the number of resident principals and solicitors employed in the firm, unless the Council approves a greater number for special circumstances. A matching cap applies to a registered association. A foreign lawyer shall not provide a service customarily provided by a solicitor, except advice on non-Hong Kong law or on private or public international law or conflict of laws.
  8. 8 Partnership Ordinance (Cap. 38), English text Section 26, subject to any agreement: no person may be introduced as a partner without the consent of all existing partners. Editorial revision E.R. 2 of 2019; HKLII current version dated 19 June 2019. Section 28: where no fixed term has been agreed, any partner may determine the partnership at any time by notice to all the other partners; if the partnership was constituted by deed, a signed notice in writing is sufficient.
  9. 9 Employment Ordinance (Cap. 57) s.6, Labour Department restatement For a continuous contract after probation, notice is the agreed period but not less than 7 days, or not less than 1 month if the contract does not set a period. Payment in lieu is available. The ordinance applies to a contract of employment.
  10. 10 Bridge v Deacons [1984] AC 705 Privy Council, 26 March 1984, [1984] UKPC 11. Clause 28(a) of the partnership agreement: five years after ceasing to be a partner, no acting as a solicitor in Hong Kong for a person who was a client at cessation or during the prior three years. Upheld as reasonable on the facts. The partner was a capital partner with a 5 percent share and had no contact with about 90 percent of the firm's clients.
  11. 11 Kao, Lee & Yip v Donald Koo — Court of Appeal, 23 August 1994 The Court of Appeal announced on 23 August 1994 that clause 16(b) of a deed of partnership dated 16 December 1988, a covenant in restraint of trade, was not enforceable. The leave application recites that decision. A later action, [2003] 3 HKLRD 296, concerned other deed claims and is not the restraint holding.
  12. 12 Hong Kong Solicitors' Guide to Professional Conduct, chapter 5 Guide effective 1 January 2014, with amendments through 27 July 2023. Commentary 9: where a firm ceases, or partners divide on a dissolution, clients choose which solicitor or firm to instruct, and papers or money are not taken over without prompt notice. Commentary 10: a circular on dissolution is a short factual statement and must say the client is free to instruct a solicitor of his choice.
  13. 13 Onc Lawyers v Yiu [2019] HKDC 144 District Court, judgment 1 February 2019. Employment letter dated 13 February 2012. The lawyer was employed as a non-equity partner at a monthly salary of HK$130,000. Clause 22 required at least 3 months' written notice or wages in lieu. The court recorded that there was no dispute he was an employee. He was a salaried partner from 22 March to 31 December 2012.
  14. 14 Clifford Chance FY26 results, 22 July 2026 Year ended 30 April 2026. Profit per equity partner £2.3 million. The firm's own US dollar equivalent is US$3.1 million. Asia Pacific revenue up 26 percent, attributed to a resurgence in capital markets. Firm-wide figures, not a Hong Kong partner's draw.
  15. 15 Law Gazette — Magic Circle PEP, 7 August 2026 Paul Rogerson, 7 August 2026. Average profit per equity partner at Linklaters, Clifford Chance and A&O Shearman was about £1 million higher in 2025/26 than in 2015/16. The article is a Square Mile results story. It does not state a Hong Kong office figure. Freshfields and Slaughter and May do not publish profit per equity partner.
  16. 16 CLIC — salary drawn from a partnership A salary drawn from a partnership is part of the business profits, chargeable to profits tax, reported on the partnership's BIR52, and not reported again as salaries tax on the individual BIR60. An employer's return (IR56B) is not filed for that amount.
  17. 17 Sartori & Partners — research program Market map of 1,480,000+ lawyers. Hong Kong mapping coverage, the interview cohort, and the closed-search counts are marked for replacement. They are not the Law Society register.

08 — Questions

Firm leaders and partners in Hong Kong

What is lateral partner recruiting Hong Kong?

Lateral partner recruiting Hong Kong is a retained search for a law firm hiring a partner who is already in practice. As at 31 August 2026 the Law Society of Hong Kong counted 932 Hong Kong firms and 1,785 registered foreign lawyers. Sartori & Partners has closed 15 Hong Kong partner searches over three years. The typical clock on that line is 4 to 7 months from signed brief to accepted offer. The city market is on legal recruitment in Hong Kong. The practice is lateral partner recruiting.

How is the Hong Kong firm landscape divided?

The Law Society’s monthly table as at 31 August 2026 is a set of categories, not a ranking. It counts 932 Hong Kong firms, of which 45 percent are sole proprietorships and 43 percent have 2 to 5 partners, and 81 are limited liability partnerships under the Legal Practitioners Ordinance. It counts 93 registered foreign law firms, from 19 jurisdictions, of which 16 are limited liability partnerships, and 44 registered associations between a Hong Kong firm and a foreign firm, including Mainland firms. Registered foreign lawyers number 1,785, from 30 jurisdictions. They are not Hong Kong partners.

Can a deed stop a departing Hong Kong partner from acting for clients?

Sometimes, and only within the width a court will uphold. In Bridge v Deacons [1984] AC 705, decided by the Privy Council on 26 March 1984, a five-year restriction on a retiring capital partner acting in Hong Kong for clients of the firm, including clients of the prior three years, was held reasonable on those facts. The Court of Appeal, announcing its decision on 23 August 1994 in Kao, Lee & Yip v Koo, held that clause 16(b) of a partnership deed dated 16 December 1988 was not enforceable. The hiring committee reads the deed. It does not treat five years as the rule, or as void.

Does the Employment Ordinance set notice for a Hong Kong partner?

Only when the partner is an employee. Partnership Ordinance (Cap. 38) section 28, in the English text as revised in 2019, lets a partner determine a partnership at will by notice to the other partners, and requires that notice to be in writing when the partnership was constituted by deed. It applies where no fixed term has been agreed. A deed that sets its own retirement notice displaces that default. Employment Ordinance (Cap. 57) section 6 sets a floor for a contract of employment: the agreed period, not less than 7 days on a continuous contract, or not less than 1 month if the contract is silent. In Onc Lawyers v Yiu [2019] HKDC 144, judgment 1 February 2019, a 13 February 2012 letter employed a non-equity partner at HK$130,000 a month and required at least 3 months’ written notice. The court treated him as an employee.

What cash figure should a Hong Kong partner offer not use?

Not a firm-wide profit-per-equity-partner number. Clifford Chance, on 22 July 2026, stated profit per equity partner of £2.3 million for the year ended 30 April 2026, and its own US dollar equivalent of US$3.1 million. The Law Gazette on 7 August 2026 reported Magic Circle profit per equity partner as a Square Mile results story and did not state a Hong Kong office figure. Community Legal Information Centre guidance states that a salary drawn from a partnership is profits tax on a BIR52, not salaries tax on a BIR60. The cells, the tax split, and the public-sector grid are on law firm partner compensation in Hong Kong, 2026.

How long does a lateral partner move in Hong Kong take?

On Sartori & Partners’ Hong Kong partner line the typical time from signed brief to accepted offer is 4 to 7 months. Across 15 closed searches over three years, median offer-to-acceptance was 18 working days and counter-offer incidence was 39 percent. Completion was 93 percent, which is 14 of the 15. Notice in the deed, or in an employment letter, runs after acceptance. An international capital-markets practice in Central reached an accepted offer for a lateral equity partner in 22 weeks, inside that band. The partner’s deed on that file then required 6 months’ written notice.

09 — Related

Hong Kong, the method, and the pay.

Hiring a partner in Hong Kong?

Brief the category, the qualification, and the deed.

Hong Kong firm, foreign firm, or association. Retained, confidential, and scoped before anyone is called.