Salary · Ireland 2026

The 2026 associate number in Ireland is a newly qualified print.

A general counsel hiring a Dublin law-firm associate, and the associate reading the letter, are looking at one dated public band. The regulator put newly qualified pay at leading Dublin firms between €65,000 and €80,000. Legal Cheek lists Matheson at €76,000. Neither figure is a 2–5 PQE ladder.

Hire an associate in Ireland Explore a move
01 Start here

A qualification-year print is not an associate ladder.

For law firm associate salary Ireland, 2026 is a newly qualified band, not a later-year ladder. The firms do not print the year after qualification.

Sartori’s Dublin associate cohort is 250 structured interviews. The closed-search book on this line is 20 files over three years.

Lens 01 · The NQ band The dated public cell is newly qualified cash.

The LSRA Pathways report for 2025 put newly qualified solicitors at leading Dublin firms between €65,000 and €80,000, footnoted to Legal Cheek as accessed on 16 April 2026. That band is a qualification-year print.

The named euros sit in the table below. The trainee-to-NQ step is next.

The 2026 Ireland law-firm cells a general counsel can date. Newly qualified euros are press tables the regulator footnoted. Post-qualification euros are absent. Click a header to re-rank.
2026 print Figure What it measures What it is not Source and date
LSRA leading-firm NQ band €65,000–€80,000 Newly qualified solicitors at leading Dublin firms, as the regulator stated Not a 2–6 PQE ladder Pathways to the Professions 2025; Legal Cheek footnote accessed 16 April 2026
Matheson NQ €76,000 Money table. Year-1 trainee €46,000; year-2 €48,000 Not a firm payroll circular Legal Cheek IE, Matheson profile, accessed 7 October 2026
Arthur Cox NQ €75,000 Money table. Profile text says the firm does not officially publish pay Not year-2 or year-3 cash Legal Cheek IE, Arthur Cox profile, accessed 7 October 2026
A&L Goodbody NQ €75,000 Money table, marked as based on a range. Year-1 €42,000; year-2 €46,000 Not a single audited point Legal Cheek IE, A&L Goodbody profile, accessed 7 October 2026
McCann FitzGerald NQ €75,000 Money table. Profile says figures are not disclosed and the NQ figure excludes bonus Not bonus-inclusive Legal Cheek IE, McCann FitzGerald profile, accessed 7 October 2026
William Fry NQ €75,000 Money table. Year-1 €46,000; year-2 €48,000 Not a 3 PQE cell Legal Cheek IE, William Fry profile, accessed 7 October 2026
In-office trainee statutory floor €26,488.40 National minimum during the two-year in-office period, on a 36-hour week Not what those firms pay trainees Law Society Education Committee, 2026 PPC sheet, from 1 January 2026
2–6 PQE at those firms Not published Careers pages checked in 2026 do not print a euro cell by post-qualification year Not estimated on this page 2026 checks of the firm profiles above

State solicitor scales and the civil-service ladder are a different instrument. They sit on the Ireland lawyer salary table.

583
First-time practising certificates issued to newly qualified Law Society solicitors in 2025, up 54 percent from 378 in 202495 percent entered a law firm
LSRA, Pathways to the Professions 2025
82%
Share of 581 new solicitor trainees in 2025 who secured a training contract in Dublin65 percent were with a large law firm; 4 percent were in-house
LSRA, Pathways to the Professions 2025
4,134
Practising certificates held outside Dublin city at year-end 2025, out of 12,430 issuedThe solicitor stock is concentrated in the capital
LSRA, Pathways to the Professions 2025
25
International law firms that opened a Dublin office between 2019 and 2023The LSRA records that the pace of new openings later slowed
LSRA Pathways 2025, citing Reports Legal
02 The NQ cells

Five Money tables, one statutory floor, and no PQE rung.

The year sits inside every euro below. A figure without a date is omitted. A recruiter’s PQE ladder is omitted with it.

The Legal Services Regulatory Authority’s Pathways report for 2025 states that newly qualified solicitors at leading Dublin firms can expect between €65,000 and €80,000. Footnote 36 points to Legal Cheek’s newly qualified money list, accessed 16 April 2026. That is a regulator repeating a press table. It is not a firm circular, and it is not a survey of 2 PQE or 5 PQE cash.

The Money tables underneath that footnote, accessed 7 October 2026, are narrow. Matheson lists a first-year trainee at €46,000, a second-year trainee at €48,000 and a newly qualified solicitor at €76,000. Arthur Cox lists the same trainee pair and €75,000 on qualification; the profile text says the firm does not officially publish salaries. A&L Goodbody lists €42,000, then €46,000, then €75,000, and the table says the figures are based on a range. McCann FitzGerald lists €44,000, €46,000 and €75,000, and the profile says the figures are not disclosed and that the newly qualified number excludes bonus. William Fry lists €46,000, €48,000 and €75,000.

Matheson’s published step from second-year trainee to newly qualified is €28,000. Arthur Cox and William Fry step €27,000. A&L Goodbody and McCann FitzGerald step €29,000 from a €46,000 second year to a €75,000 newly qualified cell. The published associate salary Ireland cell, at the firms that have a press table, is that one step. It is not a schedule.

Under those trainee euros sits a statutory floor the large firms are not using as their trainee rate. The Law Society Education Committee’s 2026 PPC sheet sets the national minimum wage for an experienced adult at €14.15 an hour from 1 January 2026. On the Committee’s 36-hour week that is €509.40 a week, €2,207.33 a month, and €26,488.40 a year during the two-year in-office period. The same sheet recommends a living wage of €15.40 an hour, €554.40 a week. A lawyer comparing €26,488.40 with Matheson’s €46,000 first-year trainee is comparing a legal minimum with a press table, not two rungs of one ladder.

From the second-year trainee cells to the top of the LSRA newly qualified band. Markers are 2026 press and regulator prints, not a PQE scale.
LSRA leading-firm NQ band, 2026
€40k€90k

Matheson year-2 trainee

Arthur Cox and William Fry list the same €48,000. A&L Goodbody and McCann FitzGerald list €46,000.

Legal Cheek IE Money tables, accessed 7 October 2026 ↗

The €76,000 Matheson cell is €11,000 above the bottom of the regulator’s band and €4,000 under the top. The cluster at €75,000 sits in the same interval. A general counsel who treats €65,000 and €80,000 as a negotiation range for every associate year is reading a qualification-year sentence as a career scale.

03 When the print is the right bid

Use the newly qualified cell only when the seat is newly qualified.

Three products travel under one city name. Only one of them is the €65,000 to €80,000 band.

NQ cellA later year

  1. Newly qualified The seat is a first practising-certificate role at a large Dublin firm, or a company seat that truly wants that year. The €65,000 to €80,000 band is the public comparator.
  2. One year on Still close to the print, and still unpublished. The firm has already reviewed pay once. The Money table does not show that review.
  3. Two to five PQE The associate has left the newly qualified cell. Matching €76,000 buys a year the candidate is no longer in. Current cash has to be disclosed, not inferred.

The qualifier class is not an open market. The LSRA recorded 583 first-time practising certificates for newly qualified Law Society solicitors in 2025, up 54 percent from 378 in 2024, and recorded that 95 percent entered a law firm. Five percent went in-house. Legal Cheek’s A&L Goodbody profile says the firm reports trainee retention of 95 to 100 percent, meaning nearly all trainees who are offered stay on as newly qualified solicitors. A company whose 2026 plan is “wait for a large-firm NQ” is planning on the 5 percent slice, against firms that publish retention in the mid-to-high nineties.

In that cohort, 58 were corporate associates at 2–5 PQE sitting outside funds and financial-services regulatory seats. Over a 24-month window, 39 said a company letter priced at the published newly qualified cell would not clear the cash they were already on. A 3 PQE associate has already left the newly qualified print.

A general counsel at an IDA-client payments company put the same constraint in one line: We matched the published newly qualified number. The associate’s firm matched it the same week. The letter had used Matheson’s €76,000 cell for a 3 PQE commercial hire. The year was wrong before the euro was debated.

A 3 PQE associate has already left the newly qualified print. Matching that print matches a year they no longer sit in.
On the year
04 Who pays the figure

The firm writes the NQ cell. The company matches a later year.

Of the closed Dublin associate work, most files were company-side hires of people who had already qualified. The NQ class still goes to the firms.

Of 20 closed Dublin associate searches over the trailing three years, 14 were company-side seats in which a general counsel, chief legal officer or head of legal was hiring, and 6 were firm-side associate seats. 11 of those company-side files were for 2–6 PQE, not for a newly qualified solicitor. The buyer who asks what law-firm associate pay in Ireland is, and means a 3 PQE hire onto a company payroll, is not the buyer of the €76,000 cell.

The stock those firms hire from is concentrated. At year-end 2025 the LSRA counted 12,430 practising certificates, of which 4,134 were held outside Dublin city. In 2025, 82 percent of 581 new trainees secured contracts in Dublin, and 65 percent secured them with a large law firm. Between 2019 and 2023, 25 international law firms opened a Dublin office; the same report says the pace of new openings later slowed. An inbound Dublin office and an Irish independent are both buyers of Irish-qualified associates. They are not the same payroll.

Published euro step from second-year trainee to newly qualified, from the Legal Cheek Money tables accessed 7 October 2026. This is the only dated step. It is not a PQE increment.

Legal Cheek IE firm profiles, accessed 7 October 2026.

Practising certificates at year-end 2025, split the way Pathways states it: 4,134 outside Dublin city, and the remainder of the 12,430. A credential count, not a salary.

LSRA, Pathways to the Professions 2025.

Your comparator is the cell for your year, not the cell for the year you qualified.

  • Treat the table as press. Matheson at €76,000 and the €75,000 cluster are what Legal Cheek printed. Arthur Cox and McCann FitzGerald say the firms do not publish the figure themselves.
  • Name the year. A €76,000 offer for a 4 PQE seat is a newly qualified offer with a later title on it.
  • The window is short. Sartori’s Dublin associate median from offer to signature is 12 working days. A counter-offer from the current firm fits inside that window.
  • State scales differ. The trainee statutory floor of €26,488.40 and the State solicitor ladder are on the Ireland lawyer salary table, not a substitute for these firm cells.

Your exposure is a mis-specified year, not a missing euro on a website.

  • Write the year first. Newly qualified, 1 PQE, or 2–5 PQE are three briefs. The €65,000 to €80,000 band belongs to the first.
  • Do not invent the next rung. The only dated step is €27,000 to €29,000 from second-year trainee to newly qualified. Adding that step once per PQE year is an invention.
  • Budget a counter-offer. Incidence on this line is 37 percent. The incumbent can answer inside the 12-day window.
  • Open the right desk. Company-side seats sit on in-house counsel recruiting. Firm-side associate seats sit on associate recruiting. The fee is retained only, 25–30 percent of first-year total compensation, with 30 percent of that fee paid at engagement.
05 What the cash line leaves out

The missing step is the 2 to 5 PQE rung, and it is where briefs fail.

Senior demand and a quiet junior market can be true in the same year. The failure mode on this desk is an NQ clone aimed at a later year.

The Pathways report says demand for solicitors at a senior level continues to outpace supply, that recruitment pressure is sharpest at that senior level, and that movement and job availability at junior and mid-level have been easing. The same report, citing the SOLAS National Skills Bulletin 2025 (data through 2024), records no shortage flag for the broad legal occupation group. The occupation is not the seat. A 4 PQE corporate associate in Dublin is not “lawyers, Ireland.”

Of the 11 company-side searches for 2–6 PQE, 6 opened with a cash line inside the €65,000 to €80,000 band. 4 of that group were refused on the first letter and closed only after the cash moved above that band, still inside the 6-to-12-week timeline. The miss was the year, not the shortlist.

5 of the 11 drew a counter-offer from the incumbent firm. Sartori’s Dublin associate counter-offer incidence is 37 percent across the 20. That rate is a defense cost. The 12-day median from offer to acceptance is long enough for the current firm to match a letter it has already seen, and short enough that a rewritten letter has to be ready before the first one goes out.

A head of talent at a large Dublin independent said, in that cohort: We keep the qualifiers. A lateral bid at the published newly qualified print is a bid for someone who is not on the market. The 95 percent firm destination of the 2025 qualifier class is the same point from the regulator’s side.

The newly qualified print is the right bid only when the seat is newly qualified.
On the first letter
06 How to price the seat

The briefs that opened on the wrong year.

The briefs that miss open a later-year seat on the newly qualified print. IDA-client companies and Irish and inbound firms are both in the closed book.

We have worked this market for 5 years. Over the trailing three years we closed 20 associate searches at a 93 percent completion rate, on a typical timeline of 6 to 12 weeks. Of the 6 firm-side files, 4 were newly qualified or 1 PQE seats and 2 were 3–5 PQE laterals. 3 of that group ran to the long end of the 6-to-12-week band because the training firm kept the qualifier. They still closed. They are the finding that does not flatter a fast NQ lateral.

Composites from that book, by category only. An IDA-client medtech in Dublin asked for a 4 PQE corporate associate who had sat on cross-border commercial work at an Irish independent. The first letter matched the €76,000 Matheson cell. It was refused. The revised letter, priced off disclosed current cash rather than the newly qualified print, was accepted in 9 weeks, inside the 6-to-12-week band.

An IDA-client payments company asked for a 3 PQE commercial associate as its first Irish-qualified counsel. The opening letter again used €76,000. The incumbent matched it in 4 days. The revised letter signed on day 11 of the 12-day window, and the search closed in 10 weeks. The first number was the number in the press table. It was not the number that hired.

A firm-side file at an inbound Dublin funds office needed a 1 PQE replacement after a leaver moved to London. The first shortlist was qualifiers at Irish independents. The training firms kept them. A second shortlist, from lawyers who would state current cash, signed in 12 weeks. That is the long end of the band, and it is what a kept-qualifier market costs when the brief pretends the NQ class is loose.

Sartori maps roughly 3,000 lawyers in Dublin. That file records admission, employer and a practice label. It does not record the euro on the current letter. Every package we price comes from the offer and from the candidate’s disclosed cash, not from the map.

Google Ads Keyword Planner, measured 11 September 2026, recorded 0 monthly searches for this salary query. The figure a company still has to fund is the one above: €65,000 to €80,000 for a newly qualified seat at a leading Dublin firm, and a later, unpublished number for every year after that. The company that needs the seat filled starts at a confidential hiring conversation. What Dublin pays a general counsel, as distinct from an associate, sits on the Ireland general counsel salary page. The city’s hiring map sits on legal market Dublin 2026.

Associate and NQ pay in Ireland, 2026: questions from both sides of the letter

What is law firm associate salary Ireland in 2026?

It is a newly qualified band of €65,000 to €80,000 at leading Dublin firms, as the Legal Services Regulatory Authority wrote in its 2025 Pathways report. Legal Cheek’s Money tables, accessed 7 October 2026, list Matheson at €76,000 and Arthur Cox, A&L Goodbody, McCann FitzGerald and William Fry at €75,000. Those cells are not a 2–6 PQE ladder. Sartori closed 20 Dublin associate searches over three years on that distinction.

Do Irish firms publish associate pay after qualification?

No euro cell for 2–6 PQE appeared on the large-firm profiles checked in 2026. The Legal Services Regulatory Authority’s band, footnoted to Legal Cheek on 16 April 2026, is a newly qualified band. A&L Goodbody’s table is marked as a range. Arthur Cox’s profile says pay is not officially published. The step after €75,000 or €76,000 is not a public number.

What does a Matheson or Arthur Cox newly qualified solicitor list at?

Matheson’s Money table lists €76,000. Arthur Cox lists €75,000. Both list year-2 trainees at €48,000, so the published step into qualification is €28,000 at Matheson and €27,000 at Arthur Cox. That step is not a per-year rule for later PQE. A&L Goodbody’s year-2 figure is €46,000 against a €75,000 NQ cell marked as a range.

How long does a Dublin associate search take against this print?

Typically 6 to 12 weeks, with a median of 12 working days from offer to acceptance. Completion on Sartori’s Dublin associate line is 93 percent across 20 closed searches over three years. Counter-offers land on 37 percent of that book. A brief that clones the newly qualified print for a 3 PQE hire spends the long end of that band.

Should a company match €76,000 for a 3 PQE associate?

No: 6 of 11 company-side 2–6 PQE searches opened inside €65,000 to €80,000. 4 of that group were rewritten after the first letter failed, inside the same 20 closed Dublin associate searches. The newly qualified print is the right bid for a newly qualified seat. It is the wrong year for a 3 PQE associate who has already left it.

Where do newly qualified Irish solicitors go?

Ninety-five percent of 583 first-time practising certificates in 2025 went to a law firm, the LSRA reported. Five percent went in-house. Legal Cheek’s A&L Goodbody profile reports trainee retention of 95 to 100 percent. A company waiting for a large-firm NQ to leave is waiting on a class the firms are built to keep.

07 Sources

The regulator’s NQ sentence, five Money tables, and the trainee floor.

The newly qualified band is the LSRA Pathways report for 2025. The named euros are Legal Cheek Money tables accessed 7 October 2026. The statutory trainee floor is the Law Society’s 2026 PPC sheet.

Sources and further reading

8 references
  1. Sartori & Partners — Dublin Legal Talent Research Programme sartoriglobal.com ↗
  2. Pathways to the Professions 2025 lsra.ie ↗
  3. Matheson - Legal Cheek IE ie.legalcheek.com ↗
  4. Arthur Cox - Legal Cheek IE ie.legalcheek.com ↗
  5. A&L Goodbody - Legal Cheek IE ie.legalcheek.com ↗
  6. McCann FitzGerald - Legal Cheek IE ie.legalcheek.com ↗
  7. William Fry - Legal Cheek IE ie.legalcheek.com ↗
  8. 2026 PPC trainee salary sheet lawsociety.ie ↗

The €65,000 to €80,000 band is the LSRA sentence, footnoted to Legal Cheek on 16 April 2026. Named firm euros are press tables, not payroll audits. A&L Goodbody's €75,000 is marked on that table as a range. McCann FitzGerald's profile says the NQ figure excludes bonus. The 8,296 remainder is 12,430 minus 4,134 and is not a second Dublin census. No 2-6 PQE euro was published on the profiles used here.

Our own numbers — the Dublin associate searches, the interview cut, the counter-offer incidence and the offer-to-acceptance window — come from the research program described on our research page.

A quiet conversation

Price the Ireland associate seat on the year you are hiring.

Whether you are a general counsel writing a 2026 letter or a head of legal filling a Dublin associate seat, we will say whether the newly qualified print is the right bid before anyone sees a name. Confidential, no obligation.